Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I've loved this film for years and kept on meaning to buy it on DVD The Boxer was a bonus, In The Name of The Father was my main reason for buying.

I love this film not just because of it's own gripping story line of injustice and long suffering, corruption and its historical importance but also because of the very real underlying story of father and son. I...
Published 10 months ago by Neffy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy
I ordered the box set mainly for in the name of the father. The boxer workd perfectly but the name of the father froze a number of times while watching. Really upset as it was purchased as a christmas presant. I will think twice about ordering off amazon again
Published 10 months ago by lou


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered the box set mainly for in the name of the father. The boxer workd perfectly but the name of the father froze a number of times while watching. Really upset as it was purchased as a christmas presant. I will think twice about ordering off amazon again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved this film for years and kept on meaning to buy it on DVD The Boxer was a bonus, In The Name of The Father was my main reason for buying.

I love this film not just because of it's own gripping story line of injustice and long suffering, corruption and its historical importance but also because of the very real underlying story of father and son. I know in real life they didn't share a cell but they still shared the bond of that common existence and experience and more importantly of the terrible miscarriage of justice which was brought upon them. One can only imagine the futility and frustration of being in that position and one can only imagine how it must have bonded together two people who perhaps may otherwise have not always seen eye to eye.

Just a real human story which is as emotive and enraging as it is entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely gift, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift but feel assured it will be just perfect . Very quick delivery and would recommend it to a friend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In the name of the father, 23 Mar 2013
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
I well remember the Guildford bombing when the IRA blew up a crowded public house that was often frequented by soldiers stationed nearby and how pleased everyone was when the perpetrators were seemingly caught and banged up for a very long time. It was only many years later that the public were gradually made aware by campaigners of the nature of the evidence against the Guildford Four and how it was gathered by the police. Two of the Guildford Four spent fifteen years in prison before being released after a retrial revealed that there had been a major miscarriage of justice. The miscarriage was made even worse as one of the convicted people, Guiseppe Conlon, died an innocent man in prison. At the time when the bomb went off in Guildford the two men who were supposed to have carried out the atrocity were in a London park with a homeless man whose statement to the police was never shown to the defence or anyone else for that matter and was only seen by accident many years later.

Daniel Day Lewis is great as Gerry Conlon who was a petty thief but no IRA bomber and Pete Postlethwaite is terrific as his father, the tragic figure of Guiseppe Conlon, an honest hard working man who like others were caught up in the affair because they were known to Gerry Conlon. Apparently, some of the scenes in the film never took place such as the Conlon's appearing to spend many years together in the same cell and this could weaken the film's authenticity in the eyes of some people but it does not alter the fact that a miscarriage of justice had certainly occured. Corin Redgrave is very good as the policeman in charge of the investigation who is desperate to put somebody away for the crime and it did not seem to bother him who it was and how it was done. It is a very well staged film, exciting and absorbing and it reinforces how fortunate we are that the situation in Northern Ireland is far more peaceful and that any repeat of such things is now highly unlikely.

After watching the film I could not help wondering not only about how many miscarriages of justice may have occured that we don't know about but also how many terrorists who have a lot of innocent blood on their hands spent so little time behind bars because they were released early as a result of the agreement between the British Government and the paramilitary groups in Northern Ireland. In order to get peace this was necessary but it still leaves a nasty taste in the mouth and I suppose it was the price some of the people living there had to pay to stop the bloodshed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantatsic films, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
have seen the film in the name of the father before but have now watched it for a second time and was every bit as good . highly recommended movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exerlent dvds, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
i chose this rateing because the dvds were exerlent quality. they arrived within the time period alloted i hadnot seen the boxer before but as usual danial day lewis was exerlent. i definetly think the dvds were great value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD] (DVD)
good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double: In The Name Of The Father/The Boxer [DVD]
£7.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews