Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Spirit!!
This film was not rated highly by the "experts", but when I went to see it at the cinema, I basically left punching the air in delight and feeling very emotional for the turn of the year. New Year's Eve is a brilliant film for the festive spirit, and I do not blame them for waiting 1 year to release it on DVD, as everyone will now buy it for Christmas. It will get you...
Published on 14 Nov. 2012 by Mr. S. J. Campbell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love Actually is turning in its grave.
I can imagine the pitch for this film: 'It will be like Love Actually, but set in NYC, with interlinked stories, great actors (and Jessica Biel) and Lea Michelle will sing! Did we say it will be like Love Actually?' On paper, it should be brilliant. And the actors (including Jessica Biel) did their level best with a rubbish script and painful scenes. I wanted to love it...
Published on 31 Jan. 2013 by Estellar


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Spirit!!, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. S. J. Campbell "stephenjcam" (Isle of Lewis, Western Isles, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film was not rated highly by the "experts", but when I went to see it at the cinema, I basically left punching the air in delight and feeling very emotional for the turn of the year. New Year's Eve is a brilliant film for the festive spirit, and I do not blame them for waiting 1 year to release it on DVD, as everyone will now buy it for Christmas. It will get you laughing, emotional, and right up for a good new year, to put the past behind, and to look forward to an exciting future. Loved this film, can't wait until it is released!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Years Eve, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film for the new year season, lots of great actors someone for everybody, the perfect film for a girls night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYE, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Nice, seasonal movie
Don't think its quite as good as Love actually, but still good watching.
Know a few people who bought this and the sentiments are the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely film, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Bolfova (Madrid, Spain, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
A really nice movie, a funny and a relaxing watch for a sunday afternoon, really enjoyed it a lot, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars garry marshall smashes it yet again A++, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. R. G. Redmond "ryan" (whitehaven) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as usual its impossible for garry marshall to dissappoint.i am fan of a few of his films,and a fan of multi story films in general as there always more entertaining that single story films,but they always seem a bit short to me,less than 2 hours to tell about 10 stories ,seems a shame really,but its still easily in the top 10 of feel good films of all time.after the amazing valentines day film by garry marshall i was sure that new years eve was going to be a smash hit and i was correct. no film will ever beat love actually,im sure no one ever expects that.but its certainly very close.its one of those feel good films that im always amazed to see negative reviews but yet i have seen some very nasty reviews and i am shocked because just like valentines day it delivers on every count,happyness,sadness,heartbreak,romance,comedy i really struggle to see how anyone can find a negative minute in this film.the last 15 minutes of the film just like love actually when all the stories come to a head are just pure cinematic masterpiece. i dont really think that a film this good needs all the big names in it to sell it because every story is completely different and enjoyable regardless of who are playing each character and each story takes up such a short amount of screen time ,where as in a standad 1 story film a big star has to carry the whole film but new years eve would be just as amazing without a single star in it,but its nice to see garry marshall casting hector to return yet again in i think his 6th garry marshall film and ashton kutcher after his very brilliant role in valentines day.so whether you like any of the big named stars or not,if you want to laugh,be sucked in to romantic stories and little twists along the way then this film is a must buy. ignore the couple of bad reviews from bah humbug scrooge misery guts and enjoy something as brilliant as this.is you really wanted to,im sure every film ever made could be critisised for something but who cares,there made for fun and entertainment,if they entertain then whats the problem, just enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable!!!, 10 May 2012
This review is from: New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I'm going to make this review totally personal.

Basically, I took a trip to see this film in the Cinema (more than once) back in December, 2011. To add to that, I was going through a deep depression, and that's no joke! Despite the severity of my illness at the time, I felt that this film genuinely did make me feel a little better in myself. Moreover, one must accept the fact that that is exactly what a film of this calibre should do: make people smile and feel better!

The film is full of stars and is basically about a bunch of New Yorkers of various backgrounds and their activities on New Year's Eve, 2011. The film does have its flaws, however, mostly to do with character development; I felt as though the characters didn't blend into the film too well, but surely that's to be expected when you have such an ensemble cast??? Maybe, maybe not!

Anyway, overall, I think this film is excellent... there's lots of laughs (very important!!) and some sobby bits, too (that are funny anyway!).

I will certainly buy this film to watch again and again when released on DVD (why wait til the year later to release it???). It's well worth a watch.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYE, 22 May 2012
This review is from: New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
When this film first appeared at the cinema i will admit i was a bit hesitant about seeing it as it was a very similar format to love actually (which i love) and valentine's day, which in my opinion wasn't the best film that uses this format.

However, I thouroughly enjoyed New Years Eve! The way that the characters are portrayed by each actor is brilliant, as they represent each kind of person living in New York, and you really get sucked into the whole hype of new years eve in New York!

I also love how much diversity there is in each story; young and old, those who are near and far away, those who are just beginning to love someone, those learning to love again and those who are preparing to say goodbye to a loved one.

Its a story of hope, love, excitement, and fun with a few twists and a great soundtrack! Ultimately it shows how one event can be shared all across the world and how for a short time every year, people are united and their worries of years passed are swept away to make room for dreams of the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Packed Year End, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife loved Gary Marshall's Valentine's Day and so this was an obvious 'next' buy. I liked the first one, and this one is good too. I only knocked a star off for the ridiculous side story of the whether the 'ball' would drop or not due to an electrical fault. It was just TOO dreary and contrived, but other stories are much more interesting. Some neat little story threads tossed into the mix that tie up nicely at the end. One of those films worth watching without looking at the cast list on the box and going "Hey! That's De Niro!" or "That's Halle Berry!"

With this and the other film and Dude? Where's My Car? I think I have found three films I can watch and enjoy Ashton Kutcher in! And another film where Sarah Jessica Parker pulls it off too. Probably a good film to watch AFTER Christmas and not in July like we did, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love Actually is turning in its grave., 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I can imagine the pitch for this film: 'It will be like Love Actually, but set in NYC, with interlinked stories, great actors (and Jessica Biel) and Lea Michelle will sing! Did we say it will be like Love Actually?' On paper, it should be brilliant. And the actors (including Jessica Biel) did their level best with a rubbish script and painful scenes. I wanted to love it. I really did. I even watched it between Christmas and New Year. But it was horrible. Disjointed, unimaginative, a complete rip-off and even Lea Michelle and Ashton Kutcher (both who were as good as they could be), couldn't save it. Christmas couldn't save it. So disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it <3, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
lots of celebs...love the story.....and it all comes together in the end and everyone is at the same party
Brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
New Year's Eve (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] by Garry Marshall (DVD - 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews