Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Days
A truly great story about life today. All the people taking part presented a tale of what its like to be alive today. Each story of the participant was just like we read about in the news every day.
I loved the story and would love to see another series like this.
Definitely would reccommend this stunning and heart breaking dvd.
Published 18 months ago by nomad

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written and unrealistic
Just finished watching all five episodes - this could have been very good, especially with some of the excellent actors involved - however the whole enterprise was let down by a poor storyline combined with poor writing.
I felt it "opted" out from difficult decisions in the storyline process, possibly because of some kind of PC directive? If this was not the problem...
Published on 9 July 2012 by Nigel Nicholls


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly Written and unrealistic, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just finished watching all five episodes - this could have been very good, especially with some of the excellent actors involved - however the whole enterprise was let down by a poor storyline combined with poor writing.
I felt it "opted" out from difficult decisions in the storyline process, possibly because of some kind of PC directive? If this was not the problem perhaps the writer should consider a different vocation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some people discover their God-given mission late in life, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Some people discover their God-given mission late in life. I'm glad I'm still young enough to take up my staff and go walking among hills and dales to spread the word: KEEP AWAY FROM THIS TRAIN-WRECK OF A SCRIPT!!!!!

I really enjoy British TV dramas and am often surprised when discovering relatively unknown gems. The hype around the "Five days" series, and the great cast of actors, had me try this. It's a wreck, a complete wreck.

And that's quite an achivement for the screenwriter, given that the actors are for the most part excellent, their characters often well-defined. But the narrative itself is awful. Not only is it very inconclusive ( many red herrings abound and get you nowhere)but in the end, the explanation for what happened is such a ludicrous mish-mash of unlikely coincidences, ridiculous psychological explanations, etc etc... that should you try this, you'd find yourself, like me and quite a few others viewers it seems, wondering: how did anyone at BBC vet this script?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Five wasted Days., 25 Dec 2011
By 
David (LEESBURG, VIRGINIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Not much to say about this one. I watched an episode every evening thinking it was going to get better, but it just went from bad to worse. When it finally finished, I thought, what was all that about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Days, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A truly great story about life today. All the people taking part presented a tale of what its like to be alive today. Each story of the participant was just like we read about in the news every day.
I loved the story and would love to see another series like this.
Definitely would reccommend this stunning and heart breaking dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great drama, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the first series of Five Days, I was keen to buy this DVD. Im a great fan of Suranne Jones having seen her in Unforgiven and Scott & Bailey. It was a really good drama with a fair amount of good British actors however I felt the last episode let the series down. It was quite flat and was a bit of a disappointment. However if another series comes out, I would still be keen on seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring On Five Days THREE!, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw series 1 on DVD so purposely didnt watch it on TV but got the DVD instead. All concentration needed here but once again a fantastic series - all about the people again - love these shows - great acting, great storyline to actually challenge the grey cells a little - its a grown up, serious Brit version of 24 I say! Bring on the next series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 4 July 2014
By 
Linus Chiam "batbear" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Discs do not play!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A convoluted plot, but worth the stay, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Stick with this one, lots of back stories going on.
Anne Reid is her usual endearing self, Suranne Jones as her daughter
is wonderful... an understated but enthralling thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is fantastic, but then it has the amazing Suranne Jones in it. Her talent was wasted in Coronation Street the best thing she done was leave as her skilful acting is now being allowed to blossom and grow in the way it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Drifted off course, 16 July 2013
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first two episodes are gripping and I was beginning to believe that this was indeed better than the first series. But episode three didn't seem to move the story line much further along and by episode four and five it had wandered off course and finally spluttered out with a wimper. The script dodged some issues and I suspect was influenced by the PC brigade.

The storyline regarding the train driver became totally implausible. It has a feel that the writer struggled to conclude the series whilst retaining some sense of continuity. Maybe there was some interference from above and the writer simply lost heart? I certainly did! Pity as it was well acted, great setting and good sense of drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD]
Five Days - Complete BBC Series 2 [DVD] by Suranne Jones (DVD - 2011)
9.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews