Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and challenging - a brilliant movie!
A real gem of a movie that provides a very interesting (and quite surprising) insight into today's Iranian society. Although the story is better left untold, the script challenges you in your perception and opinion of the main characters scene after scene. The acting is top-notch and, although the pace is quite measured, the movie is never dull or boring. A movie I would...
Published on 2 July 2011 by The Grenouille

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rather grim film
very well acted but a rather grim film do not watch it if you feel down its more of a film buffs film
Published 19 months ago by JOHN COKE


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and challenging - a brilliant movie!, 2 July 2011
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
A real gem of a movie that provides a very interesting (and quite surprising) insight into today's Iranian society. Although the story is better left untold, the script challenges you in your perception and opinion of the main characters scene after scene. The acting is top-notch and, although the pace is quite measured, the movie is never dull or boring. A movie I would warmly recommend to anybody who has a brain, a curiosity for the world out there, and thinks that there is a life beyond Transformers 27!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three cheers for Iranian cinema!, 4 Dec 2013
By 
J. J. Ward (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Separation [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film starts very slowly. For the first thirty minutes, I wondered why I was even watching it. It seemed a thinly disguised documentary about a man, Nader, with a senile father, and whose wife, Simin, is leaving him. Their eleven year-old daughter, Termeh, is emotionally torn between her parents. Ordinary enough, and nothing specifically Iranian about it.

That all changes when Nader hires a carer for his father. A deeply religious, pregnant young woman called Razieh. Unfortunately, one day, she leaves the house and ties the elderly man to the bed, to stop him wandering off. When Nader returns, Razieh is nowhere to be found and the old guy is close to death. Nader revives him, and when Razieh returns he berates her and fires her. She becomes so upset, he has to forcibly eject her from his flat. She then miscarries.

What follows is a series of trips to a judge to determine the true course of events and who did what, when, to whom. No one is truly honest, although things improve in this respect as the movie goes on, and in this sense, the characters develop.

By the end, it is the women who emerge with the credit. The men - Nader and Razieh's husband, Hodjat - look dysfunctional and incapable of progress. I won't say any more, because that would involve spoilers.

The acting is superb. For some strange reason, I really like the Iranians, though obviously not the clerics, the revolutionary guards, or any of that dismal crowd. Iranian cinema is a credit to the nation, and shows the world that this country is far from the evil beast portrayed in TV series such as Homeland. In this rich, multilayered film, you really appreciate that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from far-fetched with incredible acting, 23 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
Some people dislike films which are too serious. Of course, seriousness is everyday reality and this picture is a masterclass demonstration of true life tribulation which made me think & place myself in it's scenario. Too many writers focus on falsified lifestyles, distorted characters, far-fetched scenarios and unreachable settings which regular folk just cannot possibly relate to.

I've never felt more empathy towards individual characters in a screenplay collectively - despite them all being almost totally at odds with each other. It seemed that every scene of this film was intricately crafted by direction to make the screenplay feel natural as opposed to sheer improvisation (if any of it is improvised; it's the best I've seen). The realism of the story and performances grab hold of your attention tightly from the very start right through to the end keeping you at the edge.

There are no fillers or futile scenes bulking out the feature length 2 hours. Every line strictly pertains to an emotion-soaked, bad dream situation which could arguably happen to anyone. It continually surprised me along the way with extra revelations about the facts of the situation. The pace and intensity at which these facts are unveiled, made me feel as if someone was breaking news to me personally since the drama did such a good job at vesting my interest in everyone's angle.

The film title didn't presumably promote any anticipation of wild enjoyment to me so I slept on it for months. However, upon eventually firing it up, I discovered immediately that I painfully misjudged it as just some better-than-average rom-com leading to a break-up, wow... it is not that at all and is much much deeper than a mere separation on many levels; although that is the nucleus of the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing movie. I'd be surprised if viewers weren't greatly affected by it, 26 April 2012
By 
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
I have never been as tense watching a movie as when I watched "A Separation". But is not a political thriller or an action movie filled with car chases. When we watch those types of movies we know that the events we see will never happen to us so we can sit back and enjoy them.

I think the reason I got so "into" this movie is that the events portrayed in it very easily could happen to me or my friends and family. It is basically a domestic drama, starting with a marriage breakdown.

The amazing opening scene shows an Iranian woman and her husband speaking to a judge. She wants a divorce as she has a visa to settle in another country but he says he can't leave, as he has to look after his elderly father, who has Alzheimer's. It's sadly obvious that their relationship has completely broken down. The judge doesn't agree to the divorce but the wife goes to live with her mother. Their teenage daughter decides to stay with her father and he employs woman to look after his father when there is no one else at home.

From there on a series of seemingly insignificant events have major consequences. Giving any more details of the plot might spoil your enjoyment of the movie.

However if you have ever had a sick relative, been angry at your spouse/partner, been unhappy with work someone has done for you or told a lie for what you thought was a good reason I think this movie will affect you greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
A superbly made film, made in an almost documentary style. There is no background music. The acting is faultless by the entire cast, and being an Iranian speaker, I appreciate the nuances of the acting which reading subtitles does not give. It's often difficult to believe they were acting. My only little gripe was the casting of the directors daughter as an eleven year old. She is a superb actress but she looked as if she is sixteen or seventeen. I highly recommend the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good film, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
Although it is a sad story, it is very well made and a very good film. I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insight into Iran, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
As an Iranian born in the UK I found this film thoroughly interesting. Although I have visited before this film dissects the modern culture and how it has reacted to the recent troubles. The characters are diverse and as the plot thickens you may find yourself switching opinions rapidly. But in the end it portrays a compassionate yet troubled insight into the Iran that they are faced with now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie with good quality, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
Positive:
It is a great movie, definitely worth watching. (one of the best Iranian movies I've seen so far)
The qualities of video and audio are quite good.

Negative:
This DVD comes with only English subtitle (if there are more, i couldn't find them in the menu), and as a Farsi speaker I can say that the subtitles are heavily simplified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping, Complex Drama, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
Iranian cinema in the last twenty years has produced some excellent films, particularly Kiarostami's films of the 90s. A Separation is another great example of contemporary Iranian cinema; however, it's so good that I find myself recommending it to people who I know don't have a strong interest in world cinema.

In Asghar Farhadi's fifth feature we are drawn into the problems of a couple going through a separation and how this affects the man's relationship with his father suffering from alzheimer's and the couple's relationship with their daughter, caught in the middle. On the face of it A Separation is a mystery story, but what unfolds is a drama of moral and ethical complexity and great emotional turmoil.

With some superb performances (check out the daughter in the penultimate scene), and twists you don't see coming, A Separation will stay with you for days after seeing it and deserves every award bestowed upon it.

Brilliant filmmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Human Drama, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Separation [DVD] (DVD)
Iranian Asghar Farhadi's highly acclaimed film is an intensely emotional and human drama set in modern day Tehran. Of course, whilst Iranian cinema has over the years achieved a good deal of cinematic notoriety with numerous film festival accolades, it is also good to see wider audience recognition for the country's film output, particularly in the light of the recent oppression of some of Iran's leading film-makers (Jafar Panahi, Mohsen Makhmalbaf). In relation to A Separation, it is interesting to note that, whilst the studied nature of the film is perhaps typical of other Iranian directors such as Panahi and the early films of Abbas Kiarostami, Farhadi's essentially domestic tale of family and class conflict (albeit with the overriding presence of strict religious observance) could easily be transferred to apply to many cultures and nationalities.

Shot in (at times) semi-documentary style using hand held cameras, and with no musical score (save for the exquisite theme played over the closing credits), A Separation tells the heart-rending story of a couple's (husband Nader and wife Simin) pending divorce, and its impact on their immediate family, in particular a lone daughter and the husband's live-in father, who is suffering from Alzheimer's disease. Following Simin's leaving home, Nader is forced to employ a female carer for his father and a tragic set of events lead to the carer and her husband becoming embroiled with Nader and Simin (who represent a higher class in Iranian society) in a series of potential criminal prosecutions. The relatively slow pace of Farhadi's film is, therefore, rather deceptive and instead the audience becomes captivated by what is a brilliantly compelling and insightful tale of family duty, pride, confused loyalty, guilt and class frictions. Farhadi's film is peppered with nice (and often progressive) observational touches, such as Nader and Simin's use of an electric dishwasher (dispelling western audiences' misplaced views of Iranian society) and the (altogether more serious) treatment of an Alzheimer's sufferer. In terms of other film-makers, Farhadi's film is for me reminiscent of the works of the Dardennes brothers (subject-wise) and Michael Haneke (style-wise).

Acting wise, the film is virtually faultless, but particular mention should go to Peyman Moaadi as the stubborn and belligerent Nader, whose devotion to his family (father, daughter, wife) leads him down an increasingly shady path, Leila Hatami as Nader's equally combative wife Simin, and to their two adversaries, Shahab Hosseini as the increasingly volatile (and disadvantaged) husband Hodjat and Sareh Bayat as Hodjat's retiring and subservient wife, Razieh.

Farhadi is particularly careful not to explicitly judge any of his characters, but rather to present their own points of view (largely) sympathetically. A Separation therefore provides the audience with no easy resolutions, an approach which is exemplified in the film's brilliant concluding sequence as Nader and Simin return to their divorce judge and prepare to learn which of them is to have custody of their daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Separation [DVD]
A Separation [DVD] by Asghar Farhadi (DVD - 2011)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews