Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring insight from a new point of view
Paxman has taken an interesting approach in order to discover the British Empire from a variety of perspectives and thus trying to highlight the ideals, power relations and the forms of organisation at work to both cretae and control such a vast territory. Travelling to a number of places himself, he interviews the descendants of those that still experienced British rule...
Published on 29 April 2012 by Bluebell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but disjointed
I was looking forward to watching Empire and understanding far more about our imperial roots. The series did allow me to understand more in an engaging way however the structure of the episodes meant it lacked continuity and jumped about alot. I feel the series would of been easier to follow if it had followed a timeline of the empires growth and fall rather than topic...
Published 10 months ago by Ian Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring insight from a new point of view, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
Paxman has taken an interesting approach in order to discover the British Empire from a variety of perspectives and thus trying to highlight the ideals, power relations and the forms of organisation at work to both cretae and control such a vast territory. Travelling to a number of places himself, he interviews the descendants of those that still experienced British rule themselves, while interspercing today's points of view with tales about certain historical events that were decisive in the rise and fall of British rule. A DVD that is both informative and entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing & Fantastic Documentary on the British Empire, 24 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
Jeremy Paxman's BBC documentary on the British Empire takes the viewer on a journey that is epic, inspiring, shocking, at times shaming - but at other times awe-inspiring. Paxman skilfully illuminates many interesting events that are little known about by most people, such as the Opium Wars, the rubber trade - mixing a grand historical narrative with personal interactions (in his own unique style) with everyday folk who are relevant to the overall part of the story being related. One is left with the insight, that for better or for worse, the British Empire, which was so vast, & so very British, has shaped the world irreversibly in its image. The series leaves one excited & thrilled for the next instalment & episode of Empire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful documentary, 4 April 2012
By 
LC (Hong Kong, Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't watched the DVDs but I've watched the whole series on BBC. This is a wonderful series. While curry has become part of British national food, not everyone knows much about the culture and history of its ex-colonies. Paxman did a great job in introducing us on both the good and bad deeds of the empire. The British Empire did bring harm, violence and slavery in a lot of places, but it also brought modernization to its colonies too. I'm a student from Hong Kong, and we Hong Kong people are grateful to the British rule which brought us law system, education and infrastructure. It is good to see the story from British's perspective and it is actually the first time I get to know about the history of the other ex-colonies of the British Empire.

What I find not enough is how the local people react to the post-colonial era. e.g. what's the legacy of British rule in Africa or South Asia? The division of India, Bangladesh and Pakistan is much of a result of the last years of British rule. How did it affects the current relationship of these countries? Are there still a lot of racial problems left behind in South Africa? British's short occupation of Tibet is not discussed in the series. Although Tibetans died fighting with British, the British period was actually a time that Tibetan enjoyed a bit more freedom, in compare to the current China's rule. What is also lacking is how Hong Kong people think about the "handover" to China. HK citizens didn't have a say in the whole handover process. While the communist China regard it as the "return" of Hong Kong, we regard it more as the "fall" of Hong Kong, and it is now obvious that the freedom of press is oppressed. We are not freed from colonization, but being re-colonized by a much more ruthless regime. And I wished he had talk a bit more about the confusing nationality of British passports. Different ex-colonies are given different treatments. While some ex-colonies' citizens have the right of abode in UK, some of them don't. Some countries joined the Commonwealth, and Commonwealth remains an important global alliance. And the Empire has made English the global language. It might worth more investigation on how English is used in different countries. e.g. While it became the official language of Singapore, Singaporean developed a particular dialect of Singlish that they used in their daily life. While English is merely a tool language in Hong Kong, and people speak Cantonese in daily life. However, given the length of the series, I think it is a very good introduction to the Empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to reflect, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
This is an interesting and challenging TV series that faces up to the legacy and responsibility of Empire. Not a shock attack on PC views and not a dismissal of history. You may not agree with everything Paxman says. But he does not sit on the fence and you have food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explains a lot about our heritage..., 6 May 2012
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
This 2 DVD set provides an insight into Britain's past and goes some way to explaining a lot about its' heritage and contemporary culture. The series covers the geographical/political issues as well as explaining the origin of some of the stereotypical perceptions of the British such as their "sense of fair play" etc. Empire also portrays the exploitation, discrimination, and, in some aspects, the political ineptitude of the British Empire.

No one is condoning many of the things that were done in establishing and running the Empire, however, as some of the indigenous people interviewed for the series make clear, there were, arguably, some positive aspects to what the British tried to achieve. The British motivation and aspirations around the Empire need to be seen in the context of what was a very different world to the one we live in now. I have docked a star on the basis that I think Jeremy Paxman could have been more balanced in this aspect of his coverage.

In summary, this DVD set does serve to show much about where contemporary Britain has evolved from. It also chronicles the creation of what are now some of the globe's most powerful economies. The production quality is excellent, and, it is an atmospheric, thought provoking and insightful set of DVDs. (The run time is just under 5 hours in total). Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 10 July 2012
By 
Rodney Stephens "Rosskernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
A greast series, so much I wanted to get a copy, never has our Empire been explained so well and the effects it still has on our everyday lives. Brilliant Jeremy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but disjointed, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Ian Gibson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to watching Empire and understanding far more about our imperial roots. The series did allow me to understand more in an engaging way however the structure of the episodes meant it lacked continuity and jumped about alot. I feel the series would of been easier to follow if it had followed a timeline of the empires growth and fall rather than topic based headings that loosely held the episodes together. However one to watch for those looking to understand more about our imperial past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colonialism Explained., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
Very absorbing and quite addictive. Some of my international friends now know why the British act the way we do in certain circumstances. Paxman is a thorough presenter and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An excessively journalistic view..., 26 Mar 2013
By 
Andy Mold (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
I confess I haven't seen the whole series - just episode 1 - but I'm afraid it is a bit of a disappointment, in the sense that the story line is all over the place. In one episode, Paxton takes us from the 1763 Paris agreement that 'gave' India to the British, all the way up to Laurence of Arabia and the Balfour Declaration. There is no background to British expansionism into the rest of the world (e.g. the American colonies), and the chronological jumps just confuse, rather than illuminate. Simon Schama's History of Britain was much more structured in its episode on colonialism. Paxton is a great journlist, no doubt about it, but as with Andrew Marr, journalists venturing into the realms of history can be a mistake ....they are good at finding the right people to interview and find good stories to tell, but lack the overview to give the whole thing sense and provide deeper understanding. Still, I will watch the other episodes, and see if things improve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb video Jeremy Paxman at his very best. Entertaining as well as informative and a new ..., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire [DVD] (DVD)
A superb video Jeremy Paxman at his very best. Entertaining as well as informative and a new slant on how we Created the Empire. Each video lasts for about 50 minutes and holds you spellbound |Quality very good both from filming to sound.

A very enjoyable journey and if you are into British History this is a must for you.

Terry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire [DVD]
Empire [DVD] by Jeremy Paxman (DVD - 2012)
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews