Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS2 and PSP era MGS in glorious HD.
This is something I've been waiting a long, long time for. Honestly, the delay for the UK version was like a knife twisting in my gut. The PS2 era was my era for gaming, so the series of 'HD Collections' of PS2 era games for the PS3, updated to be played in HD with higher frame rates, have been a godsend for me.

In this HD Collection, we get Metal Gear Solid 2,...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by Bertie Buggerington

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish they would recreate the games from scratch.
The HD has been done well, but I found ms2 almost unplayable. Ms3 was better but the controls are so annoying you really cannot appreciate how controls have become so much better. I have not tried the psp port yet. But what I can say the story's are amongst the best. The character are great. So please redo these again from scratch with not only HD but also new controls. I...
Published 11 months ago by dexter luminol


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS2 and PSP era MGS in glorious HD., 3 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
This is something I've been waiting a long, long time for. Honestly, the delay for the UK version was like a knife twisting in my gut. The PS2 era was my era for gaming, so the series of 'HD Collections' of PS2 era games for the PS3, updated to be played in HD with higher frame rates, have been a godsend for me.

In this HD Collection, we get Metal Gear Solid 2, 3 and, for the first time on a 'big' console, MGS Peace Walker - a PSP title updated for the big screen. Some fans have bemoaned the lack of MGS1, the first game in the 'Solid' era that really brought the series to the attention of the Western world, but I consider this a wise decision. Apparently they explored the possibility of including it but found that a PSX era game could not be upconverted to anything vaguely resembling high definition. Rumour has it that Hideo Kojima has designs on bringing a completely remade version of MGS1 to us at a later date, likely coinciding with an anniversary of some kind. This will be far better in my opinion. In the meantime, for those yet to experience it, the original MGS1 title is available to purchase on PSN for a tiny fee, and for those with an old PSX copy of the game knocking around, you can play it on your PS3 (it was only PS2 backwards compatibility that was sacrificed in later PS3 hardware revisions, so all PS3's play PSX games)

As regards the updated graphics, well they can certainly hold their own now on a modern HD display. I played MGS2 a couple of years ago on my PS2 and it really did suffer on a modern HD display, but now in pure 720p both PS2 games can really hold their heads high. Of course they cannot rival a game such as Uncharted, that was only ever conceived with HD in mind, but for an upconversion job you will be hugely impressed. HD displays tend to fudge the graphics of PS2 games, and I often found it difficult to spot animals and items in the jungle and other shadowy parts of the MGS3 levels. Not so now, the increase in clarity gives you a much better command of your environment. Another great feature is that the games now play in 16:9 widescreen instead of full screen 4:3, and I mean REAL widescreen, not just zoomed and cropped, so we have more side of screen information than we saw in the PS2 versions. For those with the equipment to decode it, audio is full surround sound now, too. Not just in the cut scenes like the originals, but while you're actually playing the levels. This adds a welcome element of reality, as you can hear the direction the enemies are approaching you from.

Words cannot describe how happy I am that they gave us the fully controllable 3rd person camera from MGS3 Subsistence. I always believed that Subsistence turned the vanilla 'Snake Eater' version of the game from merely a good, to a brilliant game. Obviously the technology given to the player has to reflect the period in history concerned, so MGS3 being set in the cold war era 1960's could not have had the state of the art radar system of MGS 1 and 2. All fair and well, until you realise that keeping the overhead camera of the previous games while taking away the radar never made for fluid game-play. The gamer often found himself running into the field of vision of guards and soldiers that you could not yet see in your own field of vision. This led to many tiresome instances of you hiding behind a bush or a rock until the guards had stopped looking for you and your alert level had come down. The only way to avoid this in the vanilla Snake Eater is to stop every few paces and scout the area for enemies with use of the first person perspective button, which takes a lot of fluidity out of the game. Thankfully, this was something that Kojima and team were willing to address for Subsistence. The result is a fully controllable camera, that sits behind the character in a more traditional position, akin to a modern 3rd person game, and can be panned a full 360 degrees to better survey the surrounding territory. It isn't that it makes the game easier, just more fluid. Had they not given us the Subsistence version of MGS3 in this collection, it would definitely have been a deal breaker for me. Of course fans more familiar with the vanilla Snake Eater camera can click a button and play it the old way instead. MGS2 plays as it ever did, which for me is great because if it isn't broke, you don't fix it. Peace Walker plays differently of course, owing to the controls being adapted for the PS3 pad. By most accounts this has improved the game, as we now have a second analogue stick to control the camera, which makes for a more modern feel, or so I'm told.

I have only dipped my toes into Peace Walker as of yet, so I'm far from an authority. Especially so as I never owned a PSP. However, I am pleased with what I see. On the graphics side of things, it doesn't quite shine as much as its two older brothers, but this is of course understandable as it was made for a smaller screen. Anti-aliasing has been applied in spades with the upconversion and, while it does have the higher definition textures, AND gets rid of the jaggies from the PSP version, the anti-aliasing blends and obscures some of the more intricate details I see in screenshots of the original PSP title. However, playing the game in HD on a big screen with a proper control pad is more than worth that sacrifice. I hear that this game is absolutely HUGE, with more hours game play than any incarnation of the series yet. Which is kind of odd considering it was originally made for the smallest system. The comrade system used in the previous PSP title 'Portable Ops' is dropped this time, in favour of a more traditional Co-operative mode, and this forms a BIG part of the game by all accounts. I believe at several points, many gamers feel it is almost mandatory that they receive the help of another player. Of course for this you will need to be connected to the internet. From what I can tell so far, the story is far less bizarre and more straightforward than usual, and is helped along by beautifully rendered graphic novel style cut scenes.

You will also be pleased to hear that they have given us the best of the extra features from the 'Substance' and 'Subsistence' versions of MGS 2 & 3. Most of the immediately noticeable omissions, from memory, seem to be from Subsistence, so there's no Metal Gear Online, as that has been superseded with the online game from MGS4. The Duel Mode and Snake vs Monkey mode also appear to be missing. The skateboarding game from MGS2 Substance isn't here either. But yes, we DO get the most important and anticipated features - the original two 'Metal Gear' era titles that were previously only available on the Japanese MSX home computer system. These are pixel perfect, English language ports and are really good games for their era. They will prove FAR more than a novelty to hardcore fans of the series. We also get the 'Alternative Missions', 'VR Missions' and 'Snake Tales', that all came with MGS2 Subsistence. 'Casting Theater' and 'Boss Survival' modes also become available after completing MGS2 on any difficulty setting.

All in all there is enough Metal Gear Solid here for fans to bathe in for months, and I for one will be putting the Do Not Disturb sign on the door a good many times in the foreseeable future. If you are unfamiliar with the PS2 and PSP eras of the franchise and have only come to the series by way of PS3's MGS4, you really do owe it to yourself to experience these unmissable slices of MGS history. And at this price point, the games have never been cheaper.

*EDIT*: It has come to my attention that to play the game with DTS audio instead of Dolby Digital, you have to untick the Dolby Digital option in the sound settings of your PS3's XMB. This was obviously an oversight on the developer's part, and if you have both the Dolby Digital and DTS options ticked in the PS3's settings, the game will default to Dolby Digital instead of the far superior DTS format. I will inform Konami of this and hopefully they can patch it. Just don't forget to re-tick the Dolby setting afterwards, as it will mess you about with other games, DVD's and Blu-rays if you forget. Another [MAJOR] annoyance I found was that owing to the difference in ratio between the PSP's screen and our 16:9 HDTV's, the default display settings on Peace Walker have a fair bit of text and edge of screen icons seemingly cut off. The in-game pause menu settings have no way to overcome this, and many players have simply put up with the annoyance. However, there is an initial title menu screen in Peace Walker where you start/load your game that is very easy to overlook or skip past (use up and down to select). It has several categories; ranging from deleting save files, changing the in-game language, 'Transfarring' (the ability to use PSP save files on PS3 and visa versa), and finally, hidden away under the 'Extras' category, the ability to adjust the screen to your display. I found that adjusting it so the arrows in the corner barely fit your screen, meaning a tiny amount of black to give you a buffer, is by far the best compromise... but you might want to have a good old tinker with this setting and see what suits your TV best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Nostalgia, its got me (re) hooked!, 11 Feb 2012
By 
R. Keech (Berwick upon Tweed, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a beautiful mix of old and new for me. As a huge fan of the PS2 titles MGS2 and MGS3, I was looking forward to revisiting those titles in shiny new HD. As for Peace Walker, having never played it on PSP, it was all new to me! So I opened the box expecting a 2:1 ration of old to new.

However, I must say I have been impressed beyond all expectation. Starting with MGS2: This game is just as amazing ever - the visuals look fresh and crisp; new yet familiar. Loved this game the first time and have been equally impressed on my return visit. A steady framerate and seemingly improved sound helped keep a very old game feeling like it still had a place on current generation platform.
This brings me to MGS3. This game has probably impressed me the most of the 3! Unless you were lucky enough to get hold of a copy of the now very rare (and expensive) Snake Eater:Subsistence, you have probably only played the flawed masterpiece original MGS3 (or not played at all). The new free roaming camera and GORGEOUS HD visuals of this PS3 version make this feel like a completely different - and much superior game. The game just seems to flow better - and once you get past the lengthy opening and have access to your weapons etc. the game just opens up and feels amazingly current - seriously, it feels more like playing a current PS3 game than it does a PS2 Classic. Thoroughly recommended on the strength of this game alone!

Which bring us to PeaceWalker: A very worthy entry into the Metal Gear universe - and though you can sort of tell this game came from a PSP game when looking at the backgrounds in some blander areas, overall the graphics are just as stunning in HD as the other two games (though they are NOT in 1080p as was previously rumoured, all games play at - a still impressive - 720p). The controls have been well adapted to the PS3 pad (as PSP only has one analogue stick, I was VERY glad of this) and the gameplay has all the elements of classic metal gear PLUS the added bonus of creating BIG BOSS' army as you progress (very different, very addictive!). I can't talk of comparisons to PSP version, as I never played it - but I was sort of glad to have new content in a Classics collection.

Feeling very much like the ratio of old to new has shifted to 1:2, I am heartily impressed with the MGS collection HD. If, like me, you're sitting on the fence with this game feeling like you've seen it all before - I say go for it! MGS3 remake alone is worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two classic PS2 games and a masterpiece PSP game on one disc for <30? Nice., 4 April 2012
By 
A. M. Goodwin (West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid: HD Collection is what it says on the tin. It's a collection of some old classics, brushed up in HD and put on one disc (two on the Xbox 360), not much more nor less really. However, it's an opportunity for not only hardcore fans (like myself) to reconcile their love with these games but a great opportunity for those who missed a few of the games or are simply new to the series and have heard all about Metal Gear and want to give the series a try for themselves, and at a good price.

====================================
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
====================================

Originally released in the UK in March 2002, this was the sequel to the critically acclaimed PSOne game, Metal Gear Solid which came out in the UK in 1999 and the first Metal Gear entry on the PlayStation 2. This game is divided into two chapters, the Tanker (which is more of a prologue) set in the year 2007 and the Plant/Big Shell set in 2009 chapters. In the Tanker chapter you play as Solid Snake who is now a member of the UN recognised anti-Metal Gear group, Philanthropy who, with the backup of old Shadow Moses (see: MGS1) colleague and friend, has been sent to investigate and expose the development of a new Metal Gear project being developed by the U.S. Marine Corps, of course all this goes horribly wrong. The Plant/Big Shell chapter is set two years later and you play as newbie green agent Jack or "Raiden" as he's codenamed to dismantle a terrorist threat and rescue the U.S. President, or so he believes.
The graphics of MGS2 was quite simply stunning and the best ever when this came out, and today in 2012 they still stand their ground, especially with the HD lighting although it's obvious the textures are from the PS2-era. The gameplay and camera feels outdated compared to later entries, but it's faithful to the original MGS1 and introduced new gameplay mechanics such as first-person view/shooting, hiding in lockers, tranq. gun, hiding guards bodies in lockers and toilet cubicles, etc.

================================
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
================================

This was originally released in the UK on the PlayStation 2 in March 2005. Rather than a sequel to MGS2, it's a prequel to the entire series set back during 1964, the height of the Cold War between the East and West, and is appropriately themed.. given that the MGS series have strong storylines which are usually very political and lets not forget the espionage aspect of the stealth genre. In this game you play as Naked Snake (later known as Big Boss), a former US Special Forces "Green Beret" who is a founding member of a new CIA unit called FOX headed by ex-SAS man, Major Zero, and is sent on the debut mission to rescue a Soviet scientist in the prologue chapter (Virtuous Mission), which ends up going wrong of course.
This is the Subsistence version of MGS3, NOT Snake Eater, despite the name. You have the 3D camera (with the option of using the original Snake Eater camera)and you can play the original Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake in the menu, however there is no 'Snake vs. Monkey' like in the originals for some reason. The HD lighting in this game makes it a lot more beautiful than it originally was, and it makes a good change that it's ran at 60fps rather than the original 30fps which is noticeable playing the game - it's the best version of the game yet.
This is my favourite game in the series and one of my favourite games ever. The game features quite a few environments, but it is primarily set in a Soviet jungle and features "survival"-based gameplay.. you hunt animals for food and you have to patch up your wounds from insect bites, stings, leeches, gunshots, burns, etc. The storyline is not as cyberpunkish/complicated as MGS2's, being that it's set several decades beforehand, but the storyline is the most beautiful in the series, the whole game pays a lot of homeage to 1960s movies and the intro/theme song ("Snake Eater" by Cynthia Harrel) is James Bond inspired.

===============================
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker
===============================

This is a fairly recent game, it was originally released in the UK in June 2010 on the PSP. This is set in 1974, 10 years after MGS3, and you yet again play Naked Snake/Big Boss who is the commander of a small private army known as Militaires Sans Frontieres (MSF) based in the Barranquilla Coast, Colombia. His second-in-command is a Japanese-American former member of the Japanese Self-Defence Force and now-mercenary known as Kazuhira Miller, or just "Kaz" (he is the man Liquid Snake murdered and then impersonated in MGS1, as explained in the timeline). They are approached by a supposed university professor and a 16 year old student who request their services in freeing neighbour country Costa Rica from an unknown armed group who are being backed by the CIA, Big Boss is given a personal motivate when he hears a Walkman tape with the voice of his former mentor, The Boss (see: MGS3) talking to an unknown British woman and wonders whether she might still be alive. Like all Metal Gear games, the storyline gets more complicated.
I enjoyed this game when it came out on the PSP nearly two years ago and still do, but out of the three in this collection, it's definitely my least favourite. However, it does look beautiful pepped up on the big screen with the assistance of HD, which is a good feat considering the game was intended for a small screen, however the graphics make it obvious that it's not a PS2 game, the textures are quite blurry and pixelated, the game also retains the comic-book cutscenes from the PSP version which disappointed me because I'd heard they were being replaced with CGI ones which are in the game, but minimal (only at the end and 1 or 2 other parts of the game).
This is different to all the other MGS games in which it has RPG elements. You have to recruit soldiers by effectively kidnapping them and "convincing" them to join, when they join you can sign them to any part of MSF you want. The Combat team, the Research + Development team, the Mess Hall team, the Intelligence/Reconnaissance team and the Medical team, depending on their skill-sets which vary a lot and are ranked. Most of the soldiers you recruit are useless so they aren't any good as you progress through the game, so you have to rely on unique (storyline)characters and POWs which you find around the place, as well as the 'recruit option'. It's a bit like the old Pokemon games really. Fundamentally, it's a Metal Gear Solid game, in the storyline missions you can only play as Big Boss and alone. Despite some of it being jungle environments, you don't use much MGS3 style gameplay except for camouflage. What I love about this game, which bugs me in MGS2/MGS3, is the shooting style (over-the-shoulder and you can aim whilst shooting, rather than stopping and shooting in First-Person View) and how you can crouch-walk. But for some reason you can't crawl through ducts anymore or use lockers, which was a bit of a shame.

So that's all three of the games in this collection summed up, I recommend this collection to all and any Metal Gear fans and it's a great opportunity for those thinking of giving the Metal Gear franchise a go, which you'll either fall in love with, or not like, depending on your tastes in gaming. If you're expecting a mindless Call of Duty shooter with glitzy graphics, turn away. If you're looking for a series with arguably one of the best plots in gaming and a unique gameplay style and a sense of humour, definitely give this series a try. The downside to this collection is that it doesn't include the original Metal Gear Solid or the other PSP MGS, Portable Ops. Another plus, though, is that this is also an opportunity for Xbox 360 owners to play the series and it will also be coming out on the new Sony handheld; the PlayStation VITA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could it really be this perfect?, 13 Feb 2012
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
This High-Definition remastered game has literally left me speechless, before I decided to put in the disk, I got down my old PS2, blew off the dust and whipped in Metal Gear Solid 2 - Sons Of Liberty (PS2), Due to the picture which was originally not meant for 1080p resolution being stretched across an 1080p TV screen, I didn't get that sense of feeling I had when originally playing it. I did this so not only could I compare the difference, but also wanted to check my memory card which I had two saved slots; one from 2003 & another from 2005! Can't believe how long it's been!

So anyway, after having a little browse I decided it was time to turn on the PS3, insert the HD collection and start up the game.

Before you get into the game you are presented with a title screen featuring the games in an order relevant to the MGS story timeline: MGS3 - MGS2 - MGS:PW, I personally really liked the way it was laid out and you even get a chance to view the whole instruction manual before starting the game.

The first one I started with was MGS2, as soon as the opening credit/movie came on I instantly had an overwhelming amount of nostalgia running through my head... it looked beautiful, the up-scaling was PERFECT, it looked just like as if I were playing it for the first time in 2002, if not better!

As for the menu system, you navigate with the "X" button rather than the classic "O", you can still make the thunder sounds at the title screen though. The gameplay is super smooth and whilst a lot of games nowadays have changed the way the button layouts are, you wont struggle going back to the old styled ways EXCEPT for the "First Person Mode" in the VR missions; if anyone is used to playing FPS games like Call of Duty or Battlefield, you will find it extremely hard, but just under the level options; ie. "Level 1", "Level 2" ... "Level 5", you will see a "Controls" tab, click that and change it to "Type 2", this will change it to the style modern FPS use the button & stick layouts.

Just like MGS2, MGS3 & Peacewalker also look amazing in this collection.

I think it's safe to say most people who are checking out this product are people who have played this game before, so if your one of those people who liked this game in the past, I highly recommend this game, you will NOT regret it.

Those who haven't heard of Metal Gear Solid, but like stealth-action-shooting based games with an intensely amazing storyline with a slight complexity to it, I would seriously recommend getting this game and purchasing the original Metal Gear Solid on the PlayStation Network. I would also recommend playing in either two orders:
*Metal Gear Solid 3 -> Metal Gear Solid: Peacewalker -> Metal Gear Solid 1 -> Metal Gear Solid 2 (For timeline order).
*Metal Gear Solid 1 -> Metal Gear Solid 2 -> Metal Gear Solid 3 -> Metal Gear Solid: Peacewalker (Game release order).

If I could give this game collection more stars, I would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD porting at its absolute finest, 24 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
Kojima Productions and Bluepoint have done what is no less than an utterly stellar job at porting these modern classics, which is exactly what these titles deserve.

You get 3 of the most renowned MGS titles in this package, and all of them have been upscaled properly to HD, in true widescreen, and at 60fps with little to no lag whatsoever. All 3 of the titles subsequently are fluid and crystal-clear visually, with the audio proving similar.

Of course, that's not your proverbial lot. The version of MGS3 you get is effectively the much sought-after Subsistence release, meaning you're getting the improved 3D camera from MGS4, as well as both the original MSX Metal Gear titles. MGS3 in HD on its own would have been fairly sufficient to say the least, but the knowledge that you're getting the definitive version of the game is very reassuring indeed.

The biggest changes so far have come to Peace Walker. An excellent game in its own right on the PSP, for sure, but the enhanced controls and crisper visuals just push it up a few notches further. It's also currently the only title to support the hilariously-named Transfarring. At the moment, it allows you to transfer your PW save to-and-from your PSP and PS3; for example, I was able to start from almost exactly where I left off on my PSP copy of PW. The only hitch at the moment with this is that the Transfarred save won't automatically gain any trophies, even if you've completed those particular criteria already, but this makes sense considering. Presumably the functionality will extend to MGS2 and 3 also, when the forthcoming Vita version of MGS HD is released.

If you're a Metal Gear fan, you pretty much owe it to yourself to own this. It's the absolute pinnacle of what the Classics HD line should represent, providing an improved overall experience whilst keeping the feeling of the original games intact. And, if you think about it, you're technically getting 5 games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being re-united with an old friend..., 29 Feb 2012
By 
M. J. Axtell "Jimmy Luxury" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
Its fair to say that I love MGS. Love it. I love the attention to detail, the bat-crap crazy story, the carefully directed gameplay, the Easter eggs and the over-long cutscenes. As a gamer, I 100% bought into the world, where the MGS series constantly battles for my affections as my favourite game series with the Half-Life series. Which one wins is usually the last one I played. So today its the MGS series.

So, if you are like me and love Metal Gear Solid but you have no way to play it because your PS2 broke (and lets face it, I don't really want a PS2 under my TV any more) then you are a lucky lad/lass, because no matter what HD console you bought this generation, you get the pleasure of some of the finest games ever created. In my opinion.

The main menu is the game selection screen. I particularly liked this screen as it displays the games in a form of timeline, where MGS3 comes first and ends with MGS2. When you click on a game a brief description of it comes up along with the original menu music of that game. It was at this point it hit me. When I scrolled across to MGS2 and heard that menu music I just grinned like an idiot. The rush of familiarity just came rushing back, as memories of ten years ago filled my head. So many hours I have spent playing this game. In fact, my original review of MGS2 still survives on this site somewhere. Its terrible.

I started with MGS3 as I have never played it before. About 2 years ago I bought my friends old PS2 just so I could play it, but I never got round to it. I even bought the Subsistence version (2nd hand of course, I'm not obscenely rich) just so I could have the right camera angles. But it looked crap on my big telly, there was no widescreen, the framerate was awfull, the textures were mush and it was impossible to see the guards walking around. Not so with this version. It was a glory to behold. Everything was visible, everything was crisp and sharp, including the poor PS2 textures. Many people will have played MGS3, but few will have played it with the revised camera. The world is far easier to negotiate and makes life easier for those used to playng MGS4. Now I have finally completed it, I can say its probably my favourite MGS in the series. If you want to know what a hard game feels like to play, try this. It's tough if you want to play it right.

Then I picked up MGS2 and all the memories started to flood back. After more than 10 years away I had forgotten much, but there were some things that never left. I remember my excitement when I finally got this game back in the day, I even had a crowd of people watching me play it on my first playthrough. So many happy memories came flooding back. I loved messing with the guards (hold them up, shoot the arm, shoot the radio behind them, shoot the leg, put your gun away and watch what happens), the level design, everything. I can't remember grinning quite so much. What really amazed me was how well it had aged. It still looked fantastic and vibrant, it makes you realize what's important in gaming.

Peace Walker I am still in the process of playing. The mechanics will be familiar to MGS4 fans, the over-the-shoulder weapons aiming is intuitive and the Fulton recovery system takes care of the problem of hiding guards in bushes. It is most definitely a portable game, it's designed to be played in bursts and I am quite enjoying it, but we all know the main show is MGS2 and MGS3. To me, Peace Walker is an added bonus.

On the plus side, all these games have achievements now. In fact, some achievements highlighted things I didn't even know were in these games the first time round (Vamp at the end of MGS2?). Another plus is that all these games look super sharp. MGS3 can now be played the way it was always meant to be; in glorious HD with 60fps (MGS3 was originally meant for the PS3, but Sony couldn't get it out in time).

The down side is that you realise how far game design has come since these games. The control scheme of MGS2 has not aged well, especially if you are trying to first-person aim an M4. I can see this not working at all on XBOX 360 as you need pressure sensitive buttons. It was something I never felt worked very well in the first place and seems even more rediculous now. I wasted so many rounds against the Arsenal Tengu, I ran out after the second wave. Also, no matter how much we all loved the PS2, there is no denying it was rubbish at textures. It's flaws have been made all the more apparent playing these games in HD.

The decade old MGS2 and the 8 year old MGS3 still have so much to offer modern gamers. They contain gameworlds unlike anything else found in other games or indeed books and films, with gameplay that never fails to challenge, excite and amuse you. Upgrading these games to HD means they are well documented for the future and are utterly essential for those that call themselves gamers. Not everyone will love them quite as much as I do, but please give them a chance. They are a very important part of our gaming pop culture.

Even if you own them all on their various platforms, you still need this collection. 30 almost seems too cheap. New versions of MGS are on their way in the form of the Raiden spin-off and a possible MGS5 (which I hope is set in the 80s), but you still need to know how it all began. These titles feel just as relevant now, it kind of makes you feel a little embarassed for new games coming out, like Syndicate, that they cannot get close to the innovation in these old games. For shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Gear Solid, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
I must admit I've not played all the games yet but I just love the Metal Gear Collection you can't go wrong, it's a tried and tested product, what is there to lose :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
an absolutely amazing game,5/5 would recommend to anyone. 3 games on one disc is a bargain, this is a great build up to the highly anticipated Metal Gear Solid Phantom Pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game for any new or old MGS Fan, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
Amazing. Must buy for old/new MGS fans.

Trophies/Achievements make the game a whole lot more interesting, and adds a lot of replayability to these great games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) (Video Game)
Its a good game. The graphics have been polished up nicely and it is a good price for 2 great PS2 games. I haven't touched the other one to be honest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3)
Metal Gear Solid HD - Collection (PS3) by Konami (PlayStation 3)
15.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews