Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.56+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2011
Chains of Olympus is a prequel to the original God of War in which Kratos defeats Ares and takes his title. In Chains of Olympus Kratos is simply a servant to the Gods and his sole purpose is to destroy the enemies of Olympus. The events in this game lead Kratos to a reunion with his daughter. The events in Ghost of Sparta take place after kratos has defeated Ares. In this game Kratos is on a quest to find his mother and brother and to learn more about his origins.

My biggest concern with this collection was that the two games would look and play like straight PSP to PS3 ports but with sharper graphics. But thankfully it is very easy to forget that these were PSP titles when playing them on PS3. This is classic God of War with dynamic, brutal combat, exploration and massive boss battles requiring context-sensitive actions. The games are no where near as pretty as GOW3 but easily as good looking as the games in the first collection. Kratos and the monsters he fights actually look better in Ghost of Sparta than they do in the games in the first collection. And it is so much easier to control Kratos with a Dualshock 3 than with the PSP controls. Gamers familiar with the GOW titles on PS2 and PS3 will be able to pick up and play immediately. Chains of Olympus is a very good game but it is obvious ReadyatDawn studios were getting used to the PSP hardware. Ghost of Sparta is more polished with more content, better gameplay and more epic boss battles.

The most important aspect of any GOW game is its combat and that means weapons and the enemies to use them on. In Chains of Olympus the Blades of Chaos are Kratos' default weapons but he eventually picks up the Gauntlet of Zeus. The Efreet is a magical attack in which a flaming demon is summoned to pummel the earth with its fists. Bosses in this game include the Basilisk, Charon and Persephone. In Ghost of Sparta Kratos wields the Blades of Athena but eventually picks up the Arms of Sparta (spear and shield). The Eye of Atlantis is a magical attack in which electrical energy is fired at enemies. Bosses in this game include Kratos' mother (not a pretty sight) and his brother. The final boss battle is against Thanatos - the daemonic personification of death.

My television is not 3D enabled so I am not able to comment on those visuals. In summary this collection is everything a God of War fan could want and the PSP titles have been masterfully ported to the PS3. Ghost of Sparta is the better game of the two but no God of War fan should be without this collection.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2011
Well, seeing as when I reviewed both of these games on PSP originally I gave them both 5 stars for being head and shoulders above any other action games available on handhelds it would follow that of course this PS3 upgraded collection of both is a 5 star no brainer, right? Believe me, these games are still fantastic, but on a big screen, stacked up against their home console predecessors? Sadly you can see the limitations they were built under a lot more clearly than you could on a PSP screen... but damn are these still some good gaming.

Both games are obviously prequels to the main God of War games, with Chains of Olympus being a prequel to the first game and Ghost of Sparta a prequel to the second. Chains of Olympus follows Kratos' quest to the underworld to find the missing sun God, Helios, at the behest of Goddess Athena as Kratos' nightmares about his bloody past torment him. Ghost of Sparta meanwhile follows Kratos on a journey to find out the truth behind what happened to his long-thought-dead brother, who is apparently still alive. I don't think Kratos has any nightmares in that one, but there are a lot of flashbacks. The plots in both games are pretty decent, but of course are little more than set up for lots of violence. This isn't the place to come for character development or intricately layered story telling as really... the plots in any God of War title don't need to be about anything other than Kratos' being very very angry all the time and pulling various living creatures and the occasional monster apart with his bare hands. The stories are fun enough and well put together though, I'll give them that.

The gameplay is fast, intuitive and smooth to control as ever, with high impact, rewarding combat and perhaps a bit less focus on the puzzles and platforming elements compared to the main GoW games in both games. The gameplay is more or less identical to the main series, just on a somewhat smaller scale for obvious reasons. One really stand out thing I noticed though is that these games are actually considerably easier with a Dualshock controller than they were on PSP, as the significantly easier control set up (Most especially with regard to dodging) makes the majority of both titles a walk over. I actually had to restart Chains on the highest difficulty I could access because it was so easy, and even then the biggest challenge was in the fairly strict timing needed for the QTE segments. Ghost of Sparta proves a bit harder, but really, neither title is anywhere close to the kind of crushing difficulty you'd get in the hardest difficulty in God of War 3. Challenge issues aside, the games are certainly still great fun to play, don't get me wrong, but they are a notable step down on numerous fronts from the God of War releases we've already seen on PS3 to date and you'll breeze through both titles fairly quickly. Both games have bonuses to unlock and challenges to try (That ARE harder than the main games it must be said), but between those and the trophies I'd say the most you could expect to get out of this package as a whole is probably around 15 hours or so of gaming... which isn't so bad I guess for a lower retail priced collection like this, but still...

Visually, both games obviously show their handheld beginnings, with Chains of Olympus in particular looking quite sparse and empty a lot of the time... However, the updated visuals really do work wonders with both games, most especially in the case of Ghost of Sparta, which now looks comparable visually to God of War 2 in the previous GoW collection and boasts some mighty impressive visual set pieces and texture work for a game ported from a handheld. Despite the relatively minor shortcomings on Chains of Olympus' part on the visual front, both games do look great, with ultra sharp, clean visuals and a completely unbroken 60fps frame rate from beginning to end of both titles. Couple this with the usual high standard soundtrack work and hilariously OTT voice work you get in this series and you have a technically impressive package that may not stack up well against other PS3 titles, but taken for what it is is a lot more impressive than you may be expecting.

So, yeah, both of these games are still really really great fun to play... but there's no getting away from the fact that on a big screen, they're clearly watered down spinoffs of the main God of War trilogy. I'd still strongly recommend this collection of course, but would advise that anyone buying it keep their expectations realistic and remember that these are handheld games with some graphical upgrades... don't go expecting God of War 3 levels of scale or design.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 26 September 2011
Ok i have had all 3 GOW titles on ps3 when they were uber cheap 2 years ago but didn't open them & I'm glad i didn't... the first title chain of olympus is a prequel to GOW 1, this game really gives a nice introduction in the GOW universe, i have so far only played 5 hours on the first title and love it! although i will say that some of the enemies are cheap! like really cheap! not only this but at times the game also then feels too just never gets the balance of difficulty right, which in turn will require you to build up your strategy again which is very time consuming. I will also say these games do NOT feel like psp titles on the ps3, they look really developed & the graphics will amaze you that this came from a psp in the first place!!!

This is also the first titles in the GOW saga (maybe more to come who knows) that display in 3D!!!! & my god does it look good! I am privileged to have a 3d set (Stereoscopic Active 3D) and i am glad! after not getting much impressive 3D action with titles such as socom, Motorstorm etc since GT5, this game put my 3D worries to rest, it actually makes the depth really really deep when in eerie caves & also some of the boss fights are "head on" which really does the 3D even more justice as it gives the feeling the attacks are coming out of your TV screen! i will say if you have a 3D set or looking to invest soon hold off playing till then! SERIOUSLY

I rate this game 4* for fun due to some of the enemies being cheap as said before but overall from just the 1st title Chains of olympus, this game really deserves to be in your collection! also word of advice i would play COL 1st then 1, 2 then GOS then 3 if you haven't yet tackled the others!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 17 September 2014
After successfully repelling a Persian army invasion upon the shores of Attica, Kratos is sent on a journey to the Underworld in pursuit of Helios and uncover the reasons behind his sudden disappearance. The task is never so simple when the evils of the Underworld will decide Kratos’ fate and that of the mortal world itself.

The narrative is far more personal to Kratos throughout the game, the love for his daughter and the commitment to the Gods are the defining attributes. We know Kratos is one extremer pissed off dude, but now we have some justification as to why his anger has risen to such tremendous levels. The dialogue is energetic, but there is a gentle side to Kratos that creates greater attachment to his character too.

The introductory Shores of Attica level looks gorgeous, glowing in the vibrant sunshine and presenting its macho fortress-like architecture. The temple of Helios is another striking environment, a truly colossal structure, which boasts stunning design and sublime lighting effects. The Elysium fields are another highlight, presenting us with lush greenery and paradise soaked surroundings. Level design remains linear overall design has been so intricately woven together. The animations are superb; Kratos moves with fluidity and exhibits the fine traversal skills that have made him to be a pain in the ass of many mythological figures. The art direction is inspiring, merging the grandeur of the environments with some of the ugliest beasties that ancient Greece has to offer. It’s worth mentioning that even the cutscenes have been given the HD treatment, which is no easy feat when upscaling to a much higher resolution.

The automated camera work is on top form again, presenting awe inspiring views and tracking Kratos’ journey immaculately well. The frame rate never dips below 60fps, which really
solidifies the smooth character and environmental animations. The soundtrack hits all the right notes again, capturing Kratos’ inner torment through the amazing orchestral work. Sound design is excellent, never failing to entice our ears with the sound of limbs being torn off enemies as if they were helpless puppets. Voice acting is commendable, Kratos isn’t a man of many words, but his words are an intimidating presence on their own.

The controls are extremely responsive and the 360° combat movement is deliciously swift in motion. The blades display some new move sets, introducing deadly chained attacks to unleash gore-fuelled mayhem. The additional weapon is the Gauntlet of Zeus, a giant metallic glove
a that can dish out some serious punishment. The gauntlet is a great weapon, very similar to the Cestus and a worthy item in your arsenal. The magical attacks are pretty badass too, causing insane
a; amounts of damage when the action goes into overdrive. All weapons and magic can be upgraded
and it also applies to the health and magic metres. The God Of War games have always placed an emphasis on offensive gameplay, but CoO attempts to mix things up by stressing the importance of
patience when cutting enemies down to size. The enemy A.I. use speed and agility far more regularly, never backing away and finding ways of attacking from any direction.

The QTEs are still as over-the-top as ever, but the way Kratos dispatches his enemies never ceases to amaze me. A few button presses will have you jumping onto an angry Cyclops, plunging your blade into his eye and stomping on the handle to force it deeper into his eye In socket. The Cinematic finishing moves are always deadly, with or without a weapon in hand. The puzzles are never overwhelming and shouldn’t be too taxing to overcome. The balance between puzzles and action has been fine-tuned, one doesn’t outweigh the other and helps keep a sense of continuity. The boss battles are stunning; the opening encounter against the Persian Basilisk was relentless and full of energy.

The only real issue I came across was the climbing mechanic, which would make Kratos stutter as he pulled himself over a ledge. The animation wasn’t quite up to scratch in this instance.

CoO raises the bar when it comes to the potential of the PSP, and this PS2 conversion is a prime example of how a HD version should look. The story is emotionally driven, the presentation is incredible and the gameplay completes the amazing package. The combat is an aspect that hasn’t seen many changes, but it’s undeniably fun and easy to pick up.


We begin during the childhood years of Kratos. An oracle foretold the demise of Olympus; this would not come at the hands of the great Titans, but by a marked warrior. The Olympians Zeus and Ares believed this warrior to be Deimos, the brother of Kratos, due to his strange birthmarks. Skipping to the present, Kratos defies the Gods and sets off on a journey to find his brother.

The story is quite simply fantastic, Kratos’ character has been given been another layer of depth and it just proves that he is more than just a battle hungry warrior. The elements surrounding his mother have wonderful emotional value, it’s refreshing to see a gentler side to the Spartan and it helps promote a strong sense of family attachment.

The HD wizardry has worked its magic yet again, producing an extremely sexy game. Kratos’ character model has been given plenty of love too, crafted with finer detail, muscles rippling from head to toe, and his bald head reflecting plenty of light. Environments bustle with greater weather effects, which is evident in the gorgeous Atlantis level. Torrential rain plummets from the skies to drench everything in its path, cascading over edges and violently colliding with every surface. The city of Sparta will be another stop, bustling with life and letting us wander through its lively surroundings.

The art direction is exemplary, consistently going from strength to strength throughout the series. The animations are much tighter, just when you think Kratos’ last brutal finisher cannot be toppled, he’ll pull out another insane finishing attack, which can be painful to watch, but holy hell they are beautiful in motion. Enemy design takes another leap forward; the opening battle against the gigantic Scylla is both technically marvellous and extremely polished in its presentation. The soundtrack is on top form yet again; it never ceases to amaze me at how solid the orchestral production really is. Sound design is excellent, environmental effects are heard in every direction and the bone crunching nature of Kratos’ blades pack a deafening punch. The voice acting is sublime, revealing a softer and sensitive side to Kratos that l have longed to embrace.

The level design could do with some balancing; the linearity of it keeps the pacing on a tight leash, but it can also result in confined spaces to battle stronger enemies.

The Blades of Chaos are back in full swing, happily dishing out the carnage wherever they go. Not much has changed with their attacks, but slipping into their destructive ways will be a breeze. The latest addition to the blades is the ability to imbue them with fire (for a limited time), which can be used to defeat particular enemies, open special doors or solve puzzles. Holding R1 will wrap the blades in fire, it can take some getting used to, but once you have it then you’ll realise how effective this power can be. Kratos’ magical abilities are far more potent; it’s wise to consider how you wish to employ a certain attack since each of them exhibit close-range or distant attacks. The newest addition to Kratos’ weapon selection is the traditional Spartan shield and spear. It‘s a fantastic close quarter combat weapon, as well as providing rapid ranged attack options. The shield and spear can initially feel more weighted and definitely requires some practice when using them.

GoS throws a whole host of challenging enemies at you, this is where your evasive skills must be at a reasonable level or you’ll become swarmed by the opposition. Imbuing your blades with fire will certainly keep the momentum on your side, helping in destroying enemy shielding or penetrating thick armour. It’s not just about hack n’ slash gameplay, there are some amazing scripted sequences that are sure to get your heart racing, whether that’s Kratos leaping from collapsing platforms or pursuing enemies through the skies. There are plenty of QTE moments to come across, seamlessly integrated into the gameplay and an utter thrill when ripping the head off of some poor schmuck. The puzzles aren’t exactly brainteasers; personally, they never need to be where the God Of War games are concerned. Oh, and the sex mini game is without doubt the most comical in this game.

The only real complaint I have is regarding the control configuration for the magic attacks. Using the D-pad to initiate attacks didn’t seem responsive and occasionally broke the gameplay flow.

GoS is an amazing game and stands as the definition of how a HD port should be handled. The story is engaging, buzzing with energy and drama. The presentation is outstanding from a visual and audio perspective. The gameplay is a treat, integrating new elements and pushing the experience further.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 5 January 2012
**Warning: this review contains spoilers**

God of War Collection Volume 2 contains the two titles in the series only previously released for Sony's handheld system, the PSP. For fans of the series without the PSP, Sony has re-released both Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta remastered in HD on one Blu-Ray disc for your entertainment. For those of you who are reading this review and/or have already purchased this, you have more than likely played the previous games in the series and know what Kratos and God of War is all about. I had not, so I thought I'd share my somewhat unique perspective of this collection with you.

I was referred to the series by a friend who had also recently purchased and played the series himself, with his only passing comment that it was really good. Having researched the games themselves prior to playing, I found that Chains of Olympus, the first game of this collection, took place prior to God of War 1 and that Ghost of Sparta took place prior to God of War 2. I therefore felt it appropriate to play the games in chronological order in the hopes that the plot would feel fully fleshed out (where I feared it wouldn't if played out of sequence). As a side note, I am presently working my way through God of War 2 (included along with God of War 1 in the previous title, HD Classics: God of War Collection).

As I have now completed both games in this collection (Volume 2), I felt the need to provide you with my review. (I will of course review both Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta separately.)

- God of War Chains of Olympus

The God of War series is a simplistic "hack-and-slash" action platformer which uses Greek mythology as foundation and a basis for progression. You take control of the permanently-enraged Spartan, Kratos, a man who has lost those close to him as a result of his desire for battle, blood and victory, which, unfortunately, was also his downfall. Kratos, on the verge of death, makes a deal with the titular God of War, Ares that in exchange for his soul he will serve under the command of the Gods, with particular loyalty to Ares himself. I only came into this knowledge upon playing God of War 1 (from HD Classics: God of War Collection) however it is only unfortunate that Chains of Olympus goes to no effort to explain any of this and automatically assumed I had played the first game, which left me in the dark on occasion. I guess this was the downfall of playing in chronological order and not in sequence of how they were released.

Chains of Olympus follows Kratos in his 10 year servitude to the Gods where he initially assists in repelling the Persian King, his pet basilisk and his army from the shores of Attica. This portion of the game is entertaining by all means and unfortunately sets a standard which the remainder does not live up to, especially in relation to oversized boss battles.

The controls are simple, with the Square button causing Kratos to perform quick, "light" attacks, the Triangle button causing him to do far stronger, but alas, slower attacks, with the X button relating to jumping and climbing and the Circle button corresponding with any on screen interaction. Left Stick controls Kratos with Right Stick causing him to roll or dive out of the way of any threats. L1 is block and, if timed correctly, can parry away opponent's attacks. There is a selection of moments when the game requires you to press the buttons in response to command prompts on screen (known as Quick Timer Events or QTEs) but these, cinematically, are few and far between. Generally, the controls work well and I was thoroughly entertained with combat against all varieties of enemies, however, the lack of camera control was missed on occasion.

Following the largely pointless but enjoyable opening chapters, Kratos is presented with the task of locating the missing sun God, Helios and thereafter encounters a decision which, even for the Spartan, is difficult. The mythology is the foundation of the series and I find it a quite interesting and compelling vehicle to drive such a game, however it's certainly underused in any event in Chains of Olympus. There is also a distinct lack of effort on behalf of the game's producers in relation to the plot which I found largely irrelevant and uninformative (especially so after other games in the series) and, whilst the voice acting was good for the most part, Kratos aside, I felt it did little to assist presentation of the weak plot.

I feel there was also wasted potential to delve deeper into Kratos' history in this game, aside from some short lived scenes at the very end, which would have been far more interesting than Kratos' 10 year servitude. This disappointment also applies to the transitions between locations in the game which are poorly constructed and feel like "patchwork" at best.

As in all the God of War games (as I found out), you are presented with a simple yet effective levelling system (accessed via the Start button) which is advanced by using "red orb" points-based gathering. Your primary weapons and "special" moves, which are acquired through progression of the game, can be upgraded to increase strength and allow additional and more interesting attacking combinations to be performed. I found this interesting and it compelled me to progress through the uninteresting plot simply to see what extra moves and attacks I could unlock.

Aside from near-constant attack from all manner of foes (from soldiers to trolls to minotaurs, there is a large variety of combatants most of whom are seen in some form in Greek mythology), the game has several subtle yet straightforward puzzles for you to complete. Generally, these are limited to moving a large stone block around and placing it in the correct location, however, despite my initial worries, I found these weren't as obtrusive as I first thought and eventually became a welcome relief from the primary gameplay.

As the finale loomed (which will take you approximately between 2 to 4 hours to reach depending on the level of difficulty), I found that the graphics presented throughout had been lacklustre, even when considering this game's roots. Many objects and textures were bland, and this was to be found in the game's artistic direction also, with uninspired locales and insipid structures. I appreciate that the game is simply a HD re-master but an injection of clarity and colour was amiss in places.

In conclusion, I was disappointed by the game and, given that this was my first foray into the world of God of War, I was somewhat concerned as to what my opinion and reaction to the other games in the series may be. I was happy to find that my disappointment was soon dismissed after playing Ghost of Sparta and God of War 1 where I discovered why people fell in love with the series in the first place.

In short:


+ Entertaining gameplay.
+ As always, interesting mythology and background.
+ Simple yet effective weapons levelling system.
+ Puzzles, whilst straightforward, are a welcome distraction.


- Short game time (between 2 to 4 hours, depending on difficulty settings).
- Despite PSP origins, textures look bland and uninspiring.
- Art direction is lacking the genius of other God of War games.
- The plot is largely irrelevant and uninformative.
- Transitions between locales are poorly constructed and are somewhat patched together.
- Wasted potential to delve deeper into Kratos' history.
- Lacking in oversized boss battles.
- Simplistic animation in places.
- Aside from one, the special moves are forgettable.
- Lack of camera controls is sometimes frustrating.

Score 2 / 5

- God of War Ghost of Sparta

After playing and completing God of War 1, my interest was completely renewed in the franchise and I went into Ghost of Sparta, the second game in this collection, with interest and anticipation.

We catch up with Kratos following his defeat of Ares and whereby he has been granted the title of God of War, despite his mortal status - a first in the series' lore, apparently. A brief vision of Kratos' long thought dead brother, Deimos sets him on an adventure to find his younger sibling and what transpired on that hellish day in their mutual youth. Whilst the prospect of a plot commencing via a vision is generic and overused at best, it continues at a pace that never lets up combining the lead's encounter with a wide range of brutal, crazy and whimsical characters and a sublime artistic direction making this the far superior game in this collection.

As always, the gameplay remains as tight and entertaining as other God of War games, with responsive controls and a wide array of attacking combinations that make it simply a joy to slash, disembowel and decapitate your way through the horde of enemies wishing to test your skill. The controls remain the same as they were in Chains of Olympus, with a new investment in more QTE (Quick Timer Events) that provide for a more intense cinematic experience. The special moves are a lot more useful this time around (with the levelling system working in the same manner and being just as effective), with certain enemies bearing weaknesses for these moves (and strong defences against others) and therefore forcing you to apply a little bit more strategy than normal.

There are far more interesting set pieces and spectacles to keep you entertained that, on occasion, do take your breath away; just look out for the opening boss battle which is divided up across initial chapters, the escape from the core of the very active volcano, the Return to Sparta and receiving a hero's welcome, right up until the amazing final sequences which lead perfectly onto God of War 2.

There is a lot that Ghost of Sparta got right in this instance and I do feel that the producers, largely, learned from the wrongs of Chains of Olympus and applied them here. I have little complaints over Ghost of Sparta aside from the lack of camera control and short game time (I completed this in close to 4 hours) which were of course present in the previous game. Again, this is probably attributable to the games being designed around the PSP (which has a different controller interface and is designed to be played on the go).

I also found that Ghost of Sparta was sparse on the puzzle front, with none that I can recall being particularly memorable - again, the puzzles I can remember were simply pushing a large stone block around to reach a higher position. Whilst the puzzles within Chains of Olympus weren't different; I seem to recall there were more puzzles that had a different variety. Anyhow, whilst the puzzles served as only a minor distraction from the primary gameplay, this is forgivable.

Finally, whilst not a complaint in particular, the "Return to Sparta" chapter was tantalisingly short and only makes me wish the God of War series was more than just a hack-and-slash / action platformer, and expanded on the levelling elements that could turn this into a lengthier and far deeper experience. However, I appreciate the simplicities of a game that revolves around pure pick-up-and-play arcade-like action, so, really, my preference in this regard did not effect the final score.

All that said, Ghost of Sparta was an absolutely amazing experience, despite its short run time and I will certainly be playing it again sometime soon.

In short:


+ Entertaining gameplay.
+ As always, interesting mythology and background.
+ Simple yet effective weapons levelling system.
+ Despite PSP origins, the graphics are clear, colourful and beautiful in places.
+ Artistic direction purely sublime, mirroring the genius of God of War 1.
+ Great set pieces and well-designed large boss battles.
+ A more interesting plot sees Kratos tracking down his brother, whom he had long thought dead.
+ Smooth flowing transitions between locations.
+ Interesting supporting characters.


- Short game time.
- Lacking in puzzles.
- Lack of camera controls can be frustrating on occasion.

Score 5 / 5

- Conclusion

So, the God of War Collection Volume 2 is a tale of two halves - one subpar and one amazing.

Whilst I was sorely disappointed with Chains of Olympus (even more so considering I had just bought the entire series for the PS3 on a whim...), I was glad that Ghost of Sparta made up for this.

I would recommend purchase of this collection, if only for those God of War fans without a PSP who wish to experience the amazing Ghost of Sparta.

Overall 3.5 / 5
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Chains of Olympus is a great game but isnt as great as the original Ps3 games even though a lot of attention has gone into redoing the graphics and making it (them)HD,I still enjoyed it though.The next game I played was Ghost of Sparta and this was more like what Im used to as Im a huge fan of the series and have the Ps2 games,I would definitely play again and again the God of War Collection,and these Psp port games are a most welcome late addition for my Ps3.The reason for the different feel,play for these 2 games (that are combined onto 1 disc) is that they were done by different directors,thankfully Ghost of Sparta is back into giving you the God of War experience.I was going to buy a Psp when these game's came out so I could play them as I was told that they was very good,glad they got released for the Ps3 later on,well worth the wait and a lot cheaper ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Two great PSP games comes in Blu-Ray disc for Playstation 3 remastered with HD graphics!

God of War: Chains of Olympus is before God of War! You play as Kratos, the Spartan general, champion of the Gods and once again you will destroy Olympus enemies.

God of War: Ghost of Sparta is after God of War and before God of War II. I won't say anything else cause I am gonna spoiler the game to you.

After you finish the game you unlock many extras. God mode, challenge and many others that will keep you busy for some hours more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Although originating from the PSP format, the games don't fail to hold true to it's values and challenges you with new enemies, locations and trippy puzzles that take forever but pay off in the end. Murder, pillage and mow your way through all of mythology's most feared creatures (except Satyrs, in this universe they will own and kick your ass) and to confront Kratos's past if you have only played the console games.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
I was quite late with the God of War series, but I have imediately fallen in love with them. Each installment is visually spectacular(although I have not played GoW Ascension) with every detaill accurate to the mytthology.
Even though these two games were initially for the PSP, the transer's are amazing. The GoW franchise is a definate classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
My son had looked everywhere for this game,came home, had me look in my amazon account and hey presto! He is still playing on it ,but says it is great.As it is a gift, i can't tell you anything about the actual game as i have not played on it,but i feel he would recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
God of War Collection (PS3)
God of War Collection (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)

God of War: Ascension (PS3)
God of War: Ascension (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)

God of War 3 (PS3)
God of War 3 (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.