Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant biker book
As a long time biker I have like many others thought of riding a Harley on route 66 but these guys from hull did it.
It is well written and funny and informative at the same time.
Not the best biker book I have read but it's up there near the top.
Read it, you won't be disappointed.
Well done lads from those who just dream about it.
Published 16 months ago by Hilts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright
Ok, inoffensive, but ultinately forgettable. There are better motorcyle travel books out there. Nevertheless enjoyable enough. Don't be put off though.
Published 17 months ago by BYH46


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant biker book, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
As a long time biker I have like many others thought of riding a Harley on route 66 but these guys from hull did it.
It is well written and funny and informative at the same time.
Not the best biker book I have read but it's up there near the top.
Read it, you won't be disappointed.
Well done lads from those who just dream about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
Ok, inoffensive, but ultinately forgettable. There are better motorcyle travel books out there. Nevertheless enjoyable enough. Don't be put off though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mad dogs and englishmen., 18 July 2011
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
Hats off to the writer and his friends. Mid life crisis or not, a lot of people talk about it but these guys got out there and had a go. An infomative and humerous read. Read this and I dare you to not feel a little envy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone's dream, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, one of those books it's a shame to finish. As Mike says if they can do it so can all us older bikers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More than a holiday, less than an adventure., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
A two week trip across America with five buddies. Good easy read from man who fulfilled his dream, however, it obviously does not have the punch or the variety of situations that you get from the more hard-core long distance bike travel writer.
However, for anyone doing this route it is an excellent source of information for the town's and roads that will be encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 12 Feb 2012
By 
William J (rhoose, vale of glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
I've read some of the less than positive reviews of this book, but before paying any attention to them I strongly advise you to a) buy it, b) read it, and c) make up your own mind, as I found it to be well worth a read. Hats off to Mike and the boys for planning the ride, getting off their backsides, and then seeing it through. We've all thought of doing a ride something like this, or we wouldn't be looking at this book in the first place. Some of Mike's observations are a bit close to the knuckle, but he speaks his mind and that's his style. Having taken a similar plunge (and written about it) I recommend this book to you as having a great deal to offer. William Jonell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
very good just bough an Harley my turn next could almost feel yourself with him interesting and great knowledge back ground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay read..., 12 Nov 2012
By 
P Devall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
I was looking for something to read on the train. As a fair weather rider I like bike travel books to while away the daily commute.

Do I care about grammar? No. Why nitpick?

The trip as described by the author is in language that might occur over a few beers in the pub and it's all the better for it. Theroux he ain't.

All in all a good read and no doubt the book claws back some of the money the trip must have cost. Eaglerider aren't cheap for ant bike hire!

I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the shackles, go ride!, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
This is a great story I enjoyed reading throughout. Six guys decide to cross America on Harley Davidson 'Hogs'. So What? Well To my mind, anyone who throws a leg over a motorcycle to even contemplate such a journey, especially a weighty beast like a Harley after in some cases, a 20 year gap in riding, is a different breed apart from the usual armchair warriors. As Theodore Roosevelt famously once said, "It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles;- the credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust, sweat and blood";- Maybe not blood, but these guys had their fare share of the other two! The way this journey is documented with the casual writing style gives an honest insight into the true psyche of the riders. The journey is related in a fair and honest way without burdening the reader with overly descriptive analysis. To Mike Lisney and friends; you have sown the seeds of motorcycle travel adventure in many a heart I am sure. Great story, great ride, well done the six!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Credit where it's due, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: An American Odyssey (Kindle Edition)
It's worth stating up front that the author deserves credit for organising, undertaking and writing this book.
On the downside, it's a real shame the book is so poorly written - grammar, spelling and sentence construction make it a quite painful experience for anyone who demands basic competence in the written word. That said credit where it's due - they clearly had a ball on their ambitious trip and while many might feel the draw of a bike trip across the US on a hog, few actually follow through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An American Odyssey
An American Odyssey by Mike Lisney
1.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews