Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film with unexpected depth and emotions
(See synopsis above)
This is a very touching and wonderful film about a promiscuous gay man Christian (Wes Ramsey) who makes a bet with his friends that he will sleep with one of the Mormon boys, Aaron, who has moved into his block. Yet the more Christian gets to know Aaron (played beautifully by Steve Sandvoss) the more he realises what a superficial and shallow...
Published on 20 Mar 2006 by H. R. Trigg

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better!
Interesting story line but a missed opportunity. I expected this movie to be above the typical gay low budget offering but at times it struggled with its credibility. The acting was sometimes wooden or over exaggerated and I was unsure if this is how the Mormon religion deals with homosexuality. Although not a Mormon I felt the factual accuracy of a religion based movie...
Published on 3 Nov 2005 by WJAJH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film with unexpected depth and emotions, 20 Mar 2006
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
(See synopsis above)
This is a very touching and wonderful film about a promiscuous gay man Christian (Wes Ramsey) who makes a bet with his friends that he will sleep with one of the Mormon boys, Aaron, who has moved into his block. Yet the more Christian gets to know Aaron (played beautifully by Steve Sandvoss) the more he realises what a superficial and shallow life he leads, and begins to fall in love with the Mormon lad (who is suppressing his homosexual tendencies). Once the ‘church’ finds out about Aaron’s sexuality, he not only has to deal with his own issues with being gay but also the repercussions within his Mormon family and church. This film really surprised me; it’s got a real heart to it, and deals with the subject matter in a sensitive and respectful way. I must admit to shedding some tears during the film and it’s the kind of film you can watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 3 April 2006
This is a very touching and wonderful film about a promiscuous gay man Christian (Wes Ramsey) who makes a bet with his friends & coworkers that he will sleep with one of the Mormon missionaries, Aaron, who has just moved into his block. Yet the more Christian gets to know Aaron (Steve Sandvoss) the more he realises what a superficial and shallow life he has, and starts to fall in love with Aaron. This film really surprised me; it's got a real heart to it, and deals with the subject matter in a sensitive and respectful way. I must admit to shedding some tears during the film and it's the kind of film you can watch over and over again. I have no bad thing to say about this film so rent it, buy it do what ever but see it you wont regret it;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Funny, Sad, 4 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to watch this film again immediately it had finished. It was funny and sad in equal amounts. I haven't cried watching a film in years but this one had me bawling towards the end.
Steve Sandvoss plays the shy yet interested young man very well. Wes Ramsey too plays the shallow gay man on the scene and puls off the look. Great to see Jacqueline Bisset playing a good role again too.
The film highlights a number of points which is that gay men are often more concerned about looks and that maybe we all do look towards the door for something better to come along.
I recommend this film to everyone - although I guess if you are Mormon you may have to get through some barriers before seeing the merits of the film.
Despite it's low budget this film shines out from a lot of mediocre releases from hollywood last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A touching personal story, 18 Jan 2006
By A Customer
I'm finding it really hard to summarize my feelings about this film. It's really a classic love tale, about two people who have to strive against the odds, against two cultures and against tragedy to be with each other. The tenderness between Aaron and Christian always gets to me and I end up crying! This is somewhat marred when one listens to the commentary by the two leading actors, who say that they've 'blocked out' the memories of the love-scenes they did, as if they were repulsed by them - hardly helpful when you watch these scenes again.
The acting, I think, is very good, especially Mary Kay Place as Aaron's mother, and Joseph Gordon-Levitt does a great job at being the git you love to hate.
Latter Days was made on a small budget, and sometimes it shows, in the sets and the sparse numbers of extras; this however adds to the simplicity and sincerity of the film, and helps in making the story more character-based.
On the whole the script is quick and witty, but the dialogue can seem a bit contrived sometimes (e.g. Christian's heart-to-heart with Lila towards the end of the film). But this is only a minor hitch in comparisson with the film's major strength - SINCERITY. C. Jay Cox's sincerity is a tangible and powerful element here, and it drives the whole thing forward. His memories and experience of Mormon culture are omni-present, and you can tell that this is a story straight from the heart. He succeeds in being judgmental without ever being bitter or uncharitable. His effort is a great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FILM OF MIRROR IMAGES, 7 Mar 2008
Quite a moving experience.For one, as the effect this film ultimately depends on how the viewer perceives and understands homosexuality either in the third or first person point of view. Secondly, unless one vastly knows about, has lived or is living in the US, the dazzling portrayal of local colour which reflects a cross section of it's society may fail to shine through.

Aaron (brilliantly played by Steve Sandvoss),a young Mormon with suppressed homosexual tendencies from the American midwest is assigned to do missionary work in Los Angeles. There he gets to know Christian (an absolutely superb Wes Ramsey)a beautiful but shallow typical West Hollywood type gay. On a bet from his friends, he also embarks on a mission to add Aaron to his long list of sexual conquests. In the course of getting to know each other, Chris holds a mirror to Aaron forcing him to accept his sexual orientation in the same way that Aaron holds a mirror to let Christian see the superficiality of the life he opted for. What starts out as a bet unlocks the feelings they hold for each other which despite the tears, pain and heartache makes them realize for whom each was meant for.

Emotionally, this is not a quiet film. Exquisitely layered, it not only lets the viewer partake in the constant swing of emotions that pendles through the story but as well as give us quite an intimate close-up of a a certain sector of American society. Sandvoss does a very moving potrayal of Aaron who is torn between duty to his church,family and to himself. He portrays his character with such an awesome endearing naivete that one cannot help but simply love him and, for the jaded viewer could possibly wake the desire for a simpler, more truthful life. Ramsey as Christian portrays your average West Hollywood gay to perfection. Very good-looking,fun-loving,camp and a very superficial. Ramsey's tour de force however is the superb transition his character makes from empty being to that of a person of substance. Jacqueline Bisset who has come back from what seems like a very long hiatus as Lila delivers a delicately understated performance. The rest of the cast also contribute to the fascinatingly complex honesty of this film. A wonderful cinematic work that has no need to hide its light behind a bushel and which should belong to any gay cineaste's collection. Definitely worth your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Part of a L.D.S. Heritage Mormon Family, I Can Tell You that This Film Rightly Portrays Mormonism's Gay-Bashing Rigidity!, 24 Nov 2006
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
So many other Amazon.ca reviews of "Latter Days" (T.L.A. Releasing TLAD-084, in the North American edition that I own) have said enough about most aspects of this wonderful film, that I just want to limit my comments to the very genuine realism of the movie's depiction of the Church [i.e. cult] of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The maternal side of my family hails from Utah, my mother having been born in Salt Lake City, and when she reverted to the L.D.S. cult (having been physically tortured as a young child into becoming a member of a Baptist sect by the third of my Mormon grandfather's many, many wives, most of whom were not Mormon, thankfully, though crazed enough in other ways) she dragged my step-father, half-brother, half-sister, and me into the L.D.S. cult along with her.

Some folks will think that this motion picture's portrayal of the L.D.S. Mormon cult surely is exaggerated. Not so. This is far from either morbid Mormon-bashing, on the one hand, or from laugh-provoking humour at Mormon expense; of the latter sort of thing, one thinks of the scene in the gay erotic video, "The Bella Villa" (a William Higgins International production), in which a persistent doorbell ringer interrupts two naked gay men, the young man at the door resembling at first glance a pesky L.D.S. Mormon missionary (alone, however, not with a companion along to missionise together!), but who turns out to be either a dildoe-delivery dude or door-to-door salesman of such sex toys. The depressing depiction of L.D.S. Mormonism (which requires no overstatement to make its impact) in "Latter Days" is right in detail, in mood, in its repressiveness, in the uptight culture that this cult breeds in every way (and which, incidentally, do not compensate adequately for such good aspects of L.D.S. Mormonism as its zeal for higher education and its appealing hymnody and choral tradition that are so musically notable).

I wept when I saw this film, so true to my memories and extensive knowledge of L.D.S. Mormonism is this movie. The scene of the "church trial" that the wayward gay missionary undergoes is unbelievably, suffocatingly, and realistically evocative of the funeral home decor, gloom, and stifling atmosphere of a L.D.S. "ward" or "stake" house (i.e. the equivalent of what would be a local church or meeting house in Christian terms), of the legalistic, unbending self-righteousness of the bishop and elders judging the gay missionary without even the slightest trace of human compassion or understanding, and all the rest of the "kangaroo court" proceedings of this scene. However, it is when the lad frees himself at last from his Mormon bondage and joins up with his non-Mormon ("gentile" in L.D.S. lingo) boyfriend, back in California, that is the point at which I lost my composure and sobbed uncontrollably, the first time (in a cinema theare) that I saw this film, from the emotion of seeing him drop his L.D.S. Mormon shackles.

A note to non-Mormon viewers is not to confuse the L.D.S. cult (i.e. the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, based in Salt Lake City, Utah) with the R.L.D.S. (Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) church (now preferring to use the name Community of Christ, with its principal institutions based in Independence, Missouri, and Lamoni, Iowa, in the U.S.A, with Canadian headquarters in Guelph, Ont.), which is Christian, trinitarian, renowned for its peace orientation and generous spirit. There is no need for a film which would reveal the nature of the R.L.D.S. (Community of Christ) denomination, since this denomination is rather harmless, but yet more films like "Latter Days" are essential to unmask the worthlessness and oppressive institutional wickedness of the Utah-based L.D.S. Mormon cult.

I do not, as a Lutheran Christian (having reverted after Mormonism to my step-father's childhood Christian tradition) condone homosexuality (even if I struggle with it myself, often quite unsuccessfully), but neither do I believe that any religious group should have the unloving harshness towards gay people that the L.D.S. Mormon cult in post-W.W. II times has become notorious for displaying and acting upon. Thankfully, my entire family, immediate and extended, has left L.D.S. Mormonism and converted to Protestant Christianity, with the exception of one very dear elderly lady, who, fortunately but all too untypically, is in no wise the kind of biggot, despite her misguided loyalty to the L.D.S. cult and to her Utah family roots, that so many L.D.S. Mormon women and their men are; there are folks even in the most disastrously negative cults whose spirits rise above the meanness of which their religion reeks.

See this film, buying the DVD of it from Amazon.ca to view it again and again, and pity those L.D.S. missionaries who come to your door, and, more importantly, refuse to believe their deceptive tactics and rhetoric, which this movie so compellingly reveals in all their ugliness. This is more than a movie; it is a vivid learning tool about a negative socio-religious phenomenom that deserves rebuke and the opprobrium in which this film covers it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I liked this one in spite of myself, 25 Jan 2009
All the usual problems you get with many gay movies - poor screenplay, wooden acting and a bit didatic at times. However, with a couple of glasses of red wine I was able to let all that wash pass me and just enjoyed it for what it was. Good wet Sunday afternoon cinema and Steve Sandvoss is a real find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible and moving story with so much laughter along the way, 19 Aug 2008
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I bought this on a whim after seeing the trailer on another movie and it was without doubt the best purchase I have made.
The characters are wonderful, the story heartwarming, the laughter frequent and the tears welcome.

It's not just another gay rom-com, there is so much more to this story and I'm sure you will love it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL!!!, 6 Oct 2011
Although im a couple years late in watching this movie.....it was definitely brilliant!! I LOVE LOVE happy endings and this was just one of them. Both lead characters are amazing....You really just have to buy it, or at least rent it (like i did). ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gay themed film ever!!!!, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Rich (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This has to be one of the most amazing gay themed films ever...beautifully constructed with characters you can empathize with.

Steve Sandvoss as Aaron is amazing, the vulnerability in his character contrasted against the more "in your face" Christian (Wes Ramsey), yet without focusing too heavily on the usual "film stereotypes".

If you had to pick one film from this genre, I'd say go for this one. Just a beautiful example of how love can blossom between the most unlikely of people for benefit of both. It will make you have faith again that such things are possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Latter Days [Blu-ray]
Latter Days [Blu-ray] by C. Jay Cox (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews