Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Later that same evening
Whilst not the best nor worst of the series, Halloween II is a middling addition to the series but is far better than some of the later entries. The film follows directly on from the first, iconic John Carpenter movie - so much so that there are mere seconds between the end of the 1978 original and this sequel.

Several concepts are introduced in this film that...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by M. Hevingham

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BUYERS BEWARE!!
UK buyers beware!

This review is for the Collector's Edition of Halloween II from Shout Factory. This disc is LOCKED to Region A and will NOT play on UK players. See here for confirmation: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Halloween-II-Blu-ray/46632/

I suggest either buying the region free 30th Anniversary edition (see here:...
Published 13 months ago by Pantheon


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BUYERS BEWARE!!, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
UK buyers beware!

This review is for the Collector's Edition of Halloween II from Shout Factory. This disc is LOCKED to Region A and will NOT play on UK players. See here for confirmation: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Halloween-II-Blu-ray/46632/

I suggest either buying the region free 30th Anniversary edition (see here: http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Halloween-II-Blu-ray/19651/) or waiting for a decent UK release of this film.

DON'T BUY THE SHOUT FACTORY release unless you have a region-free or region-switchable blu-ray player as you will be very disappointed!

AMAZON STOP GROUPING ALL REVIEWS TOGETHER! It's a stupid policy that only leads to confusion and annoyance for your customers. Wise up and update your system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Later that same evening, 28 Nov 2011
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 2 [Blu-ray] [1981] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Whilst not the best nor worst of the series, Halloween II is a middling addition to the series but is far better than some of the later entries. The film follows directly on from the first, iconic John Carpenter movie - so much so that there are mere seconds between the end of the 1978 original and this sequel.

Several concepts are introduced in this film that play out throughout the subsequent movies, and the central characters become the focus of a new plot strand that was still running in H20 in 1998.

The disc. The print and transfer of this REGION FREE disc are the best I have ever seen the movie look. There is a pleasing amount of film grain - not excessive but present giving the overall presentation a filmic appearance. The soundtrack is suitably cleaned up to match the visuals.

The extras. The main reason many people (myself included) are buying this disc is for the full 1080p transfer of Terror in the Aisles a late 80s documentary featuring many clips of horror movies. This feature was released alone in cinemas, and on VHS and Laser disc, but is a very welcome addition to the HII package.

Overall the movie is the part of the disc that loses a point as its just not as good as the original (none of the sequels or re-imaginings have been, have they?)but I still heartily give it 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great disc., 20 Dec 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 2 [Blu-ray] [1981] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Having already got several copies of Halloween II the main draw for me to buy this disc was because it has the film "Terror In The Aisles" as a bonus.
This film has never been released on DVD or Blu Ray before and my old VHS copy from 1984 was beginning to get very worn indeed.
So it was a delight to be able to finally get it on disc.
Whilst no great effort has been made to clean up the image I can say that it is far better than my old VHS tape in both sound and picture and I have never seen it look better since I saw it at the cinema many years ago.
The feature presentation of Halloween II is a massive upgrade too on my DVD copies so this was a win/win disc for me.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2011 DVD Release Review, 19 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Iv owned this film on DVD for years and it was one of the worst DVDs I have ever bought.
It is full screen with picture and sound quality worse than ANY VHS I ever owned.
When I heard it was being re-released this October I had to buy it.
The film is now in widescreen with MUCH better picture and sound quality(although it remains in mono) and has an audio commentary by Stephen Jones and Kim Newman.
The film itself is a worthy sequel picking up the moment the first film ends, and it makes a perfect double bill.
For anyone who owns this on DVD (fullscreen) already, its well worth buying this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sequels dont get much better!, 30 Aug 2004
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Well... you watch Halloween and you get scared... you watch Halloween 2 and once again your scared. Which really is a suprise for a horror sequel. This really was one of the greatest eighties slasher.
When you see Michael walking past security cameras you see the full evil by the way he walks and how he looks. The way Michael kills is also different from Halloween as this time with him being in the hospital he uses the implimants like needles to drain peoples blood and other curious things.
The acting from the other character is not brilliant but the enchanting Jamie Lee Curtis delivers onces again an amazing performane while Donald Pleasance acts so well you would think he really was Doctor Loomis.
"From the people who brought you Halloween...
More of the night HE came home"
"You can't kill the Boogeyman"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bogey Man is back, 23 Aug 2004
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
Carries on from the first and I mean carries on it's the same night.Laurie Strode is transferred to the local hospital there Michael continue trick or treating in the form of killing anything with a pulse. Michael Myers is still scary to this day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 8 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Halloween II [DVD] (DVD)
This Halloween sequel is the best and better than the first. The places where they try to make you jump are perfect and made me jump every time quite an achievment that it still works 20 years later. The story is not confusing like in some of 'nightmare on elmstreet' ones and the special effects are perfect. If you have or are buying halloween you must by this sequel. It was first meant to be final part of the halloween series. It tells you why michael myers wants to kill Laurie Strode (Jamie lee Curtis) and it is all going back to when he killed his sister as a child. So buy this movie it is a dream for horror film lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of a Sequel, 14 Jun 2001
By 
moviemaniac@eircom.net (Castlebridge, Co. Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This is an absolutely brilliant horror film.It picks up exactly where the first one finishes, with Michael Myers still on the loose.This film is just more of the original, with the same suspense, tension, and the same kind of shocking murders, as Myers continues to stalk his sister, Laurie Strode(Jamie Lee Curtis) in a very dark and scary looking hospital. Donald Pleasance as ever is brilliant as Dr. Sam Loomis, and Jamie Lee Curtis proves again that she is the supreme scream queen.This is truly a great horror movie, helped by a great script, great cast and some very grizzly and gruesome killings(see the jacuzzi scene).This in my eyes is a real horror classic, up there with Halloween and the Scream Trilogy.GO BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 2 1981 Universal US Blu Ray, 12 Jan 2012
By 
M. Stewart "kimble" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halloween 2 [Blu-ray] [1981] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Let's get straight onto the blu ray review this US import is region free.

The HD picture is a mixed bag as it looks sharp and clear but their is signs of print damage present throughout the entire movie universal were to lazy to clean up and re-master the print.

The special features are good Terror in the aisles is the main special feature which will be very interesting to horror fans. plus their is deleted scenes from Halloween 2 as well.

Overall i think this is the best Halloween sequel and worth buying this blu ray if you are a fan of the original.

Take note their is also a shout factory US bd which is region a locked so make sure you buy the universal release from september 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hospital of Doom!, 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
John Carpenter has done it again with this truly amazing sequal!! The end of the first film was so freaky everybody wanted a sequal, and when it was made nobody was dissapointed! Most of the time sequals are pretty bad but HALLOWEEN II was just as scary as the first. The setting is perfect. The hospital (where Laurie Strode was taken to after her ordeal in the first) is so quiet that it is scary. You're always suspecting Michael Myers to jump out from somewhere and kill. John Carpenter decided to add in what the first film lacked, gore. This film is pretty gory and not for the faint-hearted. Brilliant performances once again by the 'Scream Queen' Jamie Lee Curtis and Donald Pleasence. There are a few memorable scenes and some interesting weapons eg. a scalpol! John Carpenter's HALLOWEEN II is definitely one of the best sequals in the world. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween 2 [Blu-ray] [1981] [US Import]
Halloween 2 [Blu-ray] [1981] [US Import] by Rick Rosenthal (Blu-ray - 2011)
13.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews