Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright sunshiney Day
An enthralling, hair-raising, tragicomic read from beginning to end. Heart on sleeve chronicle of 70s youthful misadventure and unconscious character research leading to his ultimate Fast Show triumphs, overcoming his demons and getting the girl. It throbs with truth, authenticity and indomitable spirit. And of course bloody funny. Can I have the film rights please...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by stefanu47

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I admired Simon's honesty throughout the book and found it interesting, dark and entertaining in parts, However, having enjoyed his various characters in the Fast Show etc., I was slightly disappointed that it wasn't as funny as I had anticipated.
Published 10 months ago by JW


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright sunshiney Day, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enthralling, hair-raising, tragicomic read from beginning to end. Heart on sleeve chronicle of 70s youthful misadventure and unconscious character research leading to his ultimate Fast Show triumphs, overcoming his demons and getting the girl. It throbs with truth, authenticity and indomitable spirit. And of course bloody funny. Can I have the film rights please...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, moving and surprising, 1 July 2011
Wow! Simon's story will blow you away. He's had one hell of a life - homelessness, prison, addiction, drugs. This book is dark, bleak and hilarious in equal measure. The writing is superb - colourful and clever and I was moved to tears on several occaisons. This is a compelling, eye-opening and moving story and not just for Fast Show fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 26 July 2011
i bought this book after seeing simon day on a TV interview, i didnt really know much about him but found him very interesting to listen to, i was not disapointed by his book. it was so honest and straight talking about his addictions and criminal life and i couldnt put it down, read the whole book within a few days! felt disapointed when i got to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cockles of his art, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't understand how this sort of book based on a mid-division celebrity's life could get virtually all 5 star reviews, unless they were all from friends and family. But as Simon Day makes clear, he falls out with friends very easily and he's always had difficult relationships with family members. Having read the book I now understand, and he gets the full 5 stars from me too. The author also makes it clear early on that he's hampered by dyslexia and attention deficit disorder, and was never over-burdened by education, so it's no surprise that the writing style is basic, but what a page-turning tale he tells. There's no shortage of self awareness, chopped-up and laid out in lines for the reader to inhale, and for someone so ill at ease in his own skin (physically and mentally) it seems inevitable now that he eventually made a career out of creating alter-egos for himself in the name of comedy. For a life-story founded on addiction and obsessive behaviour, Day's autobiography turns out to be, well, compulsive reading, particularly once he takes us into the familiar territory of Tommy Cockles, Vic & Bob and the Fast Show gang. The only disappointment for me, was that in the Kindle version, because of the very long index, the story effectively ends at the 80% mark just when you're hooked and desperate for a hit of at least another 20%. The epilogue covering redemption via marriage and fatherhood is a mere encore, and before you know it, Simon Day "has left the building" with the reader calling for more.
I wouldn't want to share a flat with him, or even be in the same round as him at the pub, but he's a cracking companion for the 200 or so pages of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just One More Chapter, 1 July 2011
By 
Y. Tompkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You always you know your reading a good book when you count the pages until the next chapter, this is definately one of those books. And it's damn dark and funny to boot. Fruit Machines in a cafe, been there and done that too in the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy and Error: They Really Were Marvellous Times (Kindle Edition)
One of the best auttobiographies I've ever read. It's an extremely interesting story and one that bursts all the bubbles of how you perceive the world of celebrity. Simon doesn't even start talking about the career that we're all aware of until the book is two-thirds through, but the back-story, outlining his addictive personality, his experiences of homelessness, borstal, inability to hold down any kind of job or have a purpose, is at once both enthralling and tragic. It's told in a manner that doesn't glamourise his more 'colourful' days, nor give any sense of regret or bitterness; and is always funny. Some real laugh-out-loud moments, my favourite being the one about the owner of a cafe in South London whose brother had just died.

And then when it gets to the Tommy Cockles/Fast Show era, it becomes apparent that for a long time the only thing that's changed is the money. The tales of lonely holidays, the inability to kick the drugs, the lack of purpose, the squalor, completely at odds with how I imagined his life to have been at the time. And all the while told in a way that's as engaging as the man's performances. It's a superb book, one that seems to have slipped under the radar slightly. Absolutely recommend you get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable - Funny and touching story of an amazing life, 12 Jan 2013
By 
A. JOHNSTON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't typically write reviews, and I'm usually a bit of a book snob. However having just finished this book, I don't see how I could avoid telling people how sensational it is.

This sounds like exaggeration, but it's one of those stories which can be genuinely life-changing for the reader. (actually, that DOES sound like exaggeration, but I think it's true, nonetheless) Although I had a feeling I liked Day as a person and a comedian, I initially thought it would be about his career, which to be frank, would be a bit thinner than most autobiographies.

It's not like that at all. Day's personality is so engaging, complex, relatable, but almost childlike that it's impossible not to connect with this story. As a guy with ADHD and a highly addictive personality, his life has been one of extremes - not least due to addictions to fruit machines; weed; alcohol; cocaine; and crack. The content is extremely funny and well written, but most of all seems to be exceptionally honest. All of his vulnerabilities and weaknesses are discussed in a chatty, extremely readable way.

He has a great turn of phrase, and amazingly down-to-earth analysis of his own stupidity. I've read a lot of biographies. I don't think I've read anybody as insightful and funny as Simon Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read for Londoners, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simon Day just makes me laugh - enjoyed the blokeyness of this book and its links to South London. There for the grace of god go a few folk but he got lucky and seems to be proud of that. Great bloke, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Das Crazy Simon Day Book!, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy and Error: They Really Were Marvellous Times (Kindle Edition)
My favourite Simon Day character was Peter Paul Stufanhaus on 'Das Crazy Clip Show' - a viewers' home video show which ran for a while on the Paramount Comedy channel. Peter Paul (ie Simon) would provide a hilarious, apparently ad-libbed commentary (in a somewhat dodgy Dutch accent) to the videos - much like 'You've Been Framed' only funnier (sorry Harry!). Anyway, my only disappointment in this book was that 'Das Crazy Clip Show' doesn't get a mention.

Otherwise it's an incredible read - how Simon has managed to achieve the personal and professional success he has is astonishing. He details in this book his painful descent into an adult life plagued by gambling and drug problems (and the petty crime needed to support it) with brutal honesty. Yet in the face of such adversity he still somehow managed, through his own considerable talents and with a few lucky breaks, to achieve a successful career in comedy and a happy, settled family life to boot.

I think you should read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comedy and Error: They Really Were Marvellous Times (Kindle Edition)
I sometimes struggle with non fiction as it's the plot that carries me along . I had no problems with this . A great read . It is occasionally searingly honest and often very funny. I am a fan of 'the fast show' and that added interest but anyone can enjoy this entertaining biography .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews