Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tune in your Tessellator
Daily Greet! Like a casserole of Vic & Bob, The Mighty Boosh, The Wicker Man, Garth Marenghi's Dark Place and Monty Python's Flying Circus - but really quite unlike any of those things, This Is Jinsy is the sort of madness that you will either love or loathe depending on your comedy preferences. This bizarre program seemed to land fully formed, steeped in it's own...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by W. Davidson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Culty, clever but doesn't really hit the mark
Blimey - I'm going out on a limb here and stating that I didn't find this series as hilarious as I'd expected. I thought it would be a mash up of The League of Gentlemen, Psychoville and Spaced but it sadly wasn't. The DVD included eight episodes plus the original pilot - I gave up watching during episode six. There are some genuinely funny moments in it though -...
Published on 13 May 2012 by SilentSinger


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tune in your Tessellator, 18 Nov 2011
By 
W. Davidson (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
Daily Greet! Like a casserole of Vic & Bob, The Mighty Boosh, The Wicker Man, Garth Marenghi's Dark Place and Monty Python's Flying Circus - but really quite unlike any of those things, This Is Jinsy is the sort of madness that you will either love or loathe depending on your comedy preferences. This bizarre program seemed to land fully formed, steeped in it's own mythology of the isle of Jinsy and its population ruled over by Arbiter Maven and his right-hand man Operative Sporall. Instructions, news, and even punishments, are communicated via Tessellators (which can also watch the 791 residents) in every home and throughout the land. Each show is peppered with musical numbers, weather reports and other obscurities. It's also rather hilarious.

Look out for guest stars such as David Tennant as Mr Slightlyman, Peter Serafinowicz as cupboard salesman Eric Dunt who is mistaken for a diety and Catherine Tate as the editor of Glove Hygiene Monthly. One of the best shows on 2011. Nightly Bye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tesselation Repord for the 4 of threesday, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
Do you ever imagine what would happen if in the late 70's a large group of Monty Python fans had grouped together and bought an island to create their own community. How would their society have grown and flourished, and what the place would look like after a couple of centuries.

WELCOME TO JINSY!

Part authoritarian wonderland where people are watched at all times by their Tesselators, which at the same time can be used at any moment by Joon Boolay (Harry Hill in drag) to levy a mild electrical fine for wrongdoing. Part demonstration of what happens when tradition is allowed to run rampant ("But Sporrel Post Pigs are what make Jinsy Jinsy!"). The Island of Jinsy is a manic and sometimes insane place, but most importantly it is an entertaining place!

By the time you have finished watching the series you are left with a lingering wish to learn more about the obviously bonkers inhabitants of the place.

The series is excellently put together and features a great number of the British comedy greats in smaller roles, it also contains some of the best comedy songs I have heard in a very long time. Of these my particular favourite "Soup of the Gods" sounds like Ziggy Stardust era Bowie, if all Bowie had really wanted was some Lovely tomato soup and a crusty roll.

It is difficult to put a finger on what makes Jinsy so great, but take it from me it is truly great.

So says the Great He (Jinsy praise him...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best British comedy in years., 31 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
The songwriting skills of Neil Innes at his best, the intelligent madness of Spike Milligan and an inventiveness that defies description, these are just a few of the elements that make This is Jinsy the best British comedy for many years. Justin Chubb and Chris Bran are to be congratulated on an original character based comedy that has joined sit-com to sketch-show with a joyful confidence and utter success under the superb direction of Matt Lipsey. The series is supported by a sureal design team led by Nic Pallace the captures an entire world of insane parallel development.

The highlights are almost too numerous to mention, but gold stars have to go to the entirely too beleivable civil service banter and by-play between the two main protagonists that occassionaly riffs on Yes, Minister for the niceties of political structure formalities; Harry Hill as the sadistic Dominatrix punishment manager; The Jinsy Singers for some entirely too complex harmonies; Alice Lowe as the darkly frustrated yet interestingly sensual Tessellator engineer; the narcoleptic historian; David Hatton as the Weather Monk Tracee Henge, surely Spike Milligan on top Goon Show gibberish form reincarnated; songs you find yourself humming three weeks later; Simon Callow, Kevin Eldon, Jane Horrocks, Nigel Planer, Jennifer Saunders, Peter Serafinowicz, Catherine Tate, David Tennant and Don Warrington playing completely off the wall in guest roles.

It all makes a kind of mad sense, suspension of disbelief is entrely too easy, not to mention enjoyable as you immerse yourself in a very different normality. You can't help but laugh all the way through, each episode has gem moments, but the overall absurdity is a giggle form start to finish. Bravo, more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jinsy praise him, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
This Is Jinsy [DVD]
slighty odd in places and a who's who of celebrity cameo's (this is jinsy)is excellent to sit back and relax with.
by the end of the series you feel as if the island of jinsy is a real place,no small part in thanks to both chris bran and justin chubb who play the parts of arbiter maven and his assitant sporall excellently as well as guesting as other parts with the unrequieted love factor of soosan noop played by alice lowe.which hopefully will be answered in a second series?
and maybe a glimpse of the (great he) jinsy praise him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got everything you want and more. It's not what you thought, it's a lot more than that. THE MYSTERY POND!!!!!, 5 April 2014
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
This Is Jinsy was created by Chris Bran and Justin Chubb, both scions of the island of Guernsey. Jinsy is a kind of utterly insane alternative reality Jersey/Guernsey, reflected in the portmanteau name, and the Rorschach test blot of the map of the island, which appears on the screens of the sinister parking meter like tesselator machines dotted around the island and placed within resident's chalets which spy on the populace even as they broadcast propaganda and bizarre entertainment, looks eerily similar to the outline of Jersey.

Jinsy is ultimately ruled, apparently, by the unseen Great He - Jinsy praise him (leg salute). Arbiter Maven (Chubb) rules in his name, assisted with total lack of enthusiasm by Sporall Lertock (Bran), the only normal person among the island's population of 791 (a fixed number). Regular guy Sporall would in all likelihood prefer to escape the island if he could, hand in hand with Maven's strangely attractive dogsbody Soosan Noop, but the romantically frustrated Ms Noop only has eyes for Arbiter Maven. The self-important Maven however only has eyes for himself.

Whether consciously or unconsciously, TIJ taps into many other comedy tropes, such as the excruciating dullness of small island life of "Father Ted", the consanguine xenophobic grotesques of "League of Gentlemen" and even a totalitarian "Hi-Di-Hi" holiday camp. Beyond comedy there are the Orwellian elements of Terry Gilliam's "Brazil", the state keeping track of its citizens via futuristic technology which nevertheless looks hopelessly antiquated, and of The Prisoner, with the Great He - Jinsy praise him (leg salute) as the elusive Number One, Maven as Number Two and Sporall as Number Six, and the dark world of Gormenghast where arcane rituals whose origins have faded from memory pointlessly rule people's lives.

Yet it's more than the sum of such parts, and should be credited with originality rather than being purely derivative. TIJ also partakes heavily in the welcome revival in recent times of musical comedy, and the songs will run through your mind for days on end ("It's cold and it's wet, and it looks just like an onion..."). This Is Jinsy is absurd, surreal comedy gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Licky Licky Licky, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
It seems like the majority of reviewers have made the connection between This is Jinsy and any number of British Comedy predecessors. The League Of Gentlemen, Monty Python, Spike Milligan, Little Britain. It hardly seems fair that this piece of surrealist comedy gold should only be defined by the legendary exponents who have preceded it. But, on the other hand, it is inescapable that Jinsy should be compared in that way. It follows a long tradition of British silliness, complex, madcap, whimsical, surreal and, quite probably, incomprehensible to Johnny Foreigner. You'll also find a liberal dose of Wodehouse (whom I've never read, but TiJ just /feels/ Wodehousian), Reeves & Mortimer (ditto), The Fast Show, Big Train, Look Around You... and I could go on.

If any of those shows appeal to you, then the strange lives of Arbiter Maven, his long suffering (and strangely normal) assistant Sporral and of the catastrophically inbred islanders that they administer will tickle your fancy. The tesselator-delivered entertainment that quiets the masses (all 571 of them) will set you chuckling (it had me crying with laughter in places) such as; Sandy's Choice (a sort of Jinsy's Got Talent, but with a dog, instead of Simon Cowell - a huge improvement if you ask me), PamEric (a Regency Melodrama that would have set Jane Austen weeping with despair), and Punisment Roundup (in which a disturbingly attractive dragged-up Harry Hill administers "mild electricals" to the island's recidivists - "So that's not good...") and The Wedding Lottery (whereby Jinsy's porridge-like gene pool is stirred).

Like so many good shows, comedy or otherwise, much value is added by the weekly celebrity cameo, so look for David Tennent, Catherine Tate, Jane Horrocks, Simon Callow, Kevin Eldon, Don Warrington, Nigel Planer, Peter Serafinowicz and Brian Murphy.

This is inspired stuff. Inspired by the genius of others, as has been noted, but truly inspired nonetheless. I would like to think that, one day, it will sit alongside them rather than beneath them, It also has the taste of Marmite as another reviewer has pointed out, so take a look on YouTube before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love Jinsy but it is probably not to everyones taste. I'd look at some of their stuff on youtube before purchasing this if you are not already familiar with it. I love the songs and they have an extra section that is set up like Karaoke on the DVD with the words coming up as you sing. They are so silly that it is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange but oh so funny..., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
This will certainly not be to everyone's taste, in much the same way as Monty Python wasn't and this analogy rings true because without a shadow of a doubt, many elements were borrowed from that classic. Fortunately the other thing it remembered to do was be funny! Weird, yes, but very funny in places.

Also I live in Guernsey (the place this is based on... although it feels a little more like Alderney mixed with Sark to me) and I can say it is scarily accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Culty, clever but doesn't really hit the mark, 13 May 2012
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
Blimey - I'm going out on a limb here and stating that I didn't find this series as hilarious as I'd expected. I thought it would be a mash up of The League of Gentlemen, Psychoville and Spaced but it sadly wasn't. The DVD included eight episodes plus the original pilot - I gave up watching during episode six. There are some genuinely funny moments in it though - especially the visual gag surrounding the policeman's business card and the guest and main cast were brilliant. Maybe it just isn't my thing, after all I never really `got' Vic and Bob in the 1990s - sigh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, off the wall comedy with a British twist, 5 July 2014
By 
M. newbold (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This is Jinsy [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant British humour! I want to live in Jinsy - the residents are quirky and have absolutely no fashion sense whatsoever, so I would fit in perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is Jinsy [DVD]
This is Jinsy [DVD] by Matt Lipsey (DVD - 2011)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews