Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb air combat game, worthy of recognition.
I love air combat games, especially from the World War 2 genre but sadly most of this style of gameing on the XBox 360 has been pretty disappointing apart from the superb 'IL-2 Sturmovik-Birds of Prey', which came out a couple of years ago.
Well, those wonderful people behind IL-2 have now worked their magic once again with this new simulator, which is way ahead of...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by ravenian

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Graphics are not as good as I thought they would be.
Very disappointed in this game having previously played other Flight games.
I thought the graphics, the navigational aids etc were very poor and I personally would not recommend this game.
Published 3 months ago by David Mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb air combat game, worthy of recognition., 19 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love air combat games, especially from the World War 2 genre but sadly most of this style of gameing on the XBox 360 has been pretty disappointing apart from the superb 'IL-2 Sturmovik-Birds of Prey', which came out a couple of years ago.
Well, those wonderful people behind IL-2 have now worked their magic once again with this new simulator, which is way ahead of the previous game. There is over 100 aircrfat to fly, with masses of missions, online gameplay featuring various dynamic campaigns, single missions and a mission editor which you can use time and time again to create your own versions of gameplay and all to play online, co-op or solo.
The graphics are superb, and the 'Replay' function just absolutely blew me away. It is a truly superb addition to the game. All in all, if you love air combat you will absolutely fall in love with this game.
Five stars...definately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 29 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having been a fan of flight sims since i was a kid i've always looked for realism and deapth in these kind of games so when the creators of the beloved il-2 sturmovik announced they were making a larger game in the same vein i was seriously excited!

Konami and Gaigiin have absoluteley nailed this one to the wall.
the graphics are gorgeous as is the sound (one thing missing from these games is accurate sound, but, the developers went as far as tracking down some of the rareest aircraft in the world and recorded the engine sounds etc for this release). the game is easily played by pilots of all abilities with very simplified settings from the off so dont be put off by the "simulator" monicker. the game can however be played as a very challenging simulator!

the breadth of missions coupled with the huge amount of historically accurate aircraft just add to the allure!

all in all, quite simply the best flight simulator on console ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Combat Flight Simulation, 30 Mar 2012
By 
J. Gloster (at my keyboard typing!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After playing countless hours of wings of prey on the pc it was going to take something very special to get me away from it, and Birds of Steel does just that! This is probably the most realistic experience you can get on the console in this day and age,
Theres lots of birds to choose from and each one is true to its real life counterpart with model/physics as close as possible.
Its defiantly nice to see these planes restored to there full glory and i cant wait to see what DLC surprises we will get from the developers. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and special on XBOX, 9 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What can I say, my PC is dead, so on impulse I searched around for an XBOX combat flight simulator and luckily found this had just been released. It far exceeds my expectations. I had assumed it would be really dumbed down - but no, there is a great deal of depth in this title, but it's very flexible in how it can be played, and has a strong focus on quick action which I like. I appreciate Authentic touches like the Stuka has a glass panel in the floor to allow you to look down between your feet to spot your target perfectly before your dive bombing attack, but if you want it easier, you can use third-person view to follow your plane and use the bombing HUD (just far to easy for my own preference). I tend to use first person cockpit view...most planes have a cockpit that has working (probably authentic) dials. In offline and online play - it can be played in simplified/realistic/simulator modes (and custom mode). In simulator mode, only the cockpit dials let you determine airspeed, altitude and RPM etc. This is quite unique on XBOX. I do love online play in simulator mode - having to watch all angles through the canopy for other planes and bouncing someone with a diving attack, If that isn't to your taste, well at the other extreme is simplified mode, were it's less work to control your aircraft. Still not quite arcade easy/simple but the aircraft behavior is more like a combat sim like ACE 6 - and other aircraft are normally killed with a single direct hit (rather than shot apart bit by bit, as realistically and awesomely required in other modes). Enemy aircraft are tagged with clear friend/foe ID and distance away making the action more intense (but that's not available in simulator mode as such technology wasn't invented in WWII!).

Playing on my 44inch plasma, at times it's stunningly beautiful, as an aircraft flight should be. My one criticism - the sound is not quite what it could be. The aircraft sounds are too quiet for my liking - but perhaps they have this right; it could get annoying after a time.

This is a game I really think needs to be promoted more. Not everyone who has an XBOX has a short attention span. XBOX live is perfect for this kind of game. I hope to shoot your wings off in online play soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb WW2 Air Combat Sim, 13 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this is a review on the campaign. watch other reviews for multiplayer.

It is simply the best air combat sim ive played on console since MIG-29 on sega mega drive in the early 90's.
i would also recommend this over Microsoft Flight Simulator X on PC simply because this is more fun.
The game starts of with "flight school" it is pretty challenging if you are new to flight sims but its
woth putting in the work so you learn to master your plain in different scenarios.
Once you get a grip of all the controlls and learn to manuever your plain and fire of different kinds
of weapons its a joy to fly and you get a real kick out of bombing ships and other planes =)
The campaign has alot of variety in its missions and really put your flight skills at test.
The cockpit view in the airplane is superb and realistic, and the sounds inside the plane makes you feel like you are actually sitting in the plane.
The graphics are also top notch with alot of detail and perfect shades and sunlight.
if you have the slightest interest in flight simulator games / Combat simulator games i recommend you pick this game up asap.

Trust me you will enjoy this game!

(sorry for the bad spelling im from Scandinavia)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Graphics are not as good as I thought they would be., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Very disappointed in this game having previously played other Flight games.
I thought the graphics, the navigational aids etc were very poor and I personally would not recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Brilliant Flight Sim from Gaijin, 7 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Gaijin Entertainment have already produced Birds of Prey and Apache Air Assault for the XBOX 360 and both are superb games with alot of attention to detail. Birds of Steel begins where they started and goes much much further. The planes are beautifully detailed and even in the easier modes, they give the simulation feel without it being onerous or off-putting.

Not only have they given us a great number of missions and a large campaign to play, but there is a mission editor to customise missions to suit the player. This is as good as it will get with combat simulation on the 360. I can thoroughly recommend this game for hours of absorbing gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame this isn't also on PC, 12 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What would WWII be without some history lessons? This game, borrows (like it's predecessor IL2*Sturmovik: Birds of Prey") a lot of IP from the original IL2*Sturmovik on PC. Notably the flight model, and many 3d models such as ships. That original game was developed by a different software house associated with the great Mr Maddox. Regrettably that development team appears to have reached it's end. They appear not to have had the commercial sense and the project management to deliver on a commercial basis (time and product), but became too ambitious in catering to their own tastes in a game in later projects.

That loss is your gain now. How else could such a fully comprehensive and authentic title exist on XBOX 360? No-one would develop it from scratch for XBOX. Gaigin have been free to produce a FUN and user friendly, accessible game at the right time and to a high production standard - that builds on the vast depth and authenticity of the original IP that's still under the bonnet of this glossy XBOX release.

They have already bought consistency of quality and pretty much got most things spot on as a playing experience. But one gripe: shame that target tracking view isn't possible in simulation mode from the cockpit - at least - using the XBOX controller to track and fly is almost impossible. I get a message "Enemy Sighted" but can I follow that plane? Of course in Simplified/Realistic mode you can just press a button to track, it really needs something like that in Simulator mode once the enemy is spotted and still in field of view! But it has to be said: this new game blows me away!

They have bought it all together and surpassed the old masters in many areas. As "Forza" or "Grand Turismo" is to Cars, this is to WWII air combat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gameplay, 29 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is one of the best flight simulator games I've had the pleasure to play on, graphics of the aircraft are second to none. the variation of aircraft from the WW2 conflicts are amazing. The realism really draws you into the game and you find yourself sweating at your involvement in the battles....Do not miss this one...Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gmae, 18 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Impressive realism and lot of plane an mission to play... Unlimited fun through singleplyer and multiplayer missions for unlocks and more more too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds of Steel (Xbox 360)
Birds of Steel (Xbox 360) by Konami (Xbox 360)
44.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews