Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifyingly good - an absolutely terrifying history book from another history
extremely original style you have to remember how a history book would have been written if the axis had won the war - well done Roy Carter!
Published 6 months ago by James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars clever but dull
well thought out alternate history but ultimately as dry as any book on politics real or imagined, rare for me to give up on a book part way through but I gave up on this one, shame I had high hopes for it
Published 8 months ago by Professor Purchase


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
A horrifying future and a very well written book.
I look forward to next one.
A few points though which have been mentioned by others. Would Hitler have allowed the fictional Moseley to be so
efficient? Wouldn't he want much more of a puppet government. Surely Moseley would have met an unfortunate accident? I can't imagine Stalin visiting England.
Although very well written, the style could have been a little less dry. Towards the end of the book the unthinkable appeared a bit samy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant but worrying at what might have been. The style was of a documentary so real it could have happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars clever but dull, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
well thought out alternate history but ultimately as dry as any book on politics real or imagined, rare for me to give up on a book part way through but I gave up on this one, shame I had high hopes for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fictional biography of Oswald Mosley and about the evils of fascism, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
The question is boils down to for me after finishing this excellent book: As I really like this book, does this mean I am a fascist at heart? I surely hope not, as I do not agree with Oswald Mosley's (and/or Hitler's) views one bit, but this fictional biography portrays him in a positive view, though I believe the author Roy Carter is not a fascist either.

The book is well researched, has very few mistakes (I wish I could let the author know about them, but I found no way to contact him, no web presence etc.) though the formatting sucks (from 38% on my Kindle through to 46% the text is annoyingly in bold).

I read very few genuine (auto)biographies, so I have no real way to judge "The Man Who Prevented WW2" in that regard, but I understand that on a meta-level this can not be a book critical of Mosley and it is there between the lines.

I certainly hope the author will write a second volume dealing with Mosley's later years and (hopefully) his downfall. Highly recommended for modern history buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Long Live The King?, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
A cracking read,as frightening as as it is fascinating.

The only part of this otherwise very good alternative history I have difficulty with is the ease of Britain's armed forces to turn their backs on The Royal Family,in particular the Duke of York ( King George vi) and his family.

I wonder by what mechanism Moseley would have managed to prevent those loyal to the King or his legitimate heir fighting against him and his Government. Hitler of course had his oath of allegence to ensnare the Wermacht and ensure their loyalty.

That aside I look forward to volume 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars different, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
A different slant on would could have happened if Mosley had come to power, and a different world today, a life good for some and slavery for others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not for everyone, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this greatly but a warning is in order. This is written as a 'history book' based on a certain premiss of what happened (which in OTL didn't). It's not a 'thriller' - actually rather a 'chiller' - and anyone who is concerned about 'dodgy dossiers', Iraq, Afganistan and now Mali should read this and think... Remember the victors write the history...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmm, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
It's OK, given that it is a false history based on existing facts, a little unbelievable but one assumes that the fictional author is writing this under the censors hand in an imaginary fascist England. Worth a read, and a reasonable example of what the world could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alternative History - very, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
The 'Hinge Point' of this book is Oswald Mosleys BUF winning a massive parliamentary majority - if you can take that on, the rest is vaguely plausable.
The book is portrayed as a, fawning, political biography of Mosley - with adoring/admiring quotes from A Hitler Esq (retired Leader of Germany).
Strangely there's no mention of the Empire/Commonwealth's reaction to Mosleys usurpation of parliamentary deomocracy through 'emergency powers'.
Pedantically, I laughed when RM Commandos were unleashed against France (Commandos were set up by Churchill to strike back against Nazi occupied Europe) better the author should put 'RM Landing Forces' and I leave it to Bomber Command veterans to say if dropping an A-Bomb from a Lancaster Bomber was a survivable option (it struggled to carry the Barnes-Wallace Tallboy bomb). However this is a good book with much to recommend it - although its assumption that we'd have let our Jewish neighbours be shipped to Russia via Germany is chilling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interestin read, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Prevented WW2 (Kindle Edition)
Good book with an interesting spin on the second world war. I love alternate history books and this did not disappoint. If the Russians could plant agents within the German government, why could the Germans not have done the same or better? Britain has a recent history of our own people spying for others so it is not to far fetched. Would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Prevented WW2
1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews