Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb clarity, works beautifully as additional lens to 14-42 supplied with Pen camera
I bought this lens to help me take zoom shots of F1 - notoriously difficult due to the speed of the cars and need for long zooms. I have to say this works brilliantly in conjunction with the Olympus Pen camera's built-in image stabilization to give clear, sharp images even at full zoom. Note to Panasonic users - there's no image stabilization built into the lens.
Published on 26 May 2012 by Richard Gledhill

versus
4 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm. Needs a tripod.
Zooms=tripods unless you've got a very steady hand. Very light weight lens and with image stabilisation built into the Olympus body, what more could you ask for. But remember the tripod!!
Published on 7 Feb. 2012 by Dr. S. Arif


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb clarity, works beautifully as additional lens to 14-42 supplied with Pen camera, 26 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Accessory)
I bought this lens to help me take zoom shots of F1 - notoriously difficult due to the speed of the cars and need for long zooms. I have to say this works brilliantly in conjunction with the Olympus Pen camera's built-in image stabilization to give clear, sharp images even at full zoom. Note to Panasonic users - there's no image stabilization built into the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tele lens, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
David J. Wilson "Gadget" (Camberley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Accessory)
This was the perfect lens, to be able to get closer, to subject with my Olympus EP1. not too big or heavy, but with very sharp image and on Amazon, found at a very good used but new price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm no expert, but I love it!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Accessory)
I'm more the point-and-shoot calibre of photographer and this lens, for the quality that it is, was well within even my budget. The lens itself is exactly what I wanted (I won't go into tehcnical details because they're already explained!) and performs excellently, particularly the almost SILENT focusing mechanisms. I have an Olympus PEN EPL1 DSLR and, combined with this lens, I've never taken better pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best value for money m43rds lens, 7 Feb. 2015
By 
Pauline Belford (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this lens for Christmas last year. Given the price, I wasn't sure how good it would be, but it provides great value for money. The lens is more than twice as large as the 14 - 42mm kit lens, but is very light. It seems sturdy enough, but I wouldn't like to drop it. It's plastic construction and not weather proof.

The lens is really sharp, even wide open, and can produce shallow depth of field with good bokeh, especially at longer focal lengths. Due to the slow max aperture, it's not ideal as a portrait lens. At 45mm the depth of field isn't shallow enough, and at the longer end you need too much working distance. It's great for taking close ups of architectural details in large buildings, or slow-moving animals that aren't too close or far away. I've also got some nice shots of sunsets and moon rise at the longer end of the zoom.

The lens is light enough to use without a tripod in good light, though as it is non-stabilised this may only apply to users with Olympus cameras which have IBIS. In low light, the focal length means you really need a tripod. Minimum focus distance is around 90cm away meaning you can't really use this for close-ups of small objects as an alternative to a macro lens.

The lens isn't perfect, but it's great for what it is. It's much lighter and easy to carry around than the new pro 40 - 150 zoom, and much better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens for little money!, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great lens, light and very good quality! Much cheaper than in the Netherlands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value, great piece of kit, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Astonishing value for a lens that really gives results. The overall appearance is slightly plasticky, with mould lines on the barrel, but this is far outweighed by the quality of the images. I use it with my Panasonic GX7, it's a great match. My only slight beef is with the cap - the tabs are small and positioned on the outside edge, which makes it difficult to remove when paired with a hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoom lens, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality lens,nice price,works well,quick delivery,packed well,1st class service,used it to photo the new Grandchild pictures are brilliant would recomend to anyone yours Mr JD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Accessory)
I'd recently purchased an Olympus OMD with the standard kit lens - and when I saw this at a snip at £120 bought it on impulse. Small, light and plasticky - I compared it next to my old OM1 28mm lens and it was a third less the weight and only slightly longer. The lens does not feature a powered zoom so would not ideal for movies - but as there would probably be too much shudder (at least without a tripod) to make this practical I would have thought not a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good budget offering from Olympus!, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 40-150mm 1:4.0-5.6 R Lens - Black (Accessory)
If you need the extra reach that this lens provides you can't go wrong. It has an equivalent 80-300mm on full frame so can come in very handy when you need to get closer to the action. Good for Wildlife, Weddings etc but be aware this is a kit tele zoom so does have a slow variable aperture f4-5.6 so requires good light if you want it at it's best! The pro version 40 - 150mm f2.8 is of course a superior lens, weather sealed, metal build constant 2.8 aperture (much better for low light and bokeh) but retails for over £1000! This lens is light, compact and pretty sharp for a kit lens. For the price it's a very good alternative for those that don't want to spend or can't afford it's pricey big Brother! I use this lens with the superb Zuiko 17mm f1.8 and 45mm f1.8 for weddings etc. It's capable of pretty good results from 40-100mm and still very usable at 150mm. Bare in mind it will not give you the same level of image quality of its big Brother but when you look at the price ratio of the 2 lenses it's a very good choice for those on a budget! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely telephoto lenses, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a good lenses for all purpose photograthy covers all needed distances also great quality does everything needed for portraits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews