Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Goodness
With E4 showing these back-to-back for the last few years, my wife and I got used to recording them in the morning and watching them over lunch. When they suddenly stopped broadcasting them ... we felt bereft. So ... I purchased the Amazon special complete set at this extremely reasonable price, and now we can have our normal lunchtime habit again - with the added bonus...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by I. Buchanan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed that the later seasons are not in widescreen as were originally broadcast
I bought this box set for my wife as a gift, and although she didn't seem to mind, I was disappointed and rather baffled to find out that the later seasons - which were broadcast in widescreen - are in 4x3 here. Looking on the packaging some seasons state they are 4x3 and some 16x9, but upon checking everything is 4x3, therefore cutting the left and right side of the...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE the Gilmore Girls, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
The box is lovely, small and with good packaging. Easy to store. Unfortunately two of the discs are grainy and have wobbly lines across them, the picture is not so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tom, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sent a difterent box set instead of itiem in photo but cost the same price rip off i think seeing has that one in photo is a collecters set box and i got a standed box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed that the later seasons are not in widescreen as were originally broadcast, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set for my wife as a gift, and although she didn't seem to mind, I was disappointed and rather baffled to find out that the later seasons - which were broadcast in widescreen - are in 4x3 here. Looking on the packaging some seasons state they are 4x3 and some 16x9, but upon checking everything is 4x3, therefore cutting the left and right side of the picture off. Very poor and surely unnecessary...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, but you should obtain the official UK release at a FAR LOWER price!!!, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Gilmore Girls ran for seven successful seasons and the complete collection acn now be found on DVD. Yes, this may be a good set and is complete however, it is not the official UK release as you can buy here Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 (Amazon.co.uk Exclusive Box Set) [DVD] for a far far far lower price. You know it makes much more sense!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic!!, 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Ranks right up there as one of the best shows I've ever watched.
Brilliant cast & fantastic storylines ensure the viewer is taken through a rollercoaster of emotions almost continually.

This show is definitely "one of a kind" & t'was a very sad day when it wrapped for the final time!
Don't hesitate for a second about purchasing this wonderful show....it'll be a long time until you see such quality on your t.v screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy! Get it now, 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
EXCELLENT! Got this for 42!! Since Gilmore girls stopped showing on e4 a few months ago it has since been put on to 5* recently at 4-5. No use i start work at 5 so only see half a episode!!! :-(( sooo since I love them sooooooooooooooooooo much I bought the complete boxset!! :-))) love it buy it you won't be dissapointed. It will make your day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 Seasons of Love and Disfunction! :), 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of the series for so long, I decided to bite the bullet and buy the box set, watching all seven seasons start to finish over the last four months.
On their own, every episode is sparkling with wit and charm that comes from the snappy dialogue and the rapport the actors have with one another, but as a whole, this series pops and buzzes electric!! Without a doubt one of the most gripping and entertaining series I have ever watched, "Gilmore Girls" is simply put, fantastic.
Though suffering from something of an anti-climactic end to the series as a whole, it has been left open to be continued at a later date and, like most fans, I live in hope of a movie some day! :)
Xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A taste that suffers no surfeit, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Love the series, lighthearted, down-to-earth, warm. It's not something which one would get with most American-made series these days. So this quite stands out. Though i have to say that in later seasons, they try a bit too hard with the jokes and come up with one analogous joke after another in response to a single question or observation. This is one of those rare series where i can watch one episode on one day, and watch it again the next day. It is more than a storyline, more like a flavour with a nice aftertaste.

All that said, it is about 59quid if purchased separately on Amazon, which is what i did.

ed
a2ed*c
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome..., 19 Feb 2010
Gilmore Girls" (like Leonard Maltin, I usually like to use the title as it appears on screen, but we'll forego the nomenclature "Gilmore girls") is one of those shows that positive word of mouth and the "You know, this does seem like a good show" vibe from hearing about it made me want to get a look at; the series has finally started UK airings on Nickelodeon, a strange choice for the channel - it's certainly comedic, but it's more of a comedy-drama than the usual stuff that's on Nick. (Plus, unlike all its regular shows it's an hour series.)

My rule of thumb is that if a series doesn't encourage me to keep watching by its third episode, it won't do so after its thirtieth; Amy Sherman-Palladino's series passed by the end of the first one. A number of viewers have commented that the dialogue isn't too realistic, and Lorelei Gilmore is certainly so quick with the witty repartee you wonder why she's not a stand-up comic instead of managing an inn (possibly a clue as to why one of the companies involved is called Dorothy Parker Drank Here Productions?), but it does have the saving grace of actually being funny... something that can't be said for a lot of official comedies.

What helps the series work so far, apart from the dialogue, is the characters - just as "M*A*S*H"'s laugh track was kept out of the operating room even in the American broadcasts (it was initially broadcast in the UK sans track), the relationships between Lorelei and Lorelei (that's Rory - in the pilot we learned that she was named after her mother) aren't actually played for gags endlessly, and her mother's certainly strong but not a bitch, the way the makers could have easily done. No one in the show so far is truly bad or good, which bodes well, and the bond between mother and daughter is a rare thing for TV - they're both relatives and true friends without making you want to vomit, not a common thing in family dramas.

We're about three years behind the WB, and I'm looking forward to catching up with the Gilmores and their friends (it's impossible not to symapthise with Rory's best friend in particular, what with her health-food-obsessed/antique-selling mother). And on a purely shallow note, Lauren Graham and Alexis Bledel must be the most attractive mother-daughter pairing in recent television history. Beautiful and funny? Who needs Madonna kissing Britney?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gilmore Girls, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery and at a really good price, the additional scenes also make it a must buy for any Gilmore fans, however every now and then it will freeze mid episode but quickly recovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD]
Gilmore Girls - Complete Season 1-7 [DVD] by Lauren Graham (DVD - 2011)
58.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews