Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Motherboard
When I first unboxed this board it was imediately obvious that it was well made. It feels good quality, it's thick and not as flexible and doesn't feel as weak as some boards.

These days most boards are getting smaller and smaller. Although not huge, it's nice to have a board that has lots of connectors, pci slots, memory slots and with everything a bit more...
Published on 4 July 2012 by shu48

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely hard to find decent RAM for this motherboard.
Pretty much the title, doesn't work with any of the Corsair series (Pretty much the best one)
The AMD RAM is not available in my country (Either that or Amazon hates them)
Apart from that, it's alright, does it's job, the extras are convenient, although for the size of the board... yeah, not enough extras.
Published 20 months ago by IDK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Motherboard, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
When I first unboxed this board it was imediately obvious that it was well made. It feels good quality, it's thick and not as flexible and doesn't feel as weak as some boards.

These days most boards are getting smaller and smaller. Although not huge, it's nice to have a board that has lots of connectors, pci slots, memory slots and with everything a bit more spread out it makes installing everything or upgrading easier. There's actually room to get in and see what's what. It's not possible to get a board without onboard sound any more as the sound side of things is built into modern cpus but I do like the fact that you can still buy one without onboard video. Onboard video is not normally all that good. I like knowing that none of the money I paid for this has been spent on onboard graphics which I don't use and this board is very compatible and flexible re your chosen graphics solution.

The new bios is very easy to configure and it's nice being able to use the mouse in the bios setup too.

The only bad things I can say about this board is that there are no Linux drivers available and that I had to install a couple of the drivers manually in order to get things working. After installing the all in one driver and everything I thought id need from the installation cd, the wired lan and the usb 3.0 didn't work. Had to manually install the drivers for them. Don't be tempted to go for this board based on the fact it has instant boot. IMO the instant boot utility isn't all it's cracked up to be. Would have been nice to have some screws included in the box.

All in all I really like this bit of hardware. Think I made a good choice buying this one. Haven't had this board for too long so I guess the real test is the test of time. My last board developed a fault with the analogue sound jack after about a year and it's that kind of thing which comes out in the wash over time. Howevewr I feel confident that this board is likely to serve me well and allow me to upgrade a couple of times over the course of the next few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product!, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
This motherboard does everything you need it too. It also has great build quality so don't expect it to break any time soon! The plastic of the board is of good quality to minimize bending when heavy weighted parts are mounted on the board. Has enough slots for all you need, so SLI and Cross-FireX are both available on this board. Plenty of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value board for an AMD based gaming setup, even with and FX8350. Needs a downwards facing CPU cooler to cool the VRMs, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
The quality of this board is evident as soon as you open the box. The finish is smart, the board stiff, the heatsinks etc are smart looking.

What is unique about this board amongst 970 series boards, is that it allows SLI as well as crossfire graphics set-ups. The on board audio sound is good with no hiss audible on my headphones. There is plenty of space between the CPU socket and the memory sockets unlike some boards where the cooler can clash with the memory heatsinks.

Be aware that although it is rated for use with 140W TDP CPUs such as the FX8350, a downwards facing cooler must be used that directs some air on to the VRMs - under the large heatsink between the CPU and the I/O panel. When I first ran an FX8350 on this board with a horizontal flow cooler it occasionally throttled back under high loads. I rectified this by directing airflow on to the VRMs and it has run without a hitch even when playing demanding games such as Battlefield 4 for extended periods at the stock CPU clock. If you want to overclock a high powered CPU such as the FX8350, I'd look for a board with more VRM power available, as this board is approaching its limits with an 8350 at it's standard clock.

Overall I am very pleased with the board. For the cost it is excellent but it has its limitations for overclocking. I'm giving five stars - these limits are not a criticism of the design, just an observation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and ease of use, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Hudson (Eckington, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Investing in this quality motherboard has been one of the best decisions i have made while building my new PC.
After weeks of searching around and balancing the books trying to work out the right cost/performance ratio i came across this board.
Building was a doddle as the layout allows for an aftermarket CPU cooler (in my case a coolermaster hyper tx3) to be installed without fouling any of the ram slots.
As well as this, everything snapped into place with a real quality feel, there is very little flex on the board, not actually a plus point in performance but should make even the most ham fisted of builders feel reassured this will stand the test of time, and all of the components have a very quality feel to them.
Now to the bios, this is the first time that i have used a graphical interface bios and they really are a revelation, using this and the extremely useful manuals that come complete with the board (one for the board itself and one outlining the functions of the bios and how to use them) I managed to get my ripjaws ram running at 2033mhz, control all the fans to give smooth and silent performance and overclock my fx6300 (which compliments the board fantastically i may add) to run stable (using prime95) and cool at 2.4ghz within 30 mins of first booting up the overclock options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Awesome motherboard overall. The graphical BIOS is a nice touch, but the real value is in the overall build quality. I have it running an AMD FX 8350 and a PNY GTX560 Ti OC2 with 8GB RAM, usually running it with all SATA slots busy and a couple USB3.0 disks as well.. stable, good for overclocking and incredibly cheap for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely hard to find decent RAM for this motherboard., 25 July 2013
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Pretty much the title, doesn't work with any of the Corsair series (Pretty much the best one)
The AMD RAM is not available in my country (Either that or Amazon hates them)
Apart from that, it's alright, does it's job, the extras are convenient, although for the size of the board... yeah, not enough extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so Great Value!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
I have recently revised my original review after a long time trying to get this board working with my FX8350, including RMA'ing my CPU, it seems that the 4+1 power phase just can't handle the 8 cores without throttling and to make matters worse it seems Asrock have quietly removed my CPU from the supported list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alot of mobo for your money..., 27 Jan. 2012
By 
J. Cooper "my heart bleeds Tel!" (UK/Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
I built a budget PC back in October and so this is 4 months down the line.
I'm happy with it, its a solid board with enough options for most builders. I managed to get a dirt cheap phenom II 965 cpu but if you want to update the bios for bulldozer there are 3 ways to do it that the previous reviewer just didn't do....a quick google will reveal all.
I bought this one to allow the possibility of crossfire (x8 x8)which I won't be going for anyway just now, maybe later in 2012....the third slot would be an x4 so I wouldn't bother tri-fire, and ayway I use that slot for a Asus Dx soundcard..the onboard sound is great and totally adequate but I needed the dolby digital live capabilities of the dx.
Be aware that because of the layout of the board there are restrictions on what fabster Ram cards you can use...the Kingston Hyperx were one of only two (the other is ciel?) for an 2x4gb setup, but it's awesome ram so no worries there!
I have it running an xfx 6870 gpu , originally in a borrowed sonata 3 case but now in my own df-85.
If you want to really start OCing this board has capabilities but you really would want a higher end board if you are going for an epeen/1337 setup. For anyone building a decent amd based budget rig be aware that you will need to update the biosfor an am3+ setup but I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good brand, excellent performance., 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Excellent board, great performance for the price. You probably won't find a better AM3+ board for the price - providing you the mult-gpu graphics card abilities this board does. Worked flawlessly with OCZ Revodrive SSD card - which is an achievement in itself, considering the enormous compatability issues those cards seem to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mother board!, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard (Personal Computers)
Very good mother board. Auto clock works very easy and gives a great easy boost. Has many function's to clock if choose too and it looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews