Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic later Monk, 16 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
I purchased the original LP issue forty-plus years ago during my student days. It has lasted the years as a all-time favourite recording. This CD restores edits to three of the tracks, adds two recordings from the same sessions, plus an alternative take. This is a classic latter day Monk quartet, Ben Riley drums, Larry Gales bass and Charlie Rouse on tenor. They rework four Monk compositions, two 'new' recordings by other composers, plus two Monk piano solos. The CD sound quality is first class. Excellent notes, this how how a re-issue should be done. If you are new to jazz, an essential buy. If you like Monk, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
One of the benefits of retirement is that it gives you a chance to get to know things that you never had time to explore before. I've been reading Ted Goia's books about jazz -- the latest is "The Jazz Standards," and earlier there was a history of Jazz -- and Thelonius Monk's career comes up in the chapter about Bebop and the transition from "swing" and jazz as entertainment to the idea of jazz as a kind of art-music. Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie are the musicians mentioned along with Monk in this context, and when I saw a chance to pick up the album "Straight, No Chaser" (recorded in 1966-67) at a reduced price, I jumped at it. And it's great -- I don't know enough about the context to discuss it intelligently, but it's an absolute pleasure to listen to. Charlie Rouse is on tenor sax, Larry Gates on bass, and Ben Riley on drums, with Monk on the piano, and what an inventive and lucid pianist he is. My tastes being a bit retro, I really liked "I didn't know about you," an Ellington composition that is played with great feeling that contrasts with the more objective, shall we say "aesthetic," appeal of the rest of the material, but it's all so inventive and even playful that you can't resist it. Orrin Keepnews, who produced Monk's earlier recordings on Riverside Records, was called in by Columbia to oversee the reissue of this one, and his essay in the program book is fascinating, as he tells how he was able to restore cuts that had been made to get the music within a manageable time frame for a 1960's LP. So in a sense, this is a truer record of the sessions that led to the original issue. The sound is lovely, and in the longer pieces, the rhythm section gets its chance to shine. The musical conversation between Monk and Rouse is a constant pleasure throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
My first time of listening to Thelonious Monk. It was exactly what i wanted from a jazz pianist and band. Terrific. I'll listen to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A neglected classic from Thelonious Monk's Quartet in 1966/67., 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
This overlooked studio album from the great pianist/composer Thelonious Monk(1917-1982) was recorded in New York City on November 14/15, 1966 & January 10, 1967 with Charlie Rouse(tenor sax); Larry Gales(bass) & Ben Riley(drums).
Three tunes, 'Straight No Chaser', 'We See' & 'Japanese Folk Song' have been restored to their original unedited length while two previously unreleased performances have been included.
Everyone is in exuberant form on the nine tracks which feature four Monk originals. Highlights include an animated version of 'Straight No Chaser', 'Green Chimneys' named after the school of Monk's daughter, Barbara, the 16-minute 'Japanese Folk Song' & Monk's piano solo 'Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea'.
'Straight No Chaser' is a little-known Monk album containing 76 minutes of inventive and exhilarating music that deserves a place in any modern jazz collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Mine Monk, 21 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. J. Sutter "Bookspook" (IOW, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
Not a lot to say really. Monk was amazing. This shows how amazing. And Charlie Rouse was no slouch either, was he?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this cd, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
I have several of Thelonious Monk's cds and never getting tired of listening to his music. Such a great musician. I have uploaded it to my ipod and play it through speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swirling lifting and dropping Jazz., 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
This album of Monks music leaves little doubt of how far out there and yet so complexly inside compositional Jazz that the jazz genius Monk was. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't have enough Thelonious Monk, 20 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
A truely outstanding album from start to finnish. Many catchy tunes with the incredible talent of Thelonious Monk (Piano). This album goes from strength to strength. Highly recommended from Jazz fans looking to start their collection. Overall it is an excellent album performed by real professionals. A must have for anyone who calls themself a Jazz fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight No Chaser (Audio CD)
Excellent customer service.
Product received as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
mike (LONDON.NEW YORK ,EDINBURGH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Straight, No Chaser (Audio CD)
great cd from a master from yesteryear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Straight No Chaser [VINYL]
Straight No Chaser [VINYL] by Thelonious Monk (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews