Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish late Hammer entry
Made in 1972, but not released until 1974, this is an interesting departure from Hammer's usual vampire cycle, which consisted of the Dracula series, and the softcore Le Fanu adaptations.
Horst Janson plays the swordsman Captain Kronos travelling the European countryside hunting all things fanged, ably assisted by his hunchbacked friend Professor Hieronymous Grost,...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2011 release awful print beware
Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD]

The film has become a cult classic. This is the 2011 Icon pictures dvd release. The picture quality is awful. No extras no booklet. Bargain basement release. I fully couldnt enjoy the film because of it. And this is the official release from Hammer??. It has the current official logo on the case. Was very dissapointed. A...
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by C. W. Howarth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish late Hammer entry, 13 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Made in 1972, but not released until 1974, this is an interesting departure from Hammer's usual vampire cycle, which consisted of the Dracula series, and the softcore Le Fanu adaptations.
Horst Janson plays the swordsman Captain Kronos travelling the European countryside hunting all things fanged, ably assisted by his hunchbacked friend Professor Hieronymous Grost, an expert in vampire mythology. He comes to a village where all the young women are ageing and dying prematurely, and realises something is clearly very wrong.
Janson is a bit wooden as the title hero, but John Cater is excellent as Grost, and Caroline Munro is also excellent as Kronos' feisty love interest Carla.
What really makes the film a winner for me is some lovely stylistic touches such as the flowers and vegetation withering as the vampire passes and theres some welcome black humour to be found in the film as well. It was supposedly the first of a planned series of Kronos adventures, that sadly never made it to the screen.
All in all, another example of how Hammer were at their most creatively diverse during the 1970's, and if youre tired of yet another Dracula remake, try giving this a bite instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusually eerie Hammer Horror, 27 Sep 2004
By 
Brian Clemens, creator of The Avengers and The Professionals, made his directorial debut with this creepy and unusual vampire movie. Set in an unspecified "Middle European" country in an unspecified historical period, Captain Kronos establishes its own strange vampire lore and defies convention to present a believable story with real heroes. This DVD isn't a bad package - better than many other Hammer discs, anyway - but the best extra isn't on the disc; it's the healthy sized glossy booklet which comes in the case. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carry On With A Fistful Of Garlic, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Martin Lewis (Englander in Holstein) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Writer and Director Brian Clemens brought a real sense of originality to the various Hammer projects he was involved in at the start of the 1970s. Nowhere is that more evident than in this wonderful cross genre piece of Hammer Vampire Hokum starring Horst Janson and the lovely Caroline Munro. The story plays like a Segio Leone western mixed with "Carry On Film" style romp transported to the darkest regions of 19th century Eastern Europe with Janson playing his hero completely straight only adding to the fun of this refreshing twist in Hammer's later rather lacklustre vampire cycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2011 release awful print beware, 10 Sep 2011
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD]

The film has become a cult classic. This is the 2011 Icon pictures dvd release. The picture quality is awful. No extras no booklet. Bargain basement release. I fully couldnt enjoy the film because of it. And this is the official release from Hammer??. It has the current official logo on the case. Was very dissapointed. A film like this deserves a decent and remastered uk region 2 release. so 3/5 for film 1/5 for picture quality and 0/5 for extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repressed disc, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I've edited this review to reflect the replacement disc from Icon.

Icon were so ashamed at the print they used for the first DVD pressings, they repressed the disc with a better transfer and offered a free replacement program for purchasers unfortunate enough to have bought the horrendous first pressing. Quite how the initial version got through (by accident according to Icon) is beyond me - do Icon not have basic quality control?

What's on the new disc is an anamorphically enhanced transfer at the OAR of 1.66:1, unlike the US release which is cropped to 1.85:1. It is the same print as was remasered previously for the older DDHE release. For the most part it is clean and clear, except from around the half hour mark there is evidence of tramline scratches which have been disguised somewhat in the remastering process but are still evident. To remove them totally could have left artefacts just as bad if not worse than the original scratches. I certainly very happy with it as it stands now. I dare say it could only be bettered by a brand new, from the bottom up, high definition remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars appalling, 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This is so disappointing. The quality of the dvd is very poor. It is a 4:3 dub, with extremely high contrast so that any dark scene is virtually black, and the sunny scenes are very washed out. It is a really neat movie, and if you must see it, and this is the only way, then I would not tell you not to buy it, but I can guarantee that you will be disappointed. The modern consumer expects a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What he doesn't know about vampirism wouldn't fill a flea's codpiece.", 24 Feb 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Hammer churned out nine Dracula films, seven Frankenstein films, three Quatermass stories and four trips to Mummy's tombs, but if ever one of their movies was just crying out to become a long-running franchise it was Captain Kronos, Vampire Hunter, perhaps their last great film. But the studio was already in trouble by 1974, the market for British horror films increasingly drained and Brian Clemens' wonderfully leftfield attempt to give it a blood transfusion fared poorly at the box-office - perhaps not too surprising since Hammer's management hated the film, shelving it for over a year and a half before dumping it in a limited release double-bill with an old martial arts film. Rather than go for the usual vampire clichés, this is inspired by the more arcane aspects of East European vampire lore, the new powers its supernatural threat has and the various different ways of detecting and killing vampires - demonstrated in one scene where our heroes run through them to see which one works on this particular vampire - not just giving it novelty but a surprising degree of verisimilitude. Indeed, it rejoices in subverting the tried-and-trusted horror movie formula: stakes don't work on all vampires, it's the hero rather than the villain who has a hunchbacked assistant and their nemesis walks not by night but by day, flowers withering in its path as virgins lose not their blood but their youth to it.

The film was also Brian Clemens only time behind the camera as director, and that too is a crying shame since his direction is excellent. It's something of an Avengers reunion, with co-producer Albert Fennell, composer Laurie Johnson and even down on his luck original star Ian Hendry turning up in a cameo, and, like that show, it's determined to tread its own path rather than follow the genre norm. There are hints of both Solomon Kane and The Last Valley about Horst Janson's samurai sword-wielding hero, a disillusioned soldier turned vampire hunter after returning from the wars to find his mother and sister both hungry for his blood, summoned to a small village with his faithful companion Professor Hieronymous Grost by the local doctor (Plague of the Zombies' John Carson, on the side of the angels for once) to solve an outbreak of deaths of young girls. Caroline Munro is the faithful peasant girl, who frequently manages to be completely naked without actually showing anything, but budgetary limitations mean there aren't many other characters in the film aside from the victims and the youth obsessed children of a legendary swordsman who live in terror of growing old like their mother who does not share their noble blood. Even the local pub couldn't afford Michael Ripper as landlord and, aside from a blind girl, has no customers who aren't directly involved in the scene while the film's swordmaster, the estimable William Hobbs, is pressed into service as Kronos' opponent in the film's big fight scene, which is no hardship since he's the best in the business. Yet for most of the running time it's enjoyable enough for it not to be too noticeable or to get in the way of the fun.

Sadly the film's bad luck continued with Icon's atrocious 2011 UK DVD transfer, one of the worst put on the market - you're better off tracking down either DD's deleted original issue with a much better transfer (which comes with a neat and informative booklet and a trailer sourced from a very poor video copy) or the US release, which includes an audio commentary by Clemens and Munro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars quality confusion, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. S. Somerton (faversham,kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Today 16-03-2012 I bought this Icon copy after reading earleir reveiws suggesting quality issues had been resolved.If this is the good copy I'd hate to see the bad one almost unwatchable.Just to be clear im talking about the Icon "Hammer the collection" copy. Even in 1974 at 3am, in the woolwich odean, through a dexhadrin distorted haze of marijuana smoke it looked better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Captain Kronos rip off hunter, 12 Sep 2011
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I have ordered all these new releases by Icon ,and I am appalled by the quality ,
V.H.S. editions have been better ,I have a battered old copy of this teamed up ,
with 'Frankenstein and the monster from hell ,with a nice booklet ,unfortuanatly ,
the DVDS are marked ,so I decided to buy new to replace my old 'Simply Media editions'.BIG MISTAKE ! I should have guest about the quality being that they are
cheap ,we are given low rate quality which are very bad transfers ,I cannot even sell them in my sellers account ,as they are so cheap to begin with ,so its a trip ,
down to my local markets to use as swaps ,Now the 1 star rating is for Icon ,the
actual film I would rate 4 stars ,now its another few years to wait for a better
edition to be released . VERY DISAPOINTED . Kind regards Barry.

I have given a bad review for this DVD ,but have noticed Icon have repressed this film ,I would like to know if there is any information on the new pressing ,to say
that its the new edition .I wish to buy this again ,but I do not want the same edition again ,would anyone please advise ,if I get a better edition then I will edit my rating ,which would be 4 for the film .Kind regards Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAMMER'S VERSION OF SWASHBUCKLING BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER IS SURPRISINGLY GOOD. HUGELY UNDERRATED AND UNAPPRECIATED., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

CAPTAIN KRONOS: VAMPIRE HUNTER sounds trashy. I decided to give it a chance anyway and was pleasantly surprised! Think a 70s Hammer BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER.
Hammer Productions wanted to make this a series of movies, like their DRACULA series, unfortunately it performed badly at the box office and the idea was dropped. It's a real pity, I've seen far worse movies getting endless sequels.
CAPTAIN KRONOS: VAMPIRE HUNTER is a bit eerier than the most vampire movies - unlike in most movies, where a vampire bites you and you turn into one, here the victims are drained and age incredibly fast, dying of old age. Creepy.
Writer/director Brian Clemens' directing debut (would remain is only directing job) adds a few odd new ideas to the genre: for instance a cross itself no longer repels a vampire - true faith is required.
The cast is fantastic with Horst Janson in the lead as Kronos, and the fabulous John Cater as his sidekick, along with stunningly beautiful Caroline Munro as Carla the gypsy.
CAPTAIN KRONOS has its cheesy moments, but it also has some witty dialogue, a sense of humor and adventure and a fair amount of creepiness. It is a very daring and unusual Hammer movie, and therefore worth a higher rating. A movie not to be taken too seriously though.
4.5 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2011 Icon Film UK DVD
Feature running time: 87 mins.
Rating: R (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.66:1 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 2.0 Mono
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 12
Extras: NOTHING
Region: 2

Picture: C+
Audio: B
Extras: F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973]
Captain Kronos: Vampire Hunter [DVD] [1973] by Brian Clemens (DVD - 2011)
5.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews