Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life in the law
Michael Mansfield's passion and enthusiasm for his job blazes throughout this well written review of the cases in which he has been involved over 40 years as a barrister. A staunch supporter of civil liberties, the author has almost always defended rather than taking on the prosecution role. The book covers such well known cases as the Birmingham 6, the Guildford 4, the...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A complex look into the Justice system
A fairly decent read from a lawyer with a moral conscience, the title of 'radical lawyer' may be a bit over descriptive . It takes the reader through some of the criminal justice systems more controversial trials and talks about the judiciaries role in accommodating bad law.
Published 3 months ago by jim hunter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, speedy delivery., 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very quick delivery. Brilliant price. Would definitely use this seller. I have just started reading the book so far it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good, 4 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Andrew Betts (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book wanting to read more about the author's legal work and the background to many of his high-profile cases. The first half of the book lived up to this expectation but then it becomes a bit of a left-wing rant and so I didn't bother reading the final third. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 28 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michael Mansfield comes across as a much more human person than the media portray him. Very interesting and an eye opener into his/our world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memoirs of a Radical Lawyer (Kindle Edition)
A pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Thank y Thank yo, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Miles Alura (London, Londom, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When my heart feels crushed by corruption, and my eyes fill with tears I read books, such as, this one, so I can fight another day for another child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memoirs of a Radical Lawyer, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present for a relative. Interesting coverage of some controversial recent trials. Mansfield believes Princess Diana was murdered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Memoirs of a radical lawyer, 1 Oct 2013
By 
C. S. Porteous (Birchington Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I often had Micharl Mansfield, the author of this book, against me in court, so I viewed it as one lawyers viewing another.
I bought the book because I knew what it was like to be against him often in court. I thought the book shows him in a better light than the one I saw in court. I prefer the book and perhaps I should recommend the book as a man revealing his view of himself and doing the view quite well. He like me will go into past and enjoy recollectiing what life in court is like.! I cannot recommend anyone to read the book who has .had him against them but others may well be pleased he wrote it!
Chris Porteous.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sound counsel, 20 Dec 2010
By 
Michael Mansfield was born in Whetstone, North London in 1941, the youngest of three brothers who called themselves "The Three Musketeers". He failed to get into Peterhouse, Cambridge, and only succeeded in getting into Keele to read philosophy under Anthony Flew after he travelled North to confront the admissions tutor and forced an impromptu appeal on him. He later read law in Gray's Inn, and was admitted to the Bar in 1967. He 'took silk', that is, elevated to the rank of Queen's Counsel, in 1989. The account of his childhood and youth in Mansfield's "Memoirs" was brief and the reader will find himself suddenly propelled into the world of court room battles. Mansfield was involved in many fascinating cases, all retold with clarity and a dash of humour and wit. The first major case to be revealed from the 'inside' was the case of Angela Cannings who was charged and initially convicted for the deaths of three of her infant children. Mansfield then gave a riveting of what most experienced criminal lawyers know, but many jury men and, perhaps even some judges, do not know - that forensic evidence such as fingerprint, handwriting, and earprinting analysis is not a science but an art. He explored the flaws in such evidence in each of these fields through three interesting cases. Not surprisingly, Mansfield had a lot to say about DNA and confessions as evidence.

The second half of his book was devoted to the heavyweight cases - the 1984 coal mine picket cases, the trial and appeals of the Birmingham Six, the trial and appeal of Barry Gerorge in connection with the murder of the news presenter, Jill Dando, the inquiry into the death of Princess Diana and Dodo Fayed. It was in the course of his highly publicised cases that he met the television documentary film maker, Yvette who he eventually married after his marriage to Melian failed.

This book is not just about famous cases, it also gives an intriguing look into the life and work of a top English criminal barrister. Mansfield provides a fair bit of the cross-examination in various cases so that the reader will have a clearer idea how cross-examination of witnesses is to be done. Fledgling lawyers will heed Mansfield's advice that the secret is in preparation.

Although the cases covered in Mansfield's long and famous career, he admitted that he was not always popular even among his peers, or the court, for he was perceived to be too much of a radical. He fought for lost causes, and the underdogs, but he thought that his friendship with Arthur Scargill and Anne Scargill (who was his age and shared the same birthday) was viewed with disapproval by conservative lawyers. Did that bother him? The last line of his book read: "I will continue to stand alongside those who struggle for peace, justice and truth."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solicitors and ladies of the night, 16 Dec 2010
By 
R. WALKER (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title to me suggests that they are in the same profession to make as much money as possible with their talents and if someone gets pleasure out of it then that's a bonus. The author states that early on in his career he decided that he would specalise in defence work the cynic in me thinks that there is more money to be had in defending than prosecuting just my opinion we also get the justification of the pro bono work the author would not do it unless there was something in it for him. Yes there are a lot of high profile cases, cases we all have heard about or read,and he gives a good insight into the background of them, Jill Dando, The Birmingham six etc. We also get a little of his family life,his journey to becoming a solicitor,his high profile cases and it is interesting to read. When I Googled him to find out some more about him I find that his memory of events is not as good as he thinks, he had to issue an apology to one of his clients in suggesting he was a bit of a cannibal either you are or your not,his client was not the publisher I believe is to recall some of the books already in the shops, mine's might be worth something as I have an original with the comments in it. I nearly gave up on the book on the last chapter but decided to read on it was the tragic story of John Charles De Menzes that part of his book is riviting if only to show how badly the security services got it wrong. The book for me jumps about a bit but the author explains that it is not a full blown case lawbook of all of his cases more a snap shots of his more high profile one.s not a book I will be re reading maybe the charity shop might get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Mansfield champion of the badly prosecuted., 1 Nov 2009
By 
Michael Mansfield,s book entitled Memoirs of a Radical Lawyer is an eye opener for those of us who maybe at some time are suspicious of trial outcomes and Police procedures, he is obviously a very talented trial defender and an accomplished author, the book makes most enjoyable and informative reading and should not be missed by those who wish to be aware of the full picture on some recent and not so recent high profile cases. Put this book on your essential reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memoirs of a Radical Lawyer
Memoirs of a Radical Lawyer by Michael Mansfield
5.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews