Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In America, I grew up with Cushing as my hero!
We've been pretty lucky in America during the past five years of the DVD boom. (I know DVD has been around twice that, but it's only the past five years the studios have started listening to you and I about what WE want on DVD) I've gotten to see more quality Hammer Studio releases of wonderful movies, like "The Abominable Snowman", then I ever did during the vhs era...
Published on 26 Sep 2005 by Robert E. Rodden II

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a bit lame.....................
not one of my favourite hammer films,,,its in black and white and a bit lame to be honest.................
Published 20 days ago by robbo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In America, I grew up with Cushing as my hero!, 26 Sep 2005
By 
Robert E. Rodden II (Peoria, IL. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We've been pretty lucky in America during the past five years of the DVD boom. (I know DVD has been around twice that, but it's only the past five years the studios have started listening to you and I about what WE want on DVD) I've gotten to see more quality Hammer Studio releases of wonderful movies, like "The Abominable Snowman", then I ever did during the vhs era. And a lot of this thanks goes to AnchorBay Entertainment, who went out of their way to get permission to release them, in their original aspect ratio, and in the best possible shape they could find. This DVD is one of the gems of my collection.
The picture quality is stunning for such an old film. And to know that many of the outdoor and indoor Himalayan sets were put together in England is astounding. The sound is crips and clean. And the picture is animorphic Widescreen for those lucky enough to have a Widescreen TV.
If you don't know the story, briefly, Dr. John Rollason (Cushing) is a gentle, humane scientist working in the Himalayas with his wife and friend/co-worker, supposedly catalouging rare plantlife in a hostile region. We discover shortly that American explorer and exploiter, Tom Friend (Forrest Tucker) and his partner (Played by Robert Brown) are hooking up with Rollason for an expedition to find the one, true Yeti. Both men are driven, one by the purity of science and humanity, the other by his greed and hunger for fame. They are pushed to the limits in an hostile world that can kill at anytime. And when they come face-to-face with the Yeti, the clash of personalities no longer matters, because each man must now face his own fears alone with the only true weapons that will work; their strengths, and their weaknesses.
This was a pretty giant production for Hammer. And they handled it wonderfully, giving us B-Horror hungry fans something a giant step above flesh-eating monsters and alien invaders; they gave us an intellegent, thinking-man's adventure story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Hammer Gem, 2 April 2009
By 
This is not your average monster movie!

A convincing cast led by Peter Cushing, with Forrest Tucker to add appeal for the American market.

This is a very intelligent look at the Abominable Snowman legend. There was quite a buzz in the early 50's about conquering Everest, and seeing unidentified footprints high in the snowfields.

Here is where Hammer caught the public's imagination, with this low budget effort. But please don't be put off by the low budget bit, if anything it made the production more efficient at telling a good story, without the need to substitute the story for eye-candy effects.
I hope you take a look at this almost forgotten gem from the Hammer vaults.

An excellent anamorphic transfer, beautifully shot in B&W. Also included is a superb retrospective documentary with the legend Val Guest. All go to make this a worthy addition to any classic horror collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, good DVD, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Abominable Snowman [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
It seems that out of Icon's Autumn 2011 generally poor quality batch of releases, The Abominable Snowmen stands apart as being a perfectly reasonable quality DVD. The B&W picture is clean enough and is 16:9 enhanced 2.35:1, preserving the original aspect ratio. I didn't notice any colour noise or incorrect interlacing. There's a healthy level of grain and film dirt, clearly not remastered but nothing excessive - perfectly acceptable for a budget DVD release of a film of this age. The sound is clear.

I feel very satisfied at this DVD release of a classic Nigel Kneale story. Take note Icon - this is how they all should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Cushing and Forrest Tucker take on the fabled Yeti, 31 Mar 2003
By A Customer
"The Abominable Snowman of the Himalayas" finds botanist John Rollason (Peter Cushing) encounters American Tom Friend (Forrest Tucker) at a monastery and joins a sortie led by Friend to find the legendary Yeti. The crass American wants to bring the Abominable Snowman back as a carnival exhibit. However accidents, Friend's recklessness and the Yeti methodically reduce the membership of the expedition. Finally, only Friend and Rollason are left to face the Yeti. This 1957 film was one of the earliest Hammer pictures, made just before "The Curse of Frankenstein" put the studio on the map and created its signature style. The script by Nigel Kneale is actually adapted from "The Creature," a one-act teleplay broadcast in 1955 that also starred Cushing. As the creator of the Quartermass series, Kneale's scripts for "The Quartermass Experiment" (a.k.a. "The Creeping Unknown") and "The Enemy from Space" (a.k.a "Quartermass II") had laid the foundation for Hammer's future success. Again director Val Guest was brought in to work behind the camera. Kneale's script is first rate and suffers only at the end when the confrontation with the Yeti fails to meet our heightened expectations. Guest's direction is limited because the set for the Himalayan mountainside was on the studio's back lot, intercut with stock footage of mountaineering that fails to convey any sense of reality. Cushing's performance is solid, as you would expect, and he works well off the blustery Tucker, who gets to ham it up as the high-handed American. This DVD includes audio commentary by Guest and Kneale, the original theatrical trailer, and the Peter Cushing segment from "World of Hammer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What if we are the savages?, 17 Jun 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dr. John Rollason (Peter Cushing who played Winston Smith in "1984") leaves his lovely devoted wife Helen (Maureen Connell) behind to become part of an expedition that includes Dr. Tom Friend (Forrest Tucker) and others; each has their own agenda. The local Lama (Arnold Marlẻ) knows what they seek and that that each person in the expedition may find what he seeks.
The encounter turns out a tad different than you would suspect. We find we are up against survivors with more ability than planed on.
Will they survive?
If anyone should survive will he/she have learned something?
What about you?
One year later Forrest Tucker one again chances the cold Alps to find "The Crawling Eye" (1958)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An early Hammer classic, 27 Feb 2012
By 
Autonome (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review relates to the DD edition of this movie - a company which seems all but defunct at this stage. This is too bad because all their Hammer releases (specifically the two Quatermass and "The Abominable snowman") are miles ahead of what Icon did with these titles. The DD DVDs (that can still be found but which are getting increasingly expensive) are crisp, clear copies with very good commentaries by Val Guest, Nigel Kneale and/or Jimmy Sangster, and all hosted by Hammer guru Marcus Hearn. The commentary on "Snowman" by Val Guest is fun, informative, full of anecdotes (fascinating bit on Hitchcock). He is complemented by interventions of writer Nigel Kneale, who clearly did not see eye-to-eye with him on the picture, even if the writer had to acknowledge by the end that the movie was good!
And how good this movie is! Like Quatermass 2 it stands as a classic, with an environmental theme which has never been more accute than now, so needless to say that the pictture has not aged a bit. Cushing shows his versatility as an actor, and the film moves seemlessly from a monastery filmed at the small Bray studios to vast snowy landscapes at Pinewood through vast mountainscapes in the Pyreneans -- all great and credible alternatives to the Himalaya. As always with Guest, the so-called "monster" is understated, and "Snowman" demonstrates that the journey is often more rewarding than the destination. A great effort, highly recommended in this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hammer with bags of atmosphere, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Robster (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Abominable Snowman [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
This is great stuff, just great... Peter Cushing really was a magnificent actor, and his performance here is as earthy and believeable as ever. Cushing and Forrest Tucker play 2 explorers searching for the titular creature but for very different reasons. Tucker's character wants to capture and exploit it, Cushing's to understand it. It makes for some good interplay between the two, but the star here is the atmosphere generated by Val Guest's able direction, the perfect pacing and despite some other reviews, the great sets.

The tension is built so effectively that you genuinely don't mind not seeing the creature until the very end of the film. It only adds to the slow build of expectation. In terms of the DVD it's a perfectly watchable print, fairly tidy in fact and the audio is good too... In short, if you're a classic horror or Hammer fan, this is a must. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Review-Now a Review of the ICON release 22 Sep 2011, 10 Sep 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abominable Snowman [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
Maybe I am nit picking!! I love this atmospheric film and have it on DVD from a few years ago. My comment here is...NONE of these reviews (so far) can apply to the icon release of 12 Sep 2011...cos it ain't been released yet! So can we try not to be too eager to buy until we have an idea of the quality of this release. I do wish Amazon wouldn't do this (but I love you)!-----(22Sep)I took Trevor Willsmer's advice and ordered this. I have to say it is much better than my older DD DVD. This is correct Scope and good picture and sound. It is one of my all time favourites, even tho I can't quite put my finger on why - but it's "comfortable" - well written (obviously) and well acted. I was particularly impressed wth Dickie Wattis playing it pretty straight, which for him was very unusual. Cushing never hands in a bad perf and even big blustering "Tuck" plays his part well. It gets on with things and the ending, without saying too much, is just right. Highly recomended as unpretentious honest British (horror)cinema. I am tempted to see just how bad the "Quatermass" Icon DVD's are...maybe I'll wait just a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A literally chilling tale., 29 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A group of explorers go into the Himalayas in an attempt to find and prove the existence of the legendary Yeti.

This is Hammer at its finest, a tense psychological thriller which grips you from beginning to end. This is no 'monster stomping about' film, but is instead intelligent and intriguing. Cushing and Tucker are excellent as a sympathetic morally-indignant botanist and a money-minded showman respectively. From the haunting Buddhist monastery to the icy wilderness, the sets are superb, and the shots of real ice-covered mountains add to the realism. This film really does have real tension and some unforgettable scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P Peter Cushing, gone but not Forgot., 23 April 2013
This review is from: The Abominable Snowman [DVD] [1957] (DVD)
Being a big Fan of Hammer, this Movie has always stood out to me, in the fact that it was not a Horror as such, and i know Hammer Fans will say "Yeah well not all Hammer Films were Horrors!" so i will let you know that i am well aware of this fact first, before i go on! Anyway this Film is more of a Moral Tale, and if there is any Horror to it, it is that Man is the Scary Horror within the world, as we are Cruel, and Hate & Fear that which we don't understand! and how right this is! Its great to see an old Movie making such a relevant point that Sadly still applies today in so many ways! A Good Movie with a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abominable Snowman [DVD] [1957]
The Abominable Snowman [DVD] [1957] by Val Guest (DVD - 2011)
5.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews