Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
36
3.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2011
Its very difficult to improve on a game that has an annual update. The game mechanics will generaly be the same give or take some minor tweaking and you get the usual roster updates. As a result games like this and Fifa will always get mixed reviews from disgruntled fans. If your a big NFL fan like me you will purchase this game irrespective.

However IMO this is a significant improvemnt on last years update, and if you look at it as an individual game and not a series of updates over 20 years its a great game in its own right. The game has the usual EA polish with excellent presentation, graphics and sound.
The big improvemnts are
- the tackling dynamics and general physics are much better.
- Players have hot and cold streaks, with marquee players such as Brady and Manning always being consistent whereas someone like Chad Henne blows hot and cold depending on how you perform from week top week. This is a simple but excellent idea and will no doubt make its way over to FIFA. (England players should no doubt be absolutely knackered by the time a major tournamnet comes around and Rooney wont be able to trap a bag of cement)
- The blocking although still not without its faults is also much improved and you cant just have a very fast defensive end constantly running past a pondourous 300lb tackle.
- The scouting in Franchise Mode is a massive improvment and you can now trade for future draft picks. (This shows EA do actually listen to the fans)
- The Pre Game NFL Network show has been removed which lets be honest was a good novelty the first couple of times, but was a pain eventually and is no great loss.
- Online play is excellent and makes the £40 seem good value.
Where improvemnts could be made
- The stadium upgrade section is still lacking and you dont really see any benefits. You should at least see additional buildings popping up here and there as the alterations are made and see the reflection in attendances.
- The game still doesnt cover the enormity of Superbowl Sunday and could have done more to cover the build up.
- Online communities are split East and West Coast, IT would be great to have a UK or European community for the European fans to compete against each other..
- A massive missed oppurtunity in Franchise imo is also the lack of relationship and dynamic with certain team owners and the impact the press has. Eg If you go on a bad streak attendances should drop, the local press should be calling for the coaches head, and the owner should be banging on your desk because his revenue is down. This could have tied in superbly with the confidence and form streak of the players. There is also the potential to have each team have its own unique issues such as Al Davies of the Raiders pushing his nose in compared to the seamless way the Patriots are run.

On the whole a great game.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 October 2011
The annual American Football update which is the Madden NFL series, marks another title with Madden NFL 12. It's completely fair to say that Madden has regressed if anything on next gen consoles, especially in the case of Franchise Mode which has been packaged fairly bare boned. However, in recent years there have been signs of improvement, the question is how does this years version hold up?

Right away, one of the first things you'll notice is the enhanced and improved presentation. This has been worked on in previous years, but additions such as pre-game intros, improved stat tracking and panning camera angles have improved the "broadcast element" that EA Sports was looking for. There's one glaring problem though and that's the commentary. I like Gus Johnson as an announcer, he's funny and seems to be generally ethused about the on field action. Sadly, that's just on televison and not in the game. The commentary in the game is broken as it often gets it wrong with what's actually happening and the omission of player names is puzzling. Number 23, anyone? Considering EA Sports have shored up the license this is inexcusable. Despite all these supposed improvements the announcing lets the presentation and it's believability down.

Franchise Mode, does get a few tweaks. Perhaps the biggest is the new free agent "bidding" system. With this you'll be in direct competition with other NFL teams scrambling to sign a prized free agent. One of the big positives is the ability to go elsewhere in your franchise if you choose to do so. No longer are you restricted to one NFL team for 30 seasons which is a welcome inclusion. Improved rookie scouting and the draft have also been revamped, admittedly I'm not to keen on the new interface which I found intrusive and downright clunky. Depite this though, you have probably the most in depth franchise mode seen on next-gen consoles to date.

Online play returns with more emphasis on Ultimate Team which seems to be the case across many EA Sports titles. Here, you'll acquire and new for this year have the ability to trade cards with other players. Online franchise is left untouched and EA Sports have used the excuse that they wanted to work on the offline franchise and didn't have time to do both. I've only tried Ultimate Team which seemed fine and have yet to venture into online head to head play.

---Summary---
Graphics 9 It's Madden. Which means it's one of the nicest looking games on the console. Ocassional pop in occurs which prevents a perfect score.
Sound 5 Woeful announcing general tackling and player sounds are adequate plus an inferior soundtrack to Madden NFL 11.
Gameplay 8 More arcade than simulation but fun to play nevertheless.
Lifespan 9 Deep Franchise Mode and an array of online options will keep you occupied.

Madden NFL 12 is the same old story essentialy. A lot of hype and then a major letdown. I will say that I like the direction that the Franchise Mode is going but six years to get to this point, really?! The game still needs improvement especially in the area of sound and perhaps EA Sports should stop being so enamoured with graphics and put some time into the gameplay to give true die-hard NFL fans what they deserve and a more simulation oriented experience. If you bought last years version I would say that you're not missing much. However, if you haven't bought a US Football Title since Madden NFL 10, it's worth a look. When in doubt adopt the two year rule and buy a sports title every second year as they don't tend to change that much from year on year. 7/10.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
Think of this game as madden nfl 12 2.0. It's not a revalutionary new game but no one really expected it to be, like fifa each years incarnation is like a patch ont he previous year. Compared to last year graphically it is similar but that is no bad thing as I believe the graphics in Madden are arguably some of the best on a sports game. Game play is where the significant improvements are, it's a much more challenging game but still remains fun as you get the feeling of having a chance rather than only being able to run the ball a yard on the hardest difficulties last year, also it is much easier to get inteceptions this year and get intecepted which I think makes for a more demanding experience as you can't just throw a bomb into coverage and expect to get away easily. The new animations are also fantastic, giving greater scope and general improvement in the way game play presents.

There is for me one major gripe, the commentary. What the commentators say when they say it is ok. It's actually 90% the same lines as last year only now they seem incapable of saying most players names i.e "number 23 is waiting to receive the kick" whilst this is an irritation it can be let go. The bigger problem with this aspect of the game is the commentators fasiling to acknowlege key plays I.E my 80 yeard touch down run. They will discuss in depth some obscure fact about a player and even if there is a sack or a touch down or a big first down. Nothing, they just carry on prattling.

In conclusion though this game is a significant improvement of 11 in most places but commentary still looks like it was given to the 16 year old office work experience to work on. It's awful and desperatley needs patching as it detracts from the atmosphere of game.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Being a big fan of EAs Fifa, NHL, NBA and Fight Night franchises I decided to give Madden a go. I'm not a major American Football fan but I have watched my fair share of late night games and superbowls, so thought it might be fun. To start with the positive - the game looks great and the controls, once you find the in-game manual, are reasonably straight forward. Played a couple of exhibitions and it was ok, although the opposition ran rings around my defence while I tried to figure out how to change to the correct player and how to perform hits. I got completely trounced but that's fair enough for a beginner.

Now on to the negative - the biggest problem with this game is that there is no tutorial... at all. You are expected to know abbreviations, plays, strategies and tactics right off the bat without explanation. I picked a few plays in exhibitions and tried to figure out how best to approach the game, but felt like my choices were completely random having no idea what strategies should be used at what point. To make it worse the commentators kept voicing their opinion of my poor decision making and after a bit of time and being none the wiser it just became frustrating. I avoided the franchise options as I wasn't familiar with it and went on the superstar mode - my favourite part of the EA games in recent years. Unfortunately the lack of knowledge of the game became apparent again as I created my superstar, with abbreviations for position and ratings that meant nothing to me and were chosen pretty much at random. I went through the training camp with little understanding of what I was trying to achieve, and then played my first game. The difference with Madden, and American Football in general I guess, is that your superstars position defines how often you are on the field. I was playing as quarterback (one of the few abbreviations I knew when choosing my position) and made a few plays leading to an interception. The game then simulated a bunch of plays into some future part of the game and my team were suddenly trailing. I did a few more plays which consisted of me choosing the play, pressing A and then either pressing a pass button or standing still, and then when my team scored a touchdown it took another jump into the future, and my team are trailing again. It went on like this for a couple of minutes and the game was over. My team won (I think), but I felt absolutely no involvement in the win. It was like the game just passed me by. It was boring. I really didn't feel any compulsion to move on to the next game or training camp, and the xbox was switched off.

I am sure if you are a die-hard NFL fan and know all the plays and the tactics then this game may be the best thing ever, but for a curious semi-fan or novice there is just nothing pulling you in and with no attempt to impart knowledge of the sport in the game you just feel like a spare wheel to the CPU players making the hits and finding the positions. It is frustrating and frankly boring for a novice, so if you are just trying it out for fun don't expect to play it for long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
This year, Madden has taken a giant leap in the form of presentation. Never before has madden been so on form when showing you your favourite team coming out on the the field on game day. Its massive, its great and its very well done. Yes that is the biggest change to the game but there are plenty of others that do the game justice. First off is the new look franchise mode. Its great. This year, I actually feel like I'm in charge of a "franchise" team. The new "cutting players" system is great, and really allows you to pick out brooding young players early and start giving them some much needed game time. A mound of smaller features make that game great too. Plenty of times iv found myself looking at the new 3-D grass and thinking...wow, that looks great!

In short, this is the best Madden game to date. Its well worth the money and is a must for any madden fan. The game has enough new features and added extras to warrant buying this to upgrade from last years game. Go madden.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
Graphics 9 It's Madden. Which means it's one of the nicest looking games on the console. Ocassional pop in occurs which prevents a perfect score.
Sound 5 Woeful announcing general tackling and player sounds are adequate plus an inferior soundtrack to Madden NFL 11.
Gameplay 8 More arcade than simulation but fun to play nevertheless.
Lifespan 9 Deep Franchise Mode and an array of online options will keep you occupied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Great game, great soundtrack, so much fun. However the automatic change player is terrible when their qb does a deep pass as the safety instantly changes his direction and you will concede touchdowns big time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
Since receiving this game just over a week ago, I've not been able to stop playing it. I personally feel the gameplay is a big improvement on Madden 11, as it has more of a real feel to it than previous Maddens, with the before game introductions as well as improved tackles/hits. As well as that, there is the hot/cold streaks, where players who perform well in a previous game will carry that high confidence into their next game (hot streak) and their stats will receive a welcome boost. On the flip side, players who perform bad in a previous game will carry that low confidence into their next game (cold streak), meaning their stats will drop. This really gives it more of a real feeling to the game, rather than having the top players being awesome every week, they go through good and bad spells.

The Franchise mode is enough alone to merit buying this game, with it's detailed season, rookie scouting system, chaotic off season where you battle against other teams to sign free agents. As well as this, you also have the Superstar mode and the also addictive Ultimate Team modes, where you can battle it out online against other opponents, gain coins, strengthen your team and collect cards. There's even more including the Madden Online Moments, which are constantly updated and fun to play through.

All in all, this really is a 5 star game. Anyone who loves American Football will love this game. It's more than worth the money. Well done EA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
This was my first Madden game and I had a great time playing it.
If you like strategic, tactical and technical games - regardless of genre - this is well worth a look. The learning curve for this game was huge as I knew nothing of American Football beforehand.
However there's plenty of skill-training modes, so with enough dedication you'll eventually make progress. This was no issue as for me as the gameplay was very addictive, it was challenging and fun.
As with other team-based sports games much of the fun comes from watching your team grow.
This is no different from genres such as strategy games and RPGs, its the same feelings of progress and achievement.
I can't compare this to other Madden games since this is the only one I've played. And as someone who was new to this franchise, this was a tough game to learn but also very rewarding once you do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
Ive been playing Madden games since day one and im probably a bit bias but i think madden 12 is as near to perfection as a football simulation is gonna get.The defense this year is much improved and the graphics and presentation is superb.the commentary grates after an hour or so which is the game's only flaw.Great to see all the mascots before the teams run out too,especially my favourite team's mascot"captain fear"of the Buccaneers,like being back in Tampa!I recommend this update to the madden franchise whole heartedly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)