Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genuinely superb
I liked the first of the new trilogy of books a lot, but this one is seriously good. Bringing back characters who had a minor role- Suzie, DI Cutler, Andy etc is a stroke of genius- and ive always wanted to know what happened to the hub. Plus there are flashbacks to moments of suzie with the team (Ianto, Tosh and Owen) which really help her backstory, and help this settle...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by M. Notman

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not especially gripping I'm afraid
The second book in the latest Torchwood trilogy, set shortly after the end of series three, is not as good as the first. This story is set in Cardiff, where local police and a mysterious military team from 'the Department' are working to clear the remains of the Torchwood Hub. What they've not banked on is a particular corpse in the morgue being not quite as dead as it...
Published on 9 Aug 2011 by Jim J-R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genuinely superb, 4 Aug 2011
By 
M. Notman "northernfag" (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the first of the new trilogy of books a lot, but this one is seriously good. Bringing back characters who had a minor role- Suzie, DI Cutler, Andy etc is a stroke of genius- and ive always wanted to know what happened to the hub. Plus there are flashbacks to moments of suzie with the team (Ianto, Tosh and Owen) which really help her backstory, and help this settle into the canon better than i suspect the next book (which seems to be chiefly new american cast) will.
This fills in all sorts of gaps, and whats more its really well written, very engaging and satisfyingly gory! This is definately up there with "almost perfect" as the best torchwood book, and its one i suspect will get read again and again. Brill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler-free Review of "Long Time Dead", 28 Aug 2011
By 
Wendy Hansen (Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
As this was my first Torchwood novel, I checked my expectations at the door when I sat down to read "Long Time Dead" by Sarah Pinborough. Set post-Season 3's "Children of Earth" but pre-Season 4's "Miracle Day", "Long Time Dead" starts with the excavation of the wreckage of the secret underground base that once belonged to a Government Agency that was now disbanded, and on the run from the people they once worked for. New characters are introduced, as well as old friends thought to be forgotten as Sarah spins a wonderful tale of intrigue, action and horror, with a touch of humour and an ending you don't see coming - everything you DO expect from a Torchwood episode on television. If you love a good mystery, and don't mind aliens or 'spooky do', then pick up a copy of "Long Time Dead". You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Reas, 9 Aug 2011
By 
A. Lockley "Who Fanatic" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another good read in the Torchwood series of novels. As appers to be the norm for this series of books, descriptions are at the front of creating the right atmosphere. Die hard purists may find that as Captain Jack Harkness has so little involvement, it may not be Torchwood. Although there is reference to the 'baddie' as being in the TV series, I can't place her, even though I watched all of the TV shows. For all that, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will make your eyes pop!, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. K. Mahoney "Kevin Mahoney" (Punked Books, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've never read Sarah Pinborough before, but I do know that she's an up-and-coming horror writer who is currently being published by Gollancz. Indeed, the first few pages of Long Time Dead had me chuckling, as I saw that she'd named a couple of minor characters after members of the Gollancz team. So, hats off to BBC Books for getting another such accomplished author to write for their Doctor Who/Torchwood range.

Long Time Dead sees the very welcome return of Suzie Costello to the Torchwood world, and it's not long before this revived bad girl is being very bad indeed... The last time we saw her, it looked as though Suzie had finally been killed off for good. However, despite having blown a sizeable hole through her own head, she'd already previously come back from the dead. Indeed, Torchwood creator Russell T Davies had apparently planned to resurrect her occasionally, however this was scuppered when Indira Varma became pregnant prior to the filming of the second series. Now that she's been seemingly regenerated in Long Time Dead, Suzie appears intent on adding as many people as she can to her previously deceased state...

However, following the destruction of the Hub at the end of Children of Earth, its wreckage is being extensively searched by the Department in their quest for any useful or dangerous alien technology that they can find. (In a nice tie-in with Miracle Day, one box of alien artefacts from the wreckage is labelled under the name of "Colasanto", and there's also a subtle reference to David Jones, Jo Grant's beau from the classic Doctor Who adventure The Green Death amidst plenty of other Torchwood nostalgia). Once the bodies start piling up, the police inevitably get involved, allowing for a few nice cameos by a certain Andy Davidson. (In Long Time Dead, Andy suspects that his sudden promotion to sergeant may well have been down to the events he witnessed during Children of Earth, rather than due to his own inherent talent at police work.) As a sergeant though, Andy's too junior to lead the police investigation, so this burden falls upon the troubled shoulders of DCI Tom Cutler.

The police are perplexed, as along with Suzie's seemingly motiveless murderous spree, there are also a bout of suicides in Cardiff involving people that have no recent history of mental trauma. It turns out that something dark and truly fearful has escaped from the rift...

Like Bill Pulman's character in Miracle Day, Oswald Danes, Suzie Costello starts out as a very unsympathetic character. However, such is Sarah Pinborough's skill as a novelist, and her sublime characterisation and plotting, that you'll be really rooting for Suzie at the end of Long Time Dead. Indeed, Long Time Dead is a lot better than many TV Torchwood adventures, so it would be great if Sarah Pinborough were ever given the opportunity to write for the small screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suzie Surprise!, 22 May 2013
Faithful fans of Russell T Davies' adult themed Doctor Who spin-off will rejoice at the return of a great character from Series One. Suzie Costello returns after the destruction of Torchwood Cardiff, the events of which are depicted in Series Three: Torchwood Children of Earth, and she is even darker and more bent on the destruction of mankind than ever before.

There is very little involvement from remaining Torchwood Cardiff members Captain Jack and Gwen Cooper, but a great new character DI Cutler takes centre stage, as he attempts to solve a series of gruesome slayings in Cardiff whilst simultaneously battling the mysterious `Department', who are trying to take over the investigation for their own purposes.

Sarah Pinborough has an energetic and hypnotic writing style, and the story zips along nicely, with some well-drawn characters and evocative descriptions of the creeping darkness that threatens to overwhelm them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood: Long Time Dead, 10 Mar 2013
By 
John Armstrong "elvis.theking" (Bonnyrigg, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all the Torchwood Books and Episodes. I found the story line was the usual intrigue and suspense throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable!, 10 May 2012
By 
Ducky (Accrington in Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Doctor Who novels, yet was hesitant to try a Torchwood book.
Fortunately, the one I chose, happened to be written by a very talented author who's written an incredibly impressive, at times chilling, yet highly enjoyable, fast paced, intelligent novel.
What's also very impressive is that she's managed to do so with only one 'former' Torchwood character, prominantly featured.

Clearly she's a huge Torchwood fan, herself, as am I.

I was very pleased to see that she's also written another Torchwood novel: Into The Silence, which I've just ordered from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From out of the vaults, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A novel based on the tv show Torchwood, telling an all new story that hasn't been presented before in any other medium.

It runs for two hundred and fifty pages and is divided into thirty two relatively short chapters plus a prologue and an epilogue.

Whilst the cover of the book bills it as a prequel to Torchwood: Miracle Day, it's only one by virtue of the fact that it takes place somewhen in between the end of Torchwood: Children of Earth and the beginning of Miracle Day. There's nothing in here that has any impact whatsoever on the latter.

With the Torchwood Hub having been destroyed during Children of Earth, the story starts with a government ordered excavation of the remains. Which results in something deadly being unleased. Suzie Costello, Torchwood member who went very bad during the first season, is back. Alive again. On the loose. And very deadly.

People across the city start to die. The police and the military are on the case. And DCI Cutler, who is leading the investigation, is haunted by vague dreams. Of a man in a world war two greatcoat.

As the stakes get higher, can he find and stop Suzie in time?

Whilst PC Andy does turn up, the regular Torchwood characters are only here in flashback. There's a few of those as Suzie remembers things. All the characters are well written and perfectly recreated on the printed page, and Suzie is given a fair amount of depth as also, with some believable characteriation and motivation.

This moves along at a fair old pace and the pages do turn quickly. There are plenty of the aforementioned flashbacks and plenty of characters created especially for the story who are also given some good depth.

Cutler is a fairly decent character, as is his opposite number in the military.

Plot resolution is reached in a believable manner, and whilst the resolution is fairly quick, it does result out of character interaction and choices, so it's believable.

Not an essential read for fans of the show, but not a bad one either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not especially gripping I'm afraid, 9 Aug 2011
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book in the latest Torchwood trilogy, set shortly after the end of series three, is not as good as the first. This story is set in Cardiff, where local police and a mysterious military team from 'the Department' are working to clear the remains of the Torchwood Hub. What they've not banked on is a particular corpse in the morgue being not quite as dead as it used to be.

This is an interesting entry in the series in that none of the regulars play more than a cameo role, the focus instead being on a number of guest characters from both the TV series and earlier novels, though they aren't necessarily prerequisite to reading and understanding this one. The one real disappointment is that there isn't a little more focus on PC Andy, a character that I've always thought under-developed, but maybe he'll get his own story someday.

I read this book in about half a day, but can't say it particularly gripped me. Part of this was the aforementioned lack of the regulars, as the characters didn't really seem to have as much depth to them as they could have. The story does flow at a good pace and uses flashbacks well to fill in some of the backstory, but I just didn't quite find it as engaging as the previous book in this set, First Born.

Overall, I'm not sure I can recommend this to anyone but the big Torchwood fans - to the casual viewer/reader it might not make much sense (if you've forgotten the first series) and it genuinely doesn't seem like it ties in anywhere with the new television series 'Miracle Day'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
delivery was fast and the item is as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews