Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly good - an absolutely terrifying history book from another history
extremely original style you have to remember how a history book would have been written if the axis had won the war - well done Roy Carter!
Published 11 months ago by James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars clever but dull
well thought out alternate history but ultimately as dry as any book on politics real or imagined, rare for me to give up on a book part way through but I gave up on this one, shame I had high hopes for it
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Interestin read, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Good book with an interesting spin on the second world war. I love alternate history books and this did not disappoint. If the Russians could plant agents within the German government, why could the Germans not have done the same or better? Britain has a recent history of our own people spying for others so it is not to far fetched. Would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite keeper for the Alt History fan, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Dave Arthur (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Written from the perspective of a supporter of Oswald allegedly from notes found after his death, it shows just how history could so easily have been different and how actions like the holocaust (which would have been a lot worse) could have been glossed over. In actuality if this had been the real turn of events of course there never would have been a holocaust at least in the eyes of the world in this time.

Very well written although some of the plot lines are a bit implausible and the hero worship of Hitler towards Oswald I believe would have been reversed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Prevented World War 2, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
The Man Who Prevented World War 2 provides a spine chilling alternative to what may have happened in Britain in the 1930s had Oswald Mosley become Prime Minister. As unlikely as this sounds with the benefit of hindsight it was an outside possibility given the rise of Fascism in Germany, Italy and Spain during the period. The prospect of a Britain goose stepping in unison with Hitler, Mussolini and Franco would have been the easy way out at the time for both politicians and the people of the British Isles. Clearly the overall result of this would have been a massive shift in the geo political landscape. Without a doubt world we live in today would have been a much darker and more sinister place.

This is a very profound book which is worth reading if only to ponder on the random nature of life and the seemingly minor decisions that can change the course of history. Once again Roy Carter does not disappoint with his ending which is as surprising as it is apposite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well paced and enigmatic example of alternate history, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this interesting book, and particularly enjoyed the way the author used historical quotations in a new context.
Would enjoy the sequel .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Nah. This genre needs to be snappy and move along at a decent rate. This book doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, a clever reimagining of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Surprisingly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
badly written not worth the download, disjointed and does not hold the reader, was expecting more based on other comments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 12 Sep 2013
By 
F. B. James "fjente" (Doncaster S Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Personally I think that Hitler would have had Mosley exterminated for being to big a threat. Mosley was would not have settled for such a minor part in a vast empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
It's a strange style. The book is written as though it is a textbook glorifying Mosley but the author points out the regime's and Mosley's flaws by drawing attention to criticism and accusations from various people throughout "history". You feel that a propaganda type history book wouldn't bring these things up although I understand that the author wanted to point them out.

It's probably not a book for me but I can see its appeal to alternate history fans. Personally I prefer a book written as a novel not historical text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Prevented WW2
£1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews