Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FWB
I'm going to assume that we all know by now that this is a film that eventually finishes with a fairly typical rom-com ending. But come on, if you seriously think that it shouldn't end this way, ask yourself how you would rather it ended. It is the journey that this film takes getting there that makes this such an enjoyable flick.
The premise is simple - Dylan...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by Jon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shut up Katherine Hiegl
Jamie and Dylan, on opposite coasts, break up with their lovers: each separately vows to stay out of emotional entanglements.

So when Jamie recruits Dylan to run GQ's art department in NYC - and she's the only person he knows in Manhattan - they decide to be friends with sexual benefits.

It works well until Jamie meets a paediatric cardiologist who...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FWB, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends With Benefits [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm going to assume that we all know by now that this is a film that eventually finishes with a fairly typical rom-com ending. But come on, if you seriously think that it shouldn't end this way, ask yourself how you would rather it ended. It is the journey that this film takes getting there that makes this such an enjoyable flick.
The premise is simple - Dylan (Justin Timberlake) and Jamie (Mila Kunis) decide that adding sex to their relationship is a great idea because its just physical. Eventually, they decide mutually to stop but remain friends and as the film progresses further we get to know them, and their families, and all their problems.
The fact is that there are not many movies I have enjoyed more than this, and this romcom just felt streets ahead of many others I have watched - the acting is good and it was something that a lot of romcoms aren't - it was very funny. Timberlake held his own with Kunis, and the supporting cast of Woody Harrelson (Tommy, the gay GQ sports editor), Patricia Clarkson (Lorna, Jamie's mum) and Richard Jenkins, who plays Dylan's father, provided some really good scenes (my favourite being the scenes between Dylan and his dad).
The sex scenes were well written, well acted, and well directed, managing to be fairly raunchy without going over the top. The dialogue was also really well written, and it was fun to watch Kunis and Timberlake play off eachother throughout the movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YA, YOU KNOW IT..., 8 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friends With Benefits [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Both Timberlake and Kunis have recently broken up with their partner. Kunis plays a recruiter for GQ magazine, and Timberlake is someone she "stalked" to head up their Art department. Timberlake's ex-gf is Emma Stone. What is interesting is that Kunis' character is the laid back type of person we would expect Emma Stone to play, while Stone (what little we see of her) plays an emotional character we would expect Kunis to play. I don't know if the producers did this by design, or they just lucked into it, but knowing this made the movie funny on a different level. Kunis is savvy enough to realize she has been ruined by romantic movies as she awaits her Prince to sweep her off her feet. You know at the end of the movie, come running to her as she is about to leave, and pour his heart out to her.

Kunis gives Timberlake a fast paced tour of NY, perhaps one of the best sells for Manhattan I have seen in a long time. The movie verbally condemns Hollywood's romantic comedies while ironically creating one identical to it. With some quick character build up, the film goes to a scene where Timberlake and Kunis decide that they will have sex without the emotional baggage while swearing on a Bible app. No complications, just sex. Guess how that turns out?

Woody Harrelson plays a gay sports editor who is not shy about being gay. Woody gives Timberlake love advice, "It's not who you want to spend Friday night with, but who you want to spend all day Saturday with."

The sex scenes between Kunis and Timberlake are more comical than romantic. Timberlake likes to keep his socks on and sneezes after an orgasm, and Kunis is a screamer. Patricia Clarkson plays Kunis' super hip mother, who has never really told her daughter who her father was. In her first few minutes he was Greek, Puerto Rican, or Russian...she is sure he was Eurasian.

The dialoge is fast and witty. Kunis did a background check on a guy she dated.

Timberlake responds: "Did you do a background check on me?"

Kunis:"How could you possibly max out an Old Navy card?"

Timberlake: "I was just out of college and really into cargo pants."

In spite of the adult themes, the movie has a lighthearted chick flick Disney quality to it. The acting was good. The movie was very clever. If you liked "No Strings Attached" you might find this one on par or slightly better.

F-bomb,sex, brief nudity, deals with Alzheimer's. 5 star chick flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rom-Com I've Seen In a Long Time!, 23 Mar 2012
By 
Elk2011 "Elk2011" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends With Benefits [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I'm not a rom-com fan, so I didn't have high hopes for this movie but I was pleasantly surprised to find it was one of the best movies I've seen in quite some time.

The formula is a familiar one - boy meets girl, both are losers in love (despite being incredibly attractive!), Initially they are just friends, but this soon turns into friends with (sexual) benefits and of course it'll surprise no one that that soon turns into love, much to the surprise of them both. None of this is particularly surprising and the predictable nature of it is usually why I dislike rom-coms but what makes this one different is the comedy - it's really very good! Throughout the movie there's a scattering of genius comedy moments.

The lead characters (Timberlake & Kunis) are both very well developed and unlike most rom-coms it doesn't just focus on their love life, it focuses on their families and what makes them tick psychologically. The script is witting, funny and charming and you end up loving both characters by the end of the movie. Throw in a great supporting cast, with the likes of Woody Harrelson, a sports writer with a fixation on all things gay and the casting is just great.

Another thing worthy of a mention is the great soundtrack - there's some great songs used throughout the movie (Semisonic - Closing time etc) which really make it what it is.

For once I agree with one of the quotations of the box - this one really is "Sexy. Funny. Clever" - give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friends with Benefits, 24 Mar 2014
Friend with benefits was a fantastic film, it was funny but sad in places just a real all round good film to watch .. Liked it so much we going to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shut up Katherine Hiegl, 14 Mar 2014
Jamie and Dylan, on opposite coasts, break up with their lovers: each separately vows to stay out of emotional entanglements.

So when Jamie recruits Dylan to run GQ's art department in NYC - and she's the only person he knows in Manhattan - they decide to be friends with sexual benefits.

It works well until Jamie meets a paediatric cardiologist who just might be a match, and Dylan invites her to come home with him to LA for Thanksgiving.

He may be jealous of the doc, she may be sending new vibes in Dylan's direction, but can either see the signals?....

The first thing that really grabbed me about this movie is the fact that Timberlake is very good, and really shows that he could have a good career in these sort of movies.

While the story is essentially 'No Strings Attached' this feels a little more human, whereas that one relied on the star power of the two leads.

The two stars have a very good chemistry right from the start, which makes the film that little more believable, and for once, their isn't an irritating best friend (we have the damaged parents in this, which do provide a very entertaining sub-plot from both perspectives).

Sadly the film is predictable and becomes a bit of a chore at the end with something straight from the teenage Fisher KIng, but otherwise, it's smutty, good stuff, with a good heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rom Com or humorous? Either way buy it!, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Friends With Benefits [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
There are many reviews here giving an outline of the plot so I won't trouble to repeat that. It would hardly be a spoiler as we all know which way these films go, but I have to agree with others that it's the getting there which creates the humour (and the romance I guess). Although many seemed to like his contribution I felt Woody Harrelson just a little too 'over the top' but the rest of the supporting cast were quite simply perfect. This film kept a smile on my face for much of the time, even when it dealt, very sensitively I felt, with dementia.

If you've read other reviews then you'll already have heard it said - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to recommend, 15 Mar 2014
By 
A good Saturday-night-in watch with a good enough story line to keep you interested. Enjoyed the characters and the film locations.
Highly watchable and happy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For those of us who hate Rom Coms- this is our movie!, 5 Mar 2014
Seriously, I hate the Notebook, and I am horrified by the usual dumb hollywood movies. This one is so different. I laughed through the whole thing. It takes a realistic approach to sex, relationships and friendship. I really enjoyed it. Definitely going on my top 10 movies list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 3 Mar 2014
i thought Kunis was good but Timberlake is a poor actor which detracted from the story.shame really ,would have been better without him in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 1 Mar 2014
This film deserved the 5 stars right from the start, Acting in Top Notch, *spoiler* Plot twist's: There's too many too count
Story: Easy to follow and doesn't contradict itself in like a thousand different ways,
Would I recommend? Absolutely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa7d1ab0)

This product

Friends With Benefits [DVD] [2011]
Friends With Benefits [DVD] [2011] by Will Gluck (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews