Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a noise disclaimer, we woke the baby!
Going along with the others here.

What you get: A small folding board 25 x 25cm folded and 25 x 50cm open. 6 coloured marker pieces. 12 'Switch' cards. 12 'Pass' cards and two sets of double sided question cards. Plastic tubular stand up 5 second timer. Instructions.

The game: Simply move 12 spaces from start to finish. You move if you can simply...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Hoofboy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really live up to its promise
We laughed a lot, but just by doing nothing you still get round the board. Doubt we will play it again; sorry.
Published 6 months ago by M. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a noise disclaimer, we woke the baby!, 27 Dec 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
Going along with the others here.

What you get: A small folding board 25 x 25cm folded and 25 x 50cm open. 6 coloured marker pieces. 12 'Switch' cards. 12 'Pass' cards and two sets of double sided question cards. Plastic tubular stand up 5 second timer. Instructions.

The game: Simply move 12 spaces from start to finish. You move if you can simply call out 3 somethings in 5 seconds. Each player takes it in turn to be asked a question. If they succeed, the next player answers the next question. If you fail, the next player gets to try and steal your move by calling out 3 in 5, (although they can't use anything already mentioned). This is the UK version so yes, even Corrie is included i.e. Name 3 Corrie characters...

...What's that? You've done it already? Ah well, that may be, but when those mini ball bearings are shooting down the helter skelter tube and the pressure is on, even naming three things beginning with the letter 'R' can be tricky.

We played this for the first time on Christmas evening and were laughing as much at some very weird answers that came out as much as the inability of several family members to complete even the simplest question. Trust me, when you ask , 'Name 3 famous blonde female film stars and someone calls out Mahatma Ghandi, you know they've one, had too much sherry, or two, the pressure has got to them.

There are two danger zones where if you fail at any stage to answer 3 in 5 you miss the next go.

This is addictive, we even started just asking questions as a spot-quiz throughout the day. I can definitely also see this used in the summer as a BBQ or Beer Garden drinking game.

Yes it can be over within twenty minutes, but you simply call that round one and do a best of challenge.

You should be aware, this is a noisy game, as we found out after finally getting Jr to bed, we woke him twenty minutes later despite being at the other end of the house. When the pressure is on, you can wave any calmness goodbye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Board Game, 19 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
Simple idea becomes a great family board game. Great for adults too when alcohol is added to the mix, making what can be a simple 3 answers in 5 seconds even more fun and laughter for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, surprisingly difficult at times, 31 Dec 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
This provided a lot of giggles and frustration (if on the losing side!)over Christmas. It`s amazing how you know you can answer but can`t get it from your brain to your tongue in the 5 seconds it takes for the ball bearings to descend.The only "bad" thing I would say is the questions are not comparable in difficulty so some can be seen as advantageous because they`re easy, whilst others are much harder - need some sort of grading system perhaps, then you could choose a hard, medium or easy question.
Really good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 seconds go so quickly, 7 Jan 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
This is an amazingly simple yet fun game for all ages. Naming 3 things in 5 seconds is easy until it is your turn!We have enjoyed lots of very competitive games as a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed-Fantastic game but very damaged packaging, 9 Feb 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
I ordered this game because I've played it before with both adult friends and youger children-it is truly a fun game for all! However when the game arrived from amazon it was very badly damaged which was really disappointing as usually product are very good. There was nothing missing and because I'd bought specifically for an occasion I didn't send it back. Thoroughly recommend the game, it's very fast paced and due to the nature of being able to pass on a question it keeps everyone engaged!University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family fun, 21 Nov 2012
By 
W. Davis "wendabell" (coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
oh my it gets the old grey cells working and is very addictive and a great family game my age range in the family is from 8 to 47 so good all round fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
Nice present easy to understand and lots of fun. A great board game that all the family can participate in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good family game, 13 Jan 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
We played this several times over Xmas as a family with a 7 yr old and he in particular loved the game. Whilst some of the questions were a little difficult for him, you can give the younger children an extra swap card and 10 secs instead of 5 to think of answers. This made it fun for all and drove quite a lot of competition.

I have since played this with friends over drinks and it was great fun and really sparked some energy (and debates).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quick fun, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
This is a good game for short periods of time. it took 3 of us around 30-45 mins but its hysterical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly an 'Articulate' beater!, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Kevin O'Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: University Games 5 Second Rule the Game of Quick Thinking and Fast Talking (Toy)
This fast, often hilarious, game was a big hit this Christmas. It's simple to play and doesn't take long (10-30 minutes) but got everyone going - even the 'oldies'! Basically it's a 'name three things beginning with 'x' type game' but there are a few curve-balls thrown in (mischievous game designers?) For example, 'name three things you wouldn't tell your parents' which caused a few awkward moments! The game is a great leveler too in that even the most knowledgeable trivia-mad game-player will find themselves 'drying up' when faced with only five seconds to come up with an answer.

So, easy to play, inclusive and a good laugh; you really can't go wrong with this. What's more there are plenty of question cards: we played it a good few times and didn't even open the second pack of questions. One word of warning though; things can get VERY raucous what with all the shouting, laughing and disagreements over acceptable answers and so on! Maybe not *quite* on the par of the great game 'Articulate' but it's close. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews