Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent image quality & great value
The image quality of this lens is excellent: it is very sharp wide open and it renders out-of-focus areas beautifully.
The auto-focus is fast.
The built quality is good (not as high as the 17mm, for instance, but still absolutely fine).
It is a really small lens, so it is easy to carry in your pocket for when you need it (it is a slight telephoto lens, so...
Published 6 months ago by D

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flare?
Initially i thought this lens was wonderful but it 'flares' (I've forgotten the correct term...normally happens when sunlight causes that smear of rainbow light) - I noticed it immediately but thought perhaps this was normal but I'm now thinking it is pretty much useless for what I need it for as these flares appear all the time. From car headlights, to the moon, etc...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. M. A. Canavan


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent image quality & great value, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The image quality of this lens is excellent: it is very sharp wide open and it renders out-of-focus areas beautifully.
The auto-focus is fast.
The built quality is good (not as high as the 17mm, for instance, but still absolutely fine).
It is a really small lens, so it is easy to carry in your pocket for when you need it (it is a slight telephoto lens, so you are not likely to keep it on your camera as a general purpose lens; Olympus advertises it as a portrait lens - which it is very good for - but it has more uses (see below)).
Assuming you already have a kit-zoom on your camera (which would typically cover the field of vision offered by this lens), this lens would allow you to do the following:
(1) you can take photos handheld without flash when there is less light (evening, indoors) compared to your kit zoom
(2) you can isolate your subject (make it stand out more) by creating backgrounds that are out-of-focus (great for portraits, but not only that), which can look really beautiful.
I would recommend this to a friend. However, if you have a Panasonic camera (except the GX7) you should be aware that this lens has no image stabilisation (while Olympus cameras all have image stabilisation built in).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olympus M.Zuiko 17mm 1:1.8 Lens - Black, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this is a very good lens, I was none the less astonished to see that so many people had written reviews, 95 at the time of going to press.
On closer inspection it turned out that the majority of correspondents were expressing their views about completely different lens's, 45mm, 75mm, various zooms etc. and only a few were actually about the 17mm 1:1.8. Not the end of the world, but confusing and obviously something of a balls up. This by way of an explanation for the title of my review.
By now this lens doesn't really require another paean of praise from me, suffice to say that it is excellent. Beautifully made, producing very good results (photographer permitting). The black version is preferable to the silver one, simply because the latter has an awful champagne/beige tint, which doesn't look good on OM-D's or the latest Pen.
My only reservation is that they produced this and other new MFT lens's without making them splash and dust proof. There seems to be a certain futility in "proofing" the camera, but not the lens. I know, the kit zooms supplied with the EM-5 and EM-1 are, like the camera splash and dust proofed; the one is unexceptional and the other exceedingly, possibly justifiably expensive.
And yet, despite this deficiency, which almost caused me to remove a star, this lens is very much worth having and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase!, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, but could be made ​​of metal, such as Olympus 12mm. The plastic construction is good, reflex light in weight. Sharpness and a very good for portraits. One of the three lenses essentials for the micro four thirds system. The others are: Oly Zuiko 12mm 2.0 and Panasonic 25mm 1.4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...this lens should scare the pants off Zeiss and Leica!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...put simply - a really beautiful lens - needle sharp and with beautiful bokeh, regardless of the micro four thirds considerations.
Extremely well constructed of metal. I have a collection of Leica M lenses and I would happily put this lens up against some of those Leica lenses for IQ and bokeh.

A "must have" for anyone with an OM D em5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Lens!!!!, 14 April 2013
By 
J. Harris (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the money there is no better lens for the Olympus Pen. A true must have....don't think about just buy the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Olympus zoom lens, 19 Jan 2013
By 
CTB Helps "Kit the Surveyor" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Electronics)
When I cant get close enough I change to this lens.

It is just as sharp, light and convenient as the normal lens, and with a UV filter, bought separately is ideal for all situations. The Olympus mini 3/4 mount is quick and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, fast, cheap., 29 April 2012
By 
Louis Dobson (Santa Barbara De Nexe, Portugal) - See all my reviews
A fave of mine, and for the money a must have. It has one single weakness - used as landscape lens (which it is not) near wide open you can get hard to correct chromatic abberation. That's why it is 250 and not 500 - no fancy glass used. However, wide open as a portrait lens and stopped down a bit for anything else it is pretty much perfect. If you bought an MFT camera with a kit lens and are looking for something a bit cleverer - look no further. A star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tele lens, 10 Feb 2013
By 
David J. Wilson "Gadget" (Camberley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Electronics)
This was the perfect lens, to be able to get closer, to subject with my Olympus EP1. not too big or heavy, but with very sharp image and on Amazon, found at a very good used but new price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 29 Nov 2012
This lens, along with the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7, is one of the best value prime lenses for micro four-thirds format.

Sharpness-wise it is only slightly better than the 14-45mm zoom lens that I own, but it wins hands down because of its wide maximum aperture. At f/1.8, it is capable of beautiful indoor portraits, whereas the zoom lens would struggle. Shallow depth-of-field effects are also possible, unlike the zoom lens. The 50cm minimum focus distance, although not outstanding, also makes this lens useful for close-up detail work (though a dedicated macro lens would be better in this regard).

The price is right, and it fills a big gap in the m4/3 lens line-up. The only alternative at this focal length is the expensive Panasonic/"Leica" 45mm macro.

Build quality is very good, and the manual focus ring is smoothly damped (it feels better than the Panasonic lenses).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb clarity, works beautifully as additional lens to 14-42 supplied with Pen camera, 26 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Electronics)
I bought this lens to help me take zoom shots of F1 - notoriously difficult due to the speed of the cars and need for long zooms. I have to say this works brilliantly in conjunction with the Olympus Pen camera's built-in image stabilization to give clear, sharp images even at full zoom. Note to Panasonic users - there's no image stabilization built into the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews