Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars126
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£13.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2011
Ok once again amaazon are mixing up the reviews for all the different reviews for halloween 2, so lets make this clear from the start... THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE US BLU RAY OF HALLOWEEN 2.

ok, now thats out of the way, halloween 2 follows on directly from halloween only this time directed by Rick rosenthal, as after writing the screenplay carpenter didn't want to direct 'more of the same' and moved on to other projects. The film takes the action to the local Hospital where michael myers quickly begins carving his way through the staff to get to the films last survivor Laurie strode (still played by jamie lee curtis from the first movie) all the while pursued by Dr sam loomis (donald plesence, who bcame a mainstay of the franchise).

Halloween 2 is gorier and louder than its predecessor and while some say its not as good as its predecessor (and their probably right about that) Halloween 2 is a LOT of fun nontheless and will certainly entertain fans of the origional. I'm not sure the gratuitous gore shots are really needed but are probably included for commercial reasons as at this point the slasher craze was in full swing and much of the competition was laying the grue on with a trowel. If you havent seen the origional Halloween then shame on you, go buy it now, if you have then this is well worth watching and definately one of the better horror sequels out there.

So is the disc worth getting?

YES.

If your a halloween fan the 35th anniversary blu-ray is a fantastic update. The picture quality is phenomenal and far better than even the previous, great quality, universal release. Extras-wise we get a featurette, and alternate ending and some deleted scenes (all of which seem to come from the TV version) but sadly we dont get the kim newman and alan jones commentary track from the uk version, which is a shame as the picture quality on that release was dreadful.

Overall then, this is a definate must buy for anyone looking for the film in hi-def, and definately worth watching if you havent seen it before. It looks and sounds fantastic and is definately the best presentation of the film to date.
1010 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
***SPOILER ALERT*** Wonderful squeal to one of the best horror films ever made. Halloween 2 follows directly after Halloween when Michael Myers gets shot six times by Dr lomis.(Donald pleasance) Laurie strode(Jamie lee Curtis) is taken to the local hospital, where she thinks her ordeal is over WRONG!. The deaths are more gruesome than the first with most of the deaths taking place inside a hospital, their are no end of instruments Michael will use from knifes, syringes, even hot water therapy at his disposal .

Their is now a massive police hunt for the knife wielding madman, the police think that the killer is just killing people at random, but what they don't know is Laurie is his sister and he will do anything to kill her and anyone who gets in his way. The only BIG! negative thing for me was, was the ending, don't get me wrong it was great but basically they burnt him to death, up to a point their would be nothing left but dust, so how he can turn up five more times is beyond me, but still I love Halloween 4,5,6,7 well except Halloween 8 and the two Rob Zombie films which were truly awful.

This review is for the UNIVERSAL(thank you universal) Blu-ray release which is region free, the picture is ok I have seen worse plus the 5.1 is in DTS and sounds great, plus the film ratio is in 2.35:1, and looks good, there are a few features on the disc I have listed them below.

***BONUS FEATURES***

Terror in the Aisles
Alternate Ending
Deleted Scenes
review image review image review image
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
UK buyers beware!

This review is for the Collector's Edition of Halloween II from Shout Factory. This disc is LOCKED to Region A and will NOT play on UK players. See here for confirmation: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Halloween-II-Blu-ray/46632/

I suggest either buying the region free 30th Anniversary edition (see here: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Halloween-II-Blu-ray/19651/) or waiting for a decent UK release of this film.

DON'T BUY THE SHOUT FACTORY release unless you have a region-free or region-switchable blu-ray player as you will be very disappointed!

AMAZON STOP GROUPING ALL REVIEWS TOGETHER! It's a stupid policy that only leads to confusion and annoyance for your customers. Wise up and update your system!
1313 comments|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Whilst not the best nor worst of the series, Halloween II is a middling addition to the series but is far better than some of the later entries. The film follows directly on from the first, iconic John Carpenter movie - so much so that there are mere seconds between the end of the 1978 original and this sequel.

Several concepts are introduced in this film that play out throughout the subsequent movies, and the central characters become the focus of a new plot strand that was still running in H20 in 1998.

The disc. The print and transfer of this REGION FREE disc are the best I have ever seen the movie look. There is a pleasing amount of film grain - not excessive but present giving the overall presentation a filmic appearance. The soundtrack is suitably cleaned up to match the visuals.

The extras. The main reason many people (myself included) are buying this disc is for the full 1080p transfer of Terror in the Aisles a late 80s documentary featuring many clips of horror movies. This feature was released alone in cinemas, and on VHS and Laser disc, but is a very welcome addition to the HII package.

Overall the movie is the part of the disc that loses a point as its just not as good as the original (none of the sequels or re-imaginings have been, have they?)but I still heartily give it 4 out of 5.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Having already got several copies of Halloween II the main draw for me to buy this disc was because it has the film "Terror In The Aisles" as a bonus.
This film has never been released on DVD or Blu Ray before and my old VHS copy from 1984 was beginning to get very worn indeed.
So it was a delight to be able to finally get it on disc.
Whilst no great effort has been made to clean up the image I can say that it is far better than my old VHS tape in both sound and picture and I have never seen it look better since I saw it at the cinema many years ago.
The feature presentation of Halloween II is a massive upgrade too on my DVD copies so this was a win/win disc for me.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2001
This is an absolutely brilliant horror film.It picks up exactly where the first one finishes, with Michael Myers still on the loose.This film is just more of the original, with the same suspense, tension, and the same kind of shocking murders, as Myers continues to stalk his sister, Laurie Strode(Jamie Lee Curtis) in a very dark and scary looking hospital. Donald Pleasance as ever is brilliant as Dr. Sam Loomis, and Jamie Lee Curtis proves again that she is the supreme scream queen.This is truly a great horror movie, helped by a great script, great cast and some very grizzly and gruesome killings(see the jacuzzi scene).This in my eyes is a real horror classic, up there with Halloween and the Scream Trilogy.GO BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2004
This Halloween sequel is the best and better than the first. The places where they try to make you jump are perfect and made me jump every time quite an achievment that it still works 20 years later. The story is not confusing like in some of 'nightmare on elmstreet' ones and the special effects are perfect. If you have or are buying halloween you must by this sequel. It was first meant to be final part of the halloween series. It tells you why michael myers wants to kill Laurie Strode (Jamie lee Curtis) and it is all going back to when he killed his sister as a child. So buy this movie it is a dream for horror film lovers
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2001
John Carpenter has done it again with this truly amazing sequal!! The end of the first film was so freaky everybody wanted a sequal, and when it was made nobody was dissapointed! Most of the time sequals are pretty bad but HALLOWEEN II was just as scary as the first. The setting is perfect. The hospital (where Laurie Strode was taken to after her ordeal in the first) is so quiet that it is scary. You're always suspecting Michael Myers to jump out from somewhere and kill. John Carpenter decided to add in what the first film lacked, gore. This film is pretty gory and not for the faint-hearted. Brilliant performances once again by the 'Scream Queen' Jamie Lee Curtis and Donald Pleasence. There are a few memorable scenes and some interesting weapons eg. a scalpol! John Carpenter's HALLOWEEN II is definitely one of the best sequals in the world. 10/10
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Let's get straight onto the blu ray review this US import is region free.

The HD picture is a mixed bag as it looks sharp and clear but their is signs of print damage present throughout the entire movie universal were to lazy to clean up and re-master the print.

The special features are good Terror in the aisles is the main special feature which will be very interesting to horror fans. plus their is deleted scenes from Halloween 2 as well.

Overall i think this is the best Halloween sequel and worth buying this blu ray if you are a fan of the original.

Take note their is also a shout factory US bd which is region a locked so make sure you buy the universal release from september 2011.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 February 2014
This sequel continues the story exactly where the original left off, its a rare example of a sequel that's as exciting as the original, great same cast, more bloodshed and crazy slasher kills from Michael Myers! as usual the cool creepy music score is present! This Blu-ray is the 30th anniversary version and is region free for UK players, good picture quality and a couple of extras!!
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)