Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will they make more?
This is exactly what the BBC do brilliantly, a gentle, pleasant british comedy. It is an unusual setting for a comedy, but the laid back warm summery countryside and varied characters just draw you in, it almost makes you want to join a walking club. These three episodes have been stored on my Sky box since it aired and have been watched again and again. I am still hoping...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by Music Man

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too short
I enjoyed this series, but with only 3 episodes and a total run time of 87min, I was rather disapointed. By the time i was getting into it, it was over.
Published on 15 April 2012 by P. A. Tamblyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will they make more?, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
This is exactly what the BBC do brilliantly, a gentle, pleasant british comedy. It is an unusual setting for a comedy, but the laid back warm summery countryside and varied characters just draw you in, it almost makes you want to join a walking club. These three episodes have been stored on my Sky box since it aired and have been watched again and again. I am still hoping they will make more, but in the meantime I can free up some space on my Sky box with this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good comedy series about ramblers. Honest !, 16 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good, well written, well observed comedy. It has excellent actors, and good location filming. It remained a 'sleeper' I suspect, because, one, the general public possibly couldn't believe there could be anything funny about rambling, and two, why only three episodes for the first series (suspicions that the producers lost faith)? Mind you, with the very respectable cast, perhaps they couldn't get them together for that long. Mark Heap (Green Wing) plays Bob, the leader of the failing Mid-Bucks Walking Club with a membership of three; himself, his long-suffering teenage daughter Hazel (played well by newcomer Gwyneth Keyworth), and his friend Tom (Steve Edge- Phoenix Nights), playing an unemployed, slightly psychotic army deserter. In an effort to drum up membership, Bob does a bit of local advertising, and along come a selection of disparate characters: Victor (Joe Tracini), a classmate of Hazel, who only attends because he has a crush on her, Joe (Stephen Wight- Whites, Threesome, & the tour guide in the recent 'Baskerville' episode of BBC's Sherlock), a feckless work-shy individual inexplicably still (but only just) in a relationship with Sophie (Katherine Parkinson- The I.T. Crowd, Bleak Old Shop Of Stuff), who disappointed in his unwillingness to commit, starts to place her affections on Victor! But the newest member, who proves to be Bob's nemesis, is Christine (Ruth Jones- Gavin & Stacey), who has both an answer and a gadget for every conceivable rambling eventuality, much to the annoyance of Bob, especially when she tries to usurp him as walk leader! Given another chance, a brave slot on BBC1, this could take off. I hope the Beeb gives it another chance, because it's good, especially if you've ever rambled ! Besides, I still want to know why Christine had to leave Barnstaple !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too short, 15 April 2012
By 
P. A. Tamblyn "Phill735" (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series, but with only 3 episodes and a total run time of 87min, I was rather disapointed. By the time i was getting into it, it was over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Heap-comic genius, 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
Comedy gems like this don't get made much for tv anymore.It will probably never be shown on airtime again,so if you're a fan of Mark Heap,add it to your collection.Its a gentle comedy that moves along nicely.You don't have to be a rambler to enjoy it and if you live in Barnstaple like i do you'll enjoy some of the jokes even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pastural comedy, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after my brother kept quoting from it during conversation and hence i needed to know what he was on about! I really enjoyed the gentle pace, comedy and scenery and was disappointed that the dvd had only 3 episodes on it.... a shame as i had just got into it. Perfect tv for a Sunday afternoon with a great cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic comedy, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny comedy that slipped under the radar when it was viewed on the BBC, a real classic.
The Great Outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for walking groups, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this very tongue in cheek look at the struggle for power within a walking group. Great characters, lovely scenery and fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice easy going British comedy, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed it, it's a shame the series was so short, I was just getting into the series when it ended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
This was brilliant, but we were disapointed as it was very short.

Hope they will make another series or two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Outdoors [DVD] (DVD)
Great item & price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Outdoors [DVD]
The Great Outdoors [DVD] by Ruth Jones (DVD - 2011)
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews