Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some problems at first
The razer mamba would not connect or sync properly at first after receiving it and wouldn`t even load the drivers menu so i could change settings 9 times out of 10.When they did load it took maybe 5 or 10 mins just to get into the settings.Obviously something was wrong but the firmware updater said both the dock and mouse firmware were up to date.Much messing about later...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by John Doh

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great product spoiled by shoddy software
The mouse is very well built, and comes in a nice perspex box... but unfortunately this is where the praise ends.

The first major annoyance is that it requires you to create an online profile to use it. Razer say this is to keep the software updated and your settings backed up, but in reality it's all very pointless as this could be done without the need to...
Published 6 months ago by L. Miln


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great product spoiled by shoddy software, 22 April 2014
By 
L. Miln (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
The mouse is very well built, and comes in a nice perspex box... but unfortunately this is where the praise ends.

The first major annoyance is that it requires you to create an online profile to use it. Razer say this is to keep the software updated and your settings backed up, but in reality it's all very pointless as this could be done without the need to register an account and for the software to be always online. You can force it offline, but you shouldn't even have to do any of this in the first place.

Now onto the mouse itself... when the PC boots up it takes ages to remember my settings (DPI, light colour & brightness etc) and would always default to 6400DPI, which is far too fast for desktop use. It would also occasionally simply stop working when in use and then fail to wake up from its sleep. Razer suggested giving the legacy drivers a try, but this didn't solve any of the issues. It's a real shame as it's really comfy, great when working and looks awesome... but for £100 it should work 100% of the time with zero fuss.

I have since sent it back and replaced it with a Logitech G602, which is awesome and works exactly like it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great mouse, let down by everything else, 26 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
I have to say this straight away - it's a great mouse. It's not overly complicated like some of the other Razer mice, and it feels good to use.

The presentation box that it came in was full of nice touches and they include lots of extras.

It's already been said, but this mouse can be used as a wired mouse, just take out the cable from the wireless receiver and slot it into the mouse. Do that and most of your problems will be gone. Use it as a wireless mouse (as you should be able to), and you may have issues, at times I get drop outs meaning the mouse just stops responding for a second or two. The battery life is pretty poor unless you buy the upgraded battery, maybe 8 hours of just normal, intermittent use (web browsing, not even gaming).

Others have had issues with the software, under Windows 8.1 on an SSD, I actually found it to be pretty flawless, it opens quickly and stays out the way. However, having used it on other systems, I can see it being a slightly bloated piece of software.

Had it been a cheaper mouse, you can excuse these things, I'd probably give it a 3 or 4 star rating. But this is a £100+ mouse, and you really expect the basics to be perfect. I'll still continue to use it, probably with the battery upgrade when I get a chance, but I certainly wouldn't buy another at the full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great mouse but..., 19 Mar 2014
By 
Bruno Silva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
I like Razer Mamba 2012 but the software is just rubbish. I like the fact that it can be used in wired mode because sometimes it just stops working for some reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
I've now been using the mouse for the past 2 weeks, but there are problems that I just can't overlook for such an expensive mouse.

- The battery life is really really bad. It's supposed to be 10 hours with the backlight turned off. I get about 8 hours. So if you work/play on your computer for more than 8 hours per day and forget to put the mouse back on the cradle every time you go away from your PC, you'll definitely be caught with a dead mouse very frequently. Happens to me all the time.

- The cradle looks awesome. However the way you dock the mouse is not very straight forward. Maybe it's just me but it often takes me several tries to perfectly click the mouse in place. You can very easily "hang" the mouse on the cradle which might look correct but will not charge the mouse, which happens to me a few times and resulted in dead battery the next time I try to use it!

- The charging is inconsistent. I can sometimes leave the mouse on the cradle for 1 or 2 hours, which I know is not enough to fully charge the mouse but expect it to be at least charged enough for 1-2 hours. It turned out to work for 3 minutes before it died again. And yes I made sure that it's definitely charging on the cradle every time by checking the animating charging lights!

- The windows utility that changes mouse settings takes a long time (15 secs?) to open and save. I know it's saving/reading the settings on the mouse itself wirelessly but seriously what kind of wireless bandwidth do we have and how much data are we transmitting here? There must be something that can be done to optimise this. I just can't be bothered to play around with settings anymore because of this.

- The whole thing is well built and made, but I find everything difficult to assemble/take apart physically. Starting from taking the mouse down from the display case, to putting the battery into the mouse, putting the mouse on the cradle and inserting weirdly shaped cable into the mouse. Maybe I'm just clumsy but I follow the instruction and it still takes a few tries and a bit of force to snap them apart/together. It just doesn't seem intuitive and polish enough in this regard. I'm just glad that I didn't accidentally snap any part of the mouse off!

When things are working, it's really an excellent mouse to use. The surface tracking, the weight, the shape, sensitivity, on-the-fly sensitivity adjustment, they are all pretty much flawless. However the battery issue really really lets it down and makes it hard to recommend. What good is a wireless mouse if you have to use it wired half of the time? You might as well go for the cheaper wired version of the mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some problems at first, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
The razer mamba would not connect or sync properly at first after receiving it and wouldn`t even load the drivers menu so i could change settings 9 times out of 10.When they did load it took maybe 5 or 10 mins just to get into the settings.Obviously something was wrong but the firmware updater said both the dock and mouse firmware were up to date.Much messing about later and i decided to go ahead and re-flash the firmware anyway,despite it telling me it was the same version.Right off the bat, after it had finished the flashing process, i knew this had cured the problems and the mouse is now working flawlessly ever since.Hopefully this helps others who have similar troubles.
Ok, that out of the way and i find the mouse to be great, wireless or corded.There is no discernible lag when wireless,no drops and it never sleeps when i dont want it to.I am extremely fussy about these things.I play fps competitively,so any advantage i can get,i take.This mouse will NOT let you down when wireless and i feel no difference when comparing it to my previously owned logitech mx510,logitech G5 or logitech G500 wired mice.
Just want to say, i would have kept using logitech only for the cables always end up fraying internally just where they enter the mouse.This results in the bing bong sound in windows as the usb disconnects and reconnects the usb.It`s happend with all mice i`ve owned so i decided to go wireless..no wires, no fraying cables!
Overall, i`m very happy with the mamba 4G but deducted one star for the hours of messing about to get it working properly.

Just an update here on my review after approx 6 weeks using it.The battery life that the other guy seems to be getting is NOT my experience with the mouse.I would estimate i get anything up to 30 hours usage before the battery is drained.I work, game and browse for anything up to 18 hours per day and it has never needed to be recharged in any one day.I have once or twice forgotten to place it on the charging dock after the days use and it has usually gone for most of the next day too before needing a charge.I would suggest the other reviewer check his driver settings and make sure his mouse sleeps after 1 minute of non use.This never kicks in when not wanted and is possibly giving me these extended hours.Also putting the mousewheel light off when wireless is needed.The base still stays lit!
With regards to the not knowing the mouse is charging on the dock...The mouse wheel and base lights pulsate when the mouse is charging and the small light bars on the side do a sweeping motion.I don`t know how you would not know if it was on the dock properly and charging with these visual indicators.I dont think blaming the mouse because of user error or lack of knowledge is fair tbh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead battery, 12 July 2014
By 
E. Davison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
I started off by loving it. It did everything that I wanted from a mouse and more. If it wasn't for the fact that after my first one wouldn't charge the battery after a couple of months and then the replacement lasting a matter of days for the same problem, then I would be giving this five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for PC gamers!, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
I bought this as a Christmas present (Xmas 2013) for my boyfriend around 9/10 months ago, and he was so happy with it!

He is a true PC gamer, and this mouse has been through HOURS of continuous gameplay (which isn't always delicate and calm!) as well as him saying that he has noticed an improvement from the older Razer mouse that he had (bought 3-4 years) ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it arrived beautifully packaged, but that was the only good thing ..., 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
it arrived beautifully packaged,but that was the only good thing i can say about this item as it stopped working shortly after....we returned the item,well within the years guarentee,recorded delivery and heard nothing from the seller BingoGadgets....i would not recommend either this mouse and especially the seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Keeps on disconnecting, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
Positives:

Stylish

Comfortable

Very sensitive and accurate

Option of being wired or wireless

Negatives:

Keeps on disconnecting

Battery life could be longer

Pricey

Overall: I would recommend this mouse, but it is annoying when it randomly disconnects mid-game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars razor mumba, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razer Mamba 2012 Elite Wireless Gaming Mouse, 6400dpi, 4G Dual Sensor (Accessory)
yes it is expensive for just a mouse but for those who want a wired gaming mouse and then be able to switch to wireless for those lazy desktop tasks this mouse is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews