Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Breathy and Atmospheric
Bruce Springsteen once wrote a song that was so breathily beautiful that it drew the listener in and with its acoustic guitar and atmospherics it just eased away the worries of the day. That song was Secret Garden. Imagine a whole album of that kind of intense beauty and arrangements and you are close to the wonder of Gracious Tide, Take Me Home. Acoustic guitars,...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Syriat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very low key
Not bad but a wee bit one dimensional. The songs are nice & dreamy but a bit more oomph is required
Published 12 months ago by mr kristian.m.keddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Breathy and Atmospheric, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
Bruce Springsteen once wrote a song that was so breathily beautiful that it drew the listener in and with its acoustic guitar and atmospherics it just eased away the worries of the day. That song was Secret Garden. Imagine a whole album of that kind of intense beauty and arrangements and you are close to the wonder of Gracious Tide, Take Me Home. Acoustic guitars, beautiful arrangements and an overall feeling of joy - that's what this album delivers in spades. There are occasional electronic swashes lots of strings but remember that Bruce Springsteen track because that's the sound and feeling here.

The two vocal parts just counterpart each other well and leave you loving a different track each time you listen. The only real departure from the airy and beautiful approach is A Kingdom which sounds a little like Arcade Fire and still works. Although if you want to compare it to anyone then Sigur Ros might be a decent bet. The crackles and background noises here add to the feel of the album and the atmospherics.

Overall this is going to be album of the year contender. It grows on each listen and it has the kind of beauty and heartfelt honesty that's been lacking in some offerings this year. This deserves to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lanterns on the Lake's Awesome Album is absolutely fantastic, yes it is!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful, cinematics breathtakingly wonderful album, everyone should have one. There is not a bad track on this album, it is marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ephemeral but lovely, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
Lanterns on the Lake are a musical sextet from Newcastle whose sound draws on elements of various bands and artists from the quirky folk of Tunng, the languid romanticism of Mazzy Star and the atmospheric, slowed down post-rock of Sigur Ros. The single word that springs to mind when listening to "Gracious Tide, Take Me Home" is "beautiful" ; from the precise and painstaking development of songs like the excellent opening "Lungs Quicken" to the beautifully delivered and constructed lyrics of singer Hazel Wilde (whose breathy, languid style is highly reminiscent of that of Hope Sandoval) beauty seeps from every pore of this album.

The arrangement is everything in these songs and whilst they might possibly just about stand up if strummed on an acoustic guitar because of the loveliness of Wilde's voice, the songwriting itself does not seem substantial but is wonderfully augmented by reverb-drenched piano, keyboards and guitar borrowed straight from Disintegration era Cure (especially on "If I've Been Unkind"). The combined effect of these elements is wonderful and dreamlike with an intimacy that draws the listener close and makes the album seem to stop time as it drifts by. If there is a slight (very slight) criticism of the album it could be that it suffers from the old Cocteau Twins curse of being a little too sugar-sweet : this listener at least longed for a little edge that never materialised.

Finally, it's worth noting that this is effectively a series of home recordings. The album was recorded in the homes of band members but music technology in 2011 is such that the listener would never guess that it wasn't a full studio effort.

Great stuff, highly recommended for fans of the bands mentioned above and perhaps for followers of Laura Gibson, Musee Mechanique, Cowboy Junkies and Low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
Took a chance and bought this based on the recommendation, not disappointed in the least. Lovely. Will look out for more of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars luscious layers of melancholy and sound, 4 April 2013
By 
P. J. Howarth (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of an Amazon recommendation, based on my previous buys and searches. Well, Amazon got it spot on this time. This is one of those rare discoveries that come out of nowhere and have a huge impact on your musical landscape.

Musically it is mostly laid back and ethereal, but there are also moments of wonderful intensity. The overall feeling is quite melancholic - but such a beautiful, gripping melancholy!

There are hints of post-rock (a la Sigur Ros), contemporary indie-folk and Cocteau Twins-y textures. And the fact it is on Bella Union also gives an indication of what to expect.

Basically it's lovely - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
Sorry for very late feedback. This was a present to my dad - Fantastic all round :) thank you again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant album and really love this band. I know they have a new album out in October and I cant wait to listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very low key, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
Not bad but a wee bit one dimensional. The songs are nice & dreamy but a bit more oomph is required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, 26 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
I rarely feel compelled to write music reviews but I really want to let the world know how fantastic this album is. I know little about the band and took a punt on purchasing, looking for some "new music" and noticing that one of their influences is Sigur Ros, a favourite band of mine.

The influence is in the music (although nowhere near as post-rock, obscure and ethereal as S.R. have become) but this is a beautiful understated work with two excellent vocalists and well judged peaks and troughs of music ranging from epic, grand to quiet, contemplative.

I think there is a huge future for this band- they may not be doing any new, possibly derivative of others (who's not?) but I can't think of any doing this type of music as well. I hope they tour near the South-West soon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sigur Ros crossed with Prefab Sprout, 17 July 2012
By 
Mr. J. Norris "radio ted" (Newton-le-Willows) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gracious Tide, Take Me Home (Audio CD)
I am so glad I came across this CD as it is a worthy contender for anyone's collection. There are plenty of atmospherics and deep, meaningful northern miserablism to keep most people happy of a certain ilk (me included, obviously).

It's reminiscent in parts of Sigur Ros's sonic landscapes as well as the breathy female singing that was a significant part of Prefab Sprout's distinctive sound.

Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gracious Tide, Take Me Home
Gracious Tide, Take Me Home by Lanterns On The Lake (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews