Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful surprise
This is an adventure game set up in a turn-of-the-century Paris. It features a professor of natural history who likes to solve mysteries, and surrounds itself with other interesting characters.

The concept is that you get to explore the city and the catacombs beneath it.

When it comes to the surface of the city, the game gives you an opportunity to...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by M. Roman

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No laughing policemen
I wrote a really long review and lost it argggghhhhhhhhhh, so I'll just say, this game is repetitive to the point of tedium, solve a map, enter a "dungeon" beat it with the same method over and over again, get another map etc etc. The spot the difference puzzles are the worst as the pictures a so grainy you need to zoom in to have any idea of where a difference might be,...
Published 24 months ago by R. J. Lomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful surprise, 2 Dec 2011
By 
M. Roman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is an adventure game set up in a turn-of-the-century Paris. It features a professor of natural history who likes to solve mysteries, and surrounds itself with other interesting characters.

The concept is that you get to explore the city and the catacombs beneath it.

When it comes to the surface of the city, the game gives you an opportunity to learn quite a few true facts about old and modern Paris (as well as other things too). The amount of research that went in the game is quite impressive.

When exploring the catacombs, there's a labyrinth aspect to it. You need to avoid policemen (they have patterns that reminded me of the game "Commandos"). And perhaps move some boxes to reach certain areas.

Reaching some areas of the underground will also ask you to solve puzzles. These are not very difficult. In fact, there are only a few categories of puzzles. They are easy, but still rewarding, and don't break the flow of the story. After all, you already did some work to get to the puzzles. And there's other work ahead, as you get to "tame" the spirits that inhabit the treasures.

Since this is more of a Japanese vision of Paris, the catacombs hold treasures. Some of these treasures have a "guardian spirit", which must be defeated by using the other spirits in your possession.

My impressions so far (five hours in the game):

- well-written, fun non-violent story
- unique mix of game mechanisms
- good production values, with excellent voices and nice anime cartoons

But if you are the kind of player that would skip story scenes to get to the next mega-challenging puzzle, then probably this is not a game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor, Doctor, I'm going in Seine!, 6 Nov 2012
By 
J. D. BLACKBURN (Wetherby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights is a seriously good game. As other reviewers have noted, there are an awful lot of conversations between the characters, much of which is unnecessary. But the actual labyrinths are often fiendishly difficult and in many locations you have to deliberately fall off platforms to get to a treasure chest or doorway. There are two Boss monsters to defeat and they transform into a different form just when you think you've won.
However, the best bit is when the game is over and the credits have run, because then you get to carry on exploring even more difficult labyrinths and taming tougher monsters. The main game took me about 58 hours and I am a further 20 hours into the second section.
My advice for this game is to save often, particularly when you reach a puzzle door, as some of the puzzles are quite tricky--like the Mensa-style sequence and the Minefield--and you can cheat a bit then reload your saved game and sail through the puzzle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun little puzzle title reminiscent of Professor Layton, 1 Dec 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The first decent puzzling adventure on 3DS. There are more than a few similarities to Professor Layton, but in this case, that isn't a bad thing - the game's good fun. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Layton? I think not!, 2 July 2013
By 
H. R. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I bought this game after seeing the trailer, thinking it was just another Professor Layton. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the game was nothing like the Professor Layton series. With a great story and lovely set of lovable characters you can't really go wrong.

The puzzles do get awfully repetitive as they are the same type of puzzles throughout the game, however, the interesting third person puzzles that involve moving boxes and going all Metal Gear Solid by avoiding guards is a nice break between the quick fire puzzles that block your way. The game has battle aspect to it that makes it stand out from Layton, you proceed to put down artefacts that you had previously caught and try to knock down the target's 'health' to a certain point where you either knock it out or catch it. They did neglect to show this on the trailer originally which was probably why many people pinned it as a "Professor Layton rip-off". I only see a few similarities which is the appearance of the characters and the tendency to slip into animation to tell the story.

Overall, the game was fun to play and if you can battle through the repetitive puzzles it's worth it for the story and the artefact battles held within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
this game is somewhat of a hidden gem. tough puzzles, great scenes, highly recommended and at a decent price for a 3d game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT a Prof. Layton clone!!!!!, 4 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
i've played this game for 10 hours or so. the first thing i would like to say is that it is certainly not a Layton rip-off. I've played all the Layton games on the Ds (which i've thoroughly enjoyed) and i can say that this game is totally different. it is a mixture of rpg, (a bit of ) platform, and puzzle-solving. the graphics are brilliant, the music and voice-acting are a joy to hear and overall this game is great for relaxation after a tough day. it is true that i haven't noticed any climax in the game, it seems to be a bit flat, but nonetheless i seriously recommend this game. if a sequel hopefully appears and the action, suspense, and combat mechanisms are worked upon, then we are going to have a truly outstanding game.
the 3ds is getting better and better by the day!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No laughing policemen, 3 Aug 2012
By 
R. J. Lomas "nekosensei" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I wrote a really long review and lost it argggghhhhhhhhhh, so I'll just say, this game is repetitive to the point of tedium, solve a map, enter a "dungeon" beat it with the same method over and over again, get another map etc etc. The spot the difference puzzles are the worst as the pictures a so grainy you need to zoom in to have any idea of where a difference might be, except you can't . The endless rooms full of policemen and crates you have to stealthily sneak around is, yes, the only challenge, but nail bitingly frustrating as you go back to square one if they spot you. The main area this game suffers is the fact that it doesn't know what it wants to be and so ends up lacking in all areas. I liked the treasure animatus, they are beautifully rendered (but you can't see them in a menu or anything only in their brief cut scenes) but you just get them to get more, you don't feel like you're really achieving anything or getting anywhere. Also, be warned the battle system is really vague and not brilliantly explained. In a cynical gameplay move, unless you compleat all of a "dungeon" it resets itself, you don't keep what you've found, you have to start all over again which is really frustrating as some doors in the labyrinth are very hard to spot and not all areas are marked on the maps.
It gets 3 stars for the music and the graphics which are both lovely (although if I was Sophie I have to say I'd've beaten the pompous, stuck up doc with a wet kipper and gone off to enjoy Paris above ground for a bit,) but it could have been so much more, if you love brain bending puzzles stick with Layton and if you want to collect critters try Pokemon, I'll go back to my rpg's, whatever you do though, just keep clear of those policemen....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Graphics are superb and so many different parts to the game.
Very addictive.
Would recommend to anyone who enjoys Professor Layton games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3DS, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Glenis Wright (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Only had a quick play on this game but find it enjoyable and different from other puzzle games, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Lautrec and The Forgotten Knights (Nintendo 3DS)
44.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews