Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Family Film
Red Dog is a brilliant film and one which can be watched over and over. Scenery is stunning and soundtrack is amazing. There were a few tears shed watching it...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by dr garry reilly

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable Family Film
"Red Dog" is a film based on a true story about a Western Australian stray dog who unites a rough mining town with his winning personality. It's a bit like "Greyfriars Bobby" in places as the dog will only let one man be his master. However once his master dies in tragic circumstances the dog goes wandering over the north west of Australia (and bizarrely Japan) in search...
Published on 26 Feb 2012 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Family Film, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Red Dog is a brilliant film and one which can be watched over and over. Scenery is stunning and soundtrack is amazing. There were a few tears shed watching it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ozzie movie, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this film. A great ensemble cast playing a wide range of outback misfits and battlers, and a structure that looks back over lots of little vignettes in Red Dog's amazing life - some funny, some sad, all very moving and beautifully done. Red Dog himself is hilarious and full of character. As soon as the movie finished I just wanted to watch it again. As a dog lover, I was a bit worried that I'd find it too sad, but it's not. It shows life in all its flawed glory - from the tragic, to the beautiful, to the ridiculous. A wonderful film set against the broad sweeping expanse of Western Australia's red dust in the '70s. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this film!, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Even if hounds aren't your thing, this robust and unsentimental Aussie offering is a fine antidote to Disneyfied canine schmaltz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
This was filmed very close to where I currently live in Western Australia and the scenery as well as the big personalities of the locals come across in bucketloads. Plenty of laughs and tears in the eyes. A sweet story which doesn't get too sugary. The knitting scene might be my favourite funny bit from the film. If I could do one thing to improve the film, I would dub the American lead actor into a New Zealand accent (lovely as his voice is), to get it more like the book and also reality - Kiwis are everywhere here but Americans are rare as hen's teeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable Family Film, 26 Feb 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
"Red Dog" is a film based on a true story about a Western Australian stray dog who unites a rough mining town with his winning personality. It's a bit like "Greyfriars Bobby" in places as the dog will only let one man be his master. However once his master dies in tragic circumstances the dog goes wandering over the north west of Australia (and bizarrely Japan) in search of him before returning to his adopted home. Most of the main characters have big hearts and are likeable and the cinematography in the film is memorable. "Red Dog" is a good,down to earth, often funny film, ideal for a family afternoon out at the cinema, or a quiet night in when the DVD comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
If you love dogs, you will love this film. The dog Koko that plays Red Dog is fantastic, very charasmatic and should win an Oscar! Very touching, funny, and a well told story. Massive hit here in Australia, I hope it gets released soon in the UK as I want to order it and send it to some friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feel good movie with something for everyone, 26 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite movie ever!
had watched it whilst working on a boat several times and had to buy it - it has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny film, with a poignant ending!, 19 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. TC Kong (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
A lonely truck driver turns on the radio while driving down a long, straight road late one evening. He finally approaches his destination of Dampier, a remote mining town in the outback of Western Australia, and pulls up at a motel just outside the town.

He goes and knocks on the door of the motel reception. When he gets no reply, he strolls over to the nearby bar; inside, he sees a group of men silhouetted through a frosted glass screen, all of them shouting and one of them apparently drawing a gun. Thinking a murder is about to take place, the truck driver rushes round the screen in a bid to intervene, only to see most of the men holding down a sick dog, and the one holding the gun is a police officer. The truck driver backs off into the bar, unsure as to what he's just witnessed. One of the men turns out to be the bar keeper, and comes round to serve the truck driver, and explain what was happening round the back.

Thus begins the story of Red Dog [DVD]. As the film progresses, a number of the locals gather round and relate their own tales of their beloved Red Dog, and how he became an integral part of their community.

The film is based on a novel by Louis de Bernieres ("Captain Corelli's Mandolin"), who in turn based it on a true story as recounted by two books of the same name, one by Nancy Gillespie, the other by Beverly Duckett. De Bernieres, himself, was inspired to write his novel while he was attending a literary function in Perth, Western Australia. According to de Bernieres, "part of the arrangement was that [he] should go to Karratha to do their first ever literary dinner." During his stay, he came across the statue of Red Dog outside Dampier, and met several of the people who had stories about Red Dog to tell.

I have just watched an advanced UK cinema screening of Red Dog [DVD]; I found it to be hilarious, while tempered with several poignant scenes along the way. In fact, this is the second movie I have EVER watched that has moved me to tears at the end. (The other was The Bucket List [DVD] [2008].) But don't worry, the film does have a happy ending. I'm sure I'll go to see it again when it comes out on general release next week. I'll certainly be buying the DVD when it finally comes out this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film, 10 May 2013
By 
Paul A. Mclean "Goffman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dog [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I initially saw this film as a rental from Love Film. I had not read any reviews previous to renting, so all I knew was it was about a dog in Australia. What an absolute delight it is to watch. Without going into the details of the film it basically tells the story of Red Dog. who was adopted by the mine workers in Dampier, Western Australia. The film has a quirky feel to it, and a great soundtrack that compliments the situations and emotions (of which there are many). I suppose the greatest compliment you can ever give a film is that you buy it in order that you can revisit it time and time again. Hence I now possess a Blu Ray copy and have watched it several times, and it still does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely film, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dog [DVD] (DVD)
A great film It was nice to watch a film that is pleasant , with no swearing ,violence , etc .
A wonderful family film with laugh out loud moments plus a few tissues may be needed
And this was based on a true story I have watched it twice .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dog [DVD]
Red Dog [DVD] by Kriv Stenders (DVD - 2012)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews