Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars18
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 June 2012
Anther enjoyable romp through the murky mind and memories of Mr Luke Haines. If you're reading this then you're probably already aware of Mr Haines' oeuvre. Suffice to say he's one of those under-appreciated English mavericks who manage to carve out a career on the fringes of popular music. He is - in short - a national treasure. His books, like his music, offer black humour, wit, and a welcome respite from the mainstream, and - yes - entertainment. This is showbusiness after all, and there's no business...

Post Everything follows on from Bad Vibes: Britpop and my part in its downfall, his previous memoir, and between them they offer an alternative history of Britpop and beyond. Probably all you'll ever need to read on that overhyped musical period (although Kill Your Friends is a hilarious read and one I heartily recommend). So. In. A. Nutshell. Buy this. Read it. And then give Mr Haines some more money. We need him more than he needs us.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
Haines is back with his wonderful obsessions - Lord Lucan, Gary Glitter, Peter Sutcliffe, Jonathan King, Billie Piper et al. I didn't know that the great man spent two years working on a musical about Sussex-based dodgy landlord Nicholas van Hoogstraten but, in retrospect, it seems unimaginable that he would have done anything else.

Aside from (possibly) one hit single, the music discussed in this book was never whistled by your milkman. I happen to own all the LPs mentioned herein but that, apparently, makes me something of an outlier. And there are better places to get yer celebrity anecdotes; Haines briefly talking to Chrissie Hynde and nearly talking to Bono and Philip from Rising Damp are the nearest we get to insider gossip here. No matter. This, even more than Bad Vibes, is about the writing, and the writing is very sharp indeed. Witheringly funny from start to (rather abrupt) finish, this is a book about the last spasms of the music industry written by its most erudite snarling underdog. Bring on volume 3, if only to hear about how he came to release 50 albums in one day.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 December 2011
For those of us with strong opinions on all things musical and cultural, and, let's face it, they don't come any more opinionated than the multi-talented Mr Haines, Post Everything presents another veritable smorgasbord of all things good and bad (but mostly bad) with the British cultural scene in the period 1997 to 2005. Essentially, this covers the period when Haines' The Auteurs were finally winding down (or should that be winding up?) with the How I Learned To Love The Bootboys Album, and Black Box Recorder (his collaboration with ex-Jesus and Mary Chainer John Moore) 'enjoyed' relative success (including an appearance on Top Of The Pops), releasing three albums in the period to 2003.

As you might expect, Post Everything carries on very much in the same vein as Haines earlier missive Bad Vibes: Britpop and My Part In Its Downfall, as Haines scathingly lays into all things from record company machinations to Bono to Glenn Hoddle to intra-band relationships (re. that burgeoning between messrs. Moore and Nixey). There are also hilarious sections on (figment of Haines' imagination?) obscure transgender German professor Karl Wilkie's treatise on The Theory of the Moron and Haines' surreal companion Sam the Dead Cat, who provides invaluable advice on the best recipe for scrambled eggs. Back on planet earth, however, Haines also reveals his 'human' side as he declares his love for journalist and author (latterly wife) Sian Pattenden, and includes fascinating accounts of his attempts to branch into soundtrack composition (for the film Christy Malry's Own Double Entry, which disappeared in the wake of 9/11) and then musical theatre, via his collaboration on 'doomed to fail' National Theatre production Property, based on the life of corrupt property magnate Nicholas van Hoogstraten.

A near unputdownable, page turner!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
If you liked the first Haines epic, Bad Vibes, you'll like this - but this one is even better. Whatever goes on, in Haines brain-box, we now know more about it. He's clever, funny, and is caustic in all the right places. It's a page turner; and I know I'll read this again. (I read Bad Vibes three times.)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
It's often the case that pop stars produce their better work early in their careers.
I'm not sure this is wholly true for Haines, who has produced some works of true brilliance along the way.
This book picks up where Bad Vibes: Britpop and my part in its downfall left off, and covers the Black Box Recorder part of his career.
It gets a bit repetitive - a lot of time spent essentially feeling sorry for himself down the pub, or on a perhaps drug related journey. Who knows. Either way, such episodes have been written about in a better way by such as Julian Cope (Head On).
Despite that the book has moments of high entertainment, but doesn't maintain the standard set by its predecessor.
It's still got more style and personality than most music autobiographies though, and was worth the read.
Hopefully there will be more to come, both musically, and later, by way of back story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed Mr Haines' first book "Bad Vibes", and although I preferred Bad Vibes, this still well worth your shekels. Plenty of laugh out loud moments for me. I loved Lukes' constant incredulity at record companies' willingness to hurl money at him despite never quite reaching the giddy heights of pop stardom. THe book is actually a good documentaion of the 'decline' of record companies from the days when they had more clout and money to throw around and were signing any old shit left right and centre. Halcyon days! My only real critism of it is near the end, when it trails off a bit when Luke ventures into the world of writing musicals, but thats just a minor quibble. I cant wait for the sitcom....
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Whether you agree with Haines about this and that and whether you're a fan of Black Box or the Auteurs hardly matters because, the fact is, Haines is simply one of the funniest writers we currently have. Slaloming about in a haze of self righteous anger while the music industry piles humiliation upon humiliation on his shoulders he rants and castigates and charges at the walls (both real walls and those in his mind) and finds them to be unnervingly wobbly. He's also read a bit and knows his way around a sentence so, unfocused, gossipy and episodic this may be but as a memoir of modern British culture seen from the inside it really does take some beating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
This second installment of Haines memoirs lacks the cohesion and fun of the previous tome. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak as Haines spends his time in the doldrums for a lot of this books duration and so threadbare incidents are stretched beyond breaking point, devices are used with mindless reptition and the tedium of his domestic life and lovesickness permeates the text like an old sock at the bottom of a laundry basket. Having said that, an off beam Haines is infinitely more interesting than his contemporaries could ever be and on occassion there are some laugh out loud moments and typically acidic observations. Its just that not much HAPPENS. If this were a record it would be 'Metal Machine Music' rather than 'Tago Mago'. It seems to be far longer than it actually is and getting to the end of it is a relief rather than a revelation. Also, the ticker tape introductions to each chapter are trite and do nothing for the main text, whilst the Fritz the Cat interludes smack of someone with little to say but a target number of words to hit. Thankfully on record, Haines true vocation in life, he remains unique and ahead of the game. The bit at the Glenn Hoddle press conference is priceless though.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Hugely entertaining read, and very, very funny. The fictionalized dead rappers and talking cat episodes may not be to every reader's taste, but they work well as a device here as Haines has fun with the form. Just as good as Bad Vibes: Britpop and my part in its downfall. To his immense credit, he is incapable of turning out a dull rock-star memoir. In fact, he's an extremely good writer. I hope there'll be a third volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Arrogant and stylish with it, this book is almost the equal of Bad Vibes. Well worth a read for Haines fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)