Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best thing I've ever seen on screen.
The hugely popular US Office series is funny, granted. But the UK version is in an office of its own. Not only does Gervais give a very funny, if totally awkward performance, but Freeman is the most outstanding of them all. I think, (correct me if I'm wrong,) this was his first big break, and he certainly hit the ground running. It is commonly thought that The Office is...
Published on 11 April 2012 by 3MUND3

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid! Flawed 10th anniversary edition
Don't get me wrong. The Office itself is superb: perhaps the finest British sitcom of the century so far.
But this version - the 10th Anniversary box set - is best avoided.
Why? Well, imagine you want to watch Episode 1. Or Episode 5. Or any episode. As you surely will.
Press Episode 1 on the menu screen and you don't get the programme but instead lots of...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. C. Hallam


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid! Flawed 10th anniversary edition, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. C. Hallam (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
Don't get me wrong. The Office itself is superb: perhaps the finest British sitcom of the century so far.
But this version - the 10th Anniversary box set - is best avoided.
Why? Well, imagine you want to watch Episode 1. Or Episode 5. Or any episode. As you surely will.
Press Episode 1 on the menu screen and you don't get the programme but instead lots of chat about the series from Gervais and Merchant and assorted other celebrities. The show comes on eventually but it's not easy to "skip".
These extras are fine in themself. But there is no opportunity to avoid them and just get straight to the show. You even get Mackenzie Crook talking half way through the opening titles.
A great series then. But the failure to seperate the extras from the show itself is a disaster.
Avoid the 10th anniversary edition! Buy any other version of this great series instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extras are annoying, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
The extras have been interspersed with the episodes rather than being together and it is irritating if you just want to watch an episode as you have to fast forward through them. Apart from that it is very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you love The Office and want to introduce someone to it, DON'T BUY THIS EDITION, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Ricardo Vicente (Póvoa de Santo Adrião, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
The 10th anniversary edition of The Office comes with 4 or 5 minutes of commentary before each and every episode (or at least all the first six episodes, which I have seen in a row today...). These commentary sections cannot be turned off, and there is no way to know when exactly the commentary ends and the episode starts.

What is the problem with these commentaries, made by Ricky Gervais, the actors, and others? They are essentially spoilers. For someone who has never seen The Office, they spoil the whole experience, by revealing too much, and by giving too much interpretation right from the authors. This basically destroys any possibility of creating your own opinions and interpretation. And people who enjoy something like The Office certainly has no need to have the characters, the themes, everything explained.

I would have nothing against these commentaries had they been optional. But they are not, and their content spoils the whole experience of anyone who is still knew to the series.

Actually, the amount of self-celebration in the commentaries is so big, that one may get sick of The Office even before seing the first episode.

I suggest buying the older set of dvds, which also comes with the complete series and Christams specials, and spares the viewer from explanation, self-celebration, spoilers, and "authentic interpretation" of this great piece of art.

Enjoy The Office, but buy any other edition but this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Keep the special features where they belong, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Kyle "KazSmurph" (Llangoed, Anglesey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
Being initially aired before I was old enough to be interested in The Office, I bought this set with high hopes and a fresh perspective. I won't elaborate on the quality of the series itself, but safe to say that it is good comedy. The first episode is shaky, not as funny as I was expecting at all, but from the second episode onwards the series really hits its stride and provides some proper laugh-out-loud moments, and there's no shortage of cringeworthy "must hide face in hands" moments courtesy of Ricky Gervais as David Brent. I don't think it lives up to the hype, though. There are other shows which are funnier and more interesting plot-wise, I think (Gervais and Merchants' "Extras" being one of these, in my opinion). It's definitely worth a watch though, and I'll watch it again without a doubt.

What really lets this set down, though, is the obligatory watching of the special features during the first series. When I watch something for the first time, I want to just watch it, unspoiled and not be bogged down by a bunch of (often random) talking heads extolling the virtues of a programme I haven't seen yet. I was disappointed, then, on pressing play to find out that this is exactly what happens - the first five minutes of each episode go through an analysis of some aspect or other of the show's greatness by people in the show, and randomers who, as far as I'm aware, have nothing to do with it (Hugh Jackman being one of these). There is absolutely no need for this at all - special features should not be forced on the viewer, that is what the second disc is for, and in my opinion all this added to the series was the impression that Gervais blatantly agrees with all the hype associated with it. It really soured the first viewing from what would have otherwise been a pleasant experience. Additionally, it means that in order to go and watch those features in future (should I even want to), I'd have to go to each episode and watch only the first five minutes. Not a huge task, but irritatingly unnecessary. This only happens with the first series - the second series and the Christmas specials both play as they should, with special features left exactly where they should be. However, it's definitely a weak point in an otherwise good box set. Buy with the confidence that you're getting the series in its entirety, and if you love The Office then you'll love this set. However if you're like me and just a casual or new fan, be prepared to do a bit of scene skipping to get to the goods that you paid for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best thing I've ever seen on screen., 11 April 2012
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
The hugely popular US Office series is funny, granted. But the UK version is in an office of its own. Not only does Gervais give a very funny, if totally awkward performance, but Freeman is the most outstanding of them all. I think, (correct me if I'm wrong,) this was his first big break, and he certainly hit the ground running. It is commonly thought that The Office is simply funny, but in my experience of the UK Office, there is huge passion throughout. There is love, loss, realism and a strange development of character. The character of David Brent is an interesting one- Gervais pulls him off incredibly well. And the psychological breakdown of Brent is one of the most sad and moving things I have seen on screen.

This is the most worthwhile thing I have ever seen- funny, awkward, realistic yet sad and emotive. I would not recommend this to the lighthearted slapstick comedy lover of something like "The US Office."

A MUST BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series but suffers major fault, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
When the product arrived I was very happy. The quality of the actual box is great and looks really smart. Then when I started to play the first episode I hit the major fault. I clicked play and the first thing that appears is Steven Merchant and Ricky Jervais. I thought that it seemed reasonable for them to do a small introduction as its the anniversary edition but for some reason it was actually all of the extra content. Each episode contains the extra content at the beginning of the episode so you either watch it and ruin the episode or skip the chapter and have to come back to it afterwards which is a bit of a fuss.

However, once the annoyance of Ricky Jervais' face popping up at the beginning of every episode wears of you start to appreciate the excellent humour they have created and a truly excellent couple of series. So, my advice would be, unless you want to listen to Ricky Jervais talking about himself, choose a bog standard version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Gold, 10 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant - if you don't own it, or haven't seen it, it's pure class.

And the introductions by Ricky and Stephen are cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This!, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
Ricky Gervais's amazing comedy, so many laughs, so many awkward moments, but lets face it we would all love to know a Boss like this. Great episodes, great extras, loved every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No training vids :-(, 29 Oct 2011
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
Yes theres some new stuff on this release, more talk about how great the series is and how it was made BUT most importantly the excellent/fascinating internal pilots here, great stuff. Sadly though the full follow up pilot ISNT on this set, has never been released but we see the odd clip (should have been in the set for it to be considered complete) and also despite Amazons entry for it saying the 2 Microsoft training vids featuring Brent are included there is no mention if them on the packaging and Ive not found them anyplace, so unless they are well hidden easter eggs they too are absent. In short, without the second pilot / microsoft training vids this set is a bit of a let down for fans, still worth getting for internal pre-pilot though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-living my 20s with this one. It's The Office - enough said., 11 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. R. Black - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious comedy, atmospheric and drawl. Very suitable for life in an office! Also, DVD was sent promptly, on time and with no fuss. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews