Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book
The Thank You Economy is a fantastic insight into how social media is changing the way businesses can interact with their customers. A must read for any marketer or business owner and well worth the time to any keen mind.
Published on 17 May 2011 by Joe R.

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crush It was better (and that was average)
Lots of words - but little information.

Okay for bed-time reading as it will send you asleep.

Fairly boring, Gary doesn't say much in it. I have the Kindle edition and I have made hardly any highlights in it - far less than in any other book I own.

I would recommend that you don't buy this book, just watch his video podcasts instead.
Published on 13 July 2011 by Techboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 17 May 2011
This review is from: The Thank You Economy (Hardcover)
The Thank You Economy is a fantastic insight into how social media is changing the way businesses can interact with their customers. A must read for any marketer or business owner and well worth the time to any keen mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crush It was better (and that was average), 13 July 2011
By 
Techboy (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of words - but little information.

Okay for bed-time reading as it will send you asleep.

Fairly boring, Gary doesn't say much in it. I have the Kindle edition and I have made hardly any highlights in it - far less than in any other book I own.

I would recommend that you don't buy this book, just watch his video podcasts instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and savvy social media advice, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thank You Economy (Hardcover)
According to the French expression, "plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose" (the more things change, the more they stay the same). Marketing consultant Gary Vaynerchuk sees truth in these words. He argues that your great-grandparents probably knew the value of nurturing personal relationships with their customers, but their wisdom vanished when big corporations grew and managers found it more cost-effective to ignore customer concerns. Social media have changed all that, giving marketers the welcome opportunity to connect with current and potential customers in a manner unseen for several generations. If your customers like you, they'll use Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and other networks to sing your praises. If they don't like you, they'll spread that news just as quickly. Vaynerchuk's book might not be revolutionary, but it's a thought-provoking addition to the discourse on social media, and a light, well-argued, entertaining read filled with real-world examples. getAbstract heartily recommends it to managers, employees and customers - to everyone who expects open, honest and caring relationships in their business dealings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grasping the not so-obvious, 31 Aug 2011
By 
Brian (York, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book. Most social media books give a hum-drum of social media history and tell you much of the same things that everyone else tells you. There's some differentiation, but after reading Gary's book, I think they really miss the point.

Gary Vaynerchuk seems to have a real grasp on the real trend of what's happening in the social media revolution. The best advice I've ever received is regarding change is to ignore the technology and understand the fundamental human need that's being met. Gary does this. Social media is a way for us to engage and not just find another media to spam people with our messaging and advertising, and that's the heart of the message of this book - as I understand it.

People aren't stupid, and they don't care what you say about yourself; they want proof that what's on the label is real. No amount of hype will do this. Engagement and content will. True service, not lip service. Social media gives us the platform to value people as people, to let people see what we're really all about, and to spread the word about it.

But Gary goes further and gives you strong examples of how to combine social media with other means to create strategies that have true impact on those you're trying to reach and on what you want to accomplish. While the book doesn't have the step-by-step methodology that some want; if it did, we'd lose the essence of substance and transparency that is the heart of what social media is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Social Media Book, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Chris Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book, didn't like it as much as 'Crush it' but it is full of good as usual from Gary Vaynerchuk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good message but sloppy writing style, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Thank You Economy (Hardcover)
A great book for all businesses especially small to medium size enterprises. Lots of great ideas about delivering the best kind of customer service in this age of social media. The downside for the English reader is the very lazy writing style and sloppy grammar. If you can overcome this, it's a good message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No particular hints, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thank You Economy (Hardcover)
Premises were good. The contents are superficial and everything is centered on the concept of gratifing your customer. There is a collection of experiences which can be useful in specific situations. Use of web 2.0 is mandatory in the vision of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Gary!, 27 Jun 2012
Garys on the money with this one and the advice will suit marketing professionals and small businesses alike. A very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book.. Must read!, 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Thank You Economy (Hardcover)
One of the best written books ive read... Definitely had an impact on my marketing plan. Must read for anyone in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Thank You Economy (Hardcover)
I found The Thank You Economy amazing; a powerful concentration of detailed analysis of real life case studies combined with interesting suggestions about how to run a business in today's world of social media, networks and viral marketing. Quite reassuring when I found myself already sorted under some aspects of the TYE. I now passed it to my business partner and I am working at implemeting the bits that I wasn't already doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews