Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming Chaos
The background to this non-Greek Greek Royal Family, is as intricate as it is bizarre. Only by constant reference to the two family trees, can one position Philip historically and geographically. Not only would Prince Philip's background outshine any soap plot, but his chaotic, and sometimes tragic upbringing leaves one amazed that he developed into anything like a normal...
Published on 17 July 2011 by K.E.C

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More interesting than i thought
I bought this book recently for the Kindle as it was Jubilee time and was fed up with all the hype about the Queen only. As I didnt know much about Prince Philip, except that he has always been a complicated person to deal with, I wondered what his upbringing had been like. He seems to have had quite a difficult time as a young boy, being passed around his relatives with...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming Chaos, 17 July 2011
By 
K.E.C (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The background to this non-Greek Greek Royal Family, is as intricate as it is bizarre. Only by constant reference to the two family trees, can one position Philip historically and geographically. Not only would Prince Philip's background outshine any soap plot, but his chaotic, and sometimes tragic upbringing leaves one amazed that he developed into anything like a normal young man. The book happily reveals its sources, which almost entirely portray Philip as level-headed, fun-loving, and unmoved by the political and cultural movements that might have influenced weaker young men.
He seems to have been loved by friends and extended family, whilst making the best of the horrendous circumstances, that fate dumped on his young life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding an even keel, 4 Dec 2011
We have grown used over the years to Prince Philip as the no-nonsense, occasionally gaffe-prone but decent, hard-working Queen's consort with a twinkle in his eye. A stable life of predictable privilege, you might think. Well, not quite...Philip's early life was one of utter turmoil. This book contains, for instance, a 1937 photo of Philip attending his sister's funeral (killed in an air-crash) flanked by two brothers in law, one an SS officer, the other - also a Nazi - in his SA uniform. When Philip - briefly a schoolboy in Nazi Germany - married the future queen, his surviving sisters were not even invited to the wedding due to the German connections. Yet Philip himself became a decorated British naval officer. The underlying drama and utter bizarreness of his early life is compelling stuff. His uncle, the Greek king, was deposed after a disastrous Greek invasion of Turkey. His father, the king's brother, narrowly escaped execution over the same matter, and the family- including the infant Philip - fled into exile. Philip Eade excels at unravelling the complex web of Europe's vulnerable nobility and Philip's shifting place in it. He finally comes to rest at the side of a shy young princess whom he starts to bring out of her shell. Then suddenly all is changed...her father George VI dies at only 51 and their young lives are hurled into global scrutiny. The Queen has since piloted the monarchy through decades of change and turmoil and emerged, against all the odds, as a universally respected figure. Prince Philip, survivor of such a turbulent youth has, one suspects, more than helped to steady the tiller. Hopefully Philip Eade will some day complete the story he has started so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect and admiration, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. RM KLEPPMANN (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prince Philipp may feel slightly embarassed about the Joe Blogges's of this world reading about his childhood and early life (I know I would!) but I am very grateful that this book has been written.
If the newspaper and television are your only sources of information of Prince Philipp, it is easy to develop an extremely one-sided impression. This book reveals a human being who has gone through many difficulties and borne them with both spirit and dignity. I think the author did a good job - his subject certainly deserves the greatest respect and admiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Philip's early life, 14 July 2011
By 
Mr. E. L. Hitchcock (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A most interesting account of the Duke's early life, including his time in the Navy on active service in WW2. It is probably not generally realised how active, and sometimes dangerous, that service was. His forbears were Greek royals, and there were German connections which was awkward when Britain was at war with Germany. Mountbatten's role is covered well, and he became Uncle Dickie to Prince Charles and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing life story of a man who went through more ups and down than anyone but came out a champion!, 5 July 2012
By 
Sajitha Senanayake "Sajitha4usl" (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a fan of Prince Phillip. I have not read many flattering charactor reviews of him by other. He has been portrayed as a man with no emotions and someone who is made out of stone. It all could be true!!! This book confirms most of the characteristics but then who are we to judge a man who has been through a lot of ups and downs and seen so many tradedies even when he was just a teenager. Excile from Greece, Broken family, at age nine mothere institutionalised and not seen for five years, father living separately while the young boy grew up with his uncle. It made me tear eyes when I read how happy he was to recive the few items his father has left for him and how he wore that ring in his finger ever since. He obviously loved his father a lot.

After reading the book on Phillips' mother Alice: Princess Andrew of Greece by Hugo Vickers, I wanted to read about her son. This book cover so many things on Phillips life from his brith to time of the coronation. This would be a deligh to anyone who has an interst on Royal family.

It's interesting how the author has done justice to Prince Phillip by not being partial to him or trying to portray him as a saint or a hero. The truth is always more facinating than reading someones flattering accounts.

I hope this is the first book of two where the second book will be published soon from the time of coronation to golden jubillee. May be it will not have so many significant events, tragedies etc but still I'm sure it will be an amazing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, well recommended, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best books I have read. It is full of fascinating information about Prince Philip's childhood and his teenage years. It explains exactly how he was brought up by a remarkable set of parents, grandmother, sisters and their husbands, cousins and others. I couldn't put it down and at the end I was fully apprised of the effect of his childhood on his future as the Queen's Consort. He is shown as a remarkable man descended from various parts of the European Royal Families who shares a great-great-grandmother with the Queen, but that is about the only similarity in their upbringing. I ploughed through the excellent family trees many times with great interest. I recommend this book very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book, 27 Jun 2011
I have just finished this fascinating book, and loved every sentence of it, really could not put it down. I was particularly impressed by the early part, with all the complications of those relations; they all slotted into place and I was glad to see them back at the Abbey for the Coronation. How clever of Philip Eade to find such a star to write about. It deserves to fly off the shelves. I cannot wait for his next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 16 July 2011
By 
Michael Walsh (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tells the full story of his early years. His mother was in a psychiatric clinic and his exiled father was not there so Prince Philip spent his early years living with various relatives. It then moves on to meeting young Elizabeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Prince Philip -his early life by Philip Eade, 7 Oct 2011
The book was speedily dispatched and arrived in pristine condition.

I started reading it two weeks ago and have reached halfway.I am very impressed by the excellent detail recorded by Mr Eade.

There is a refreshing lack of bias or exaggeration in the material presented in the book.

It is a very good and important biography of Prince Philip and I look forward to completing my reading quite soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prince Philip's life, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Prince Philip: His Turbulent Early Life (Kindle Edition)
This book is very interesting and if you are interested in the history of Europe between the wars , it will be of great value regarding the make up of the kingdoms during that time . The book itself is very detailed and gives the reader a comprehensive view of Philip's life and a very good read in simple language .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews