Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madden 12
The game is awesome, always have been, but the most important thing for me is that in Madden 12 you are able to change teams during the offseason in Franchise mode, it is something that I've always wanted to have as an option.
Published on 3 Nov 2011 by eMs1

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backwards
Have to agree with Godfather of Soul on this one...after several hours play Madden 12 is proving to be a disappointment. The new collision system is good however, once you put in some time with the game you begin to notice the flaws elsewhere...the AI is often just plain daft and I can echo GoS's comments here regarding play action, the numerous instances of simple...
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by chessh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madden 12, 3 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is awesome, always have been, but the most important thing for me is that in Madden 12 you are able to change teams during the offseason in Franchise mode, it is something that I've always wanted to have as an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Changes for Better Gaming, 6 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
To start with I am no Madden fanboiy having been left frustrated by Madden 11, but this game is freaking awesome so far! In summary

- The new hitting AI looks, feels and responds amazingly...when a player gets hit they bounce around, stumble, trip or if you are getting hit my Ray Lewis totally cleaned out! You can also get the big hits with the DBs when the WRs try and make a catch...its very satisfying and a few replays have been saved!

- The new defence AI also seems to be more intelligent with players swarming to the ball or catching out the fake and trick plays...needsless to say its tougher to fool the defence for a better experience.

- Offensive line blocking is better with bandits and blitz being picked up better. The amount of times my RB cut on rushing linebackers has saved my QBs ass countless times

- The pre game graphics are pretty cool with a view into the stadium before kick off

- Its cool that in Franchise mode you can make all the cuts to trim your squad down the 53 roster maximum

- The product placement is not as annoying nor blatant...no more OLD SPICE BODY WASH!!

However my biggest grip is the commentary still SUCKS. Come on EA...Fifa's is awesome how can you not transfer over the same technology. I have been told my CB got toasted on a 2 yard play so many times I wanna tell Collinsworth to shove it up where the sun dont shine.

Overall I am very happy with this game and predict many hours of gaming to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backwards, 28 Sep 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
Have to agree with Godfather of Soul on this one...after several hours play Madden 12 is proving to be a disappointment. The new collision system is good however, once you put in some time with the game you begin to notice the flaws elsewhere...the AI is often just plain daft and I can echo GoS's comments here regarding play action, the numerous instances of simple catches being dropped etc and also the All-Pro difficulty setting which seems to be pitched too high.

There seems to be a distinct lack of atmosphere especially when you win a game - it finishes with a damp squib and there is no sense of excitement or any presentational flourishes to add to the sense of achievement. Commentary is repetitive and frequently behind the play and therefore often inappropriate.

Gameplay generally runs smoothly but there are some stuttering issues with replays. I've recently purchased NCAA 11 and this is far superior in terms of graphics, presentation, gameplay...in fact, pretty much every area (which is bizarre given Tiburon develops both games as far as I can tell). I think I'll be getting NCAA from now on...at least until EA's monopoly on NFL games ends and 2K Sports start making NFL games again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't broke, why fix it?, 9 Oct 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a die hard Madden 11 fan, in fact over playing it contributed to the downfall of my nice PS3. Now stuck with crappy new cheap build version (£189) that looks cute but sounds like a pneumatic drill. Moving on, the first thing that is really upsetting is the lack of atmosphere in game. They sapped it in Madden 12. The games are now very boring (even playing & winning the super bowl). The extra touches look nice (player entrance to stadium & Ariel view of stadium etc...) But with all the jerking around, you don't really get to appreciate it. There is also some anti-aliasing hammertime going on with the graphics. Looks rushed in places. Nice to see cheerleaders, but they are supposed to be hot, not twin sisters of chucky! Once of the worst things is dumping "The extra point" show. I loved that AND all the advertising... Swagger!!. You really felt you were immersed in NFL with 11. 12 is a more a damp squib. The commentators don't even say touchdown! Unnecessary complex menu options added also. I don't want to waste 4hrs adjusting settings! Should have made it even simpler. User interface is pretty, but confusing. Should have left player picture info at the top, not make it move down the list. Final rant. This game looks designed purely for online play. I wasted £16 on coins only to discover they can only be used online and do dot really improve your visual or in game offline experience. I am playing 11 again and am trading in Madden 12. 11 is simply more a fantastic offline experience. If you've NEVER played 11, you don't know what you are missing so 'might' like 12. If you have, I expect like me you will find 12 to be a waste of money. I look forward to 13 and pray they make it more like 11.
I gave it 3 because of the pretty graphics and extra touches/physics improvements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive return just misses an extra point, 7 Sep 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
This year is a crucial one for EA's massive gridiron franchise. Sales wise it's still the biggest sports game out there not called FIFA, but last year's Madden caused a backlash from fans who accused the development team of playing things too safe. With a gulf in quality forming between this and fellow US sports series The Show and NBA 2K, almost all the new features in Madden 12 are here to pull those alienated die-hards back in.

It's a sensible move. To the casual player Madden 11 was more than acceptable thanks to the introduction of GameFlow. This mechanic enabled you to whizz through games without worrying about tactics, letting the AI to select plays for you. Part-timers liked it, but the hardcore damned it for it's limitations - like failing to take into account the number of opposition wide receivers when you were on defense. (In real life, you'd combat extra WRs by deploying extra cornerbacks).

It's better this year, giving you the chance to select from three plays on both sides of the ball. The AI still makes odd choices - it still hasn't fully fixed that WR vs CB issue - but I was far less inclined to resort to the full playbook 30 times a game as happened last year. A better tackling engine (no more nonsensical eight-man scrums) and proper physics (bringing a running back down depends on timing rather than luck) also enhance gameplay significantly.

Other fan-requested changes make a huge difference to the overall experience, too. I'm talking minute details like having the actual camera angles at which games are shot in each NFL stadium (making a massive difference when going for a field goal), overlays showing off key offensive and defensive players on each team's opening drive, and lovely cutaways to show the entire stadium before the game, between quarters and once it's finished. Too much detail is never a bad thing, and this is the first Madden to look and feel like a genuine TV broadcast.

The most drastic changes have been saved for franchise mode, which has had an AI overhaul. My favourite is the new free agency system: instead of signing every top player come the end of the season, a timed auction system kicks in whereby you have to focus on the players you want the most. Each time a new offer comes in, you can top it by tapping X, but there's no cheating - leave it until the last second to bid and more time gets added to the clock for other teams to come in. It's loads of fun trying to pip a rival to a key player - until you realise another target has signed elsewhere while you were distracted. Hey, that's reality.

Also new are expanded rosters (you start pre-season with 75 players and downsize your squad week by week), hot and cold streaks (player attributes are affected by what happens on the pitch) and a proper Injury Reserve. (In real life, placing a player on IR means he can't play again that season, but he stays on your team AND you can sign a replacement.) But confusingly, AI teams often put crocked players on IR then don't replace them - and they NEVER make trades. Imagine FIFA manager mode without a single transfer. Yeah, buzzkiller. Those franchise foibles means new Madden doesn't quite match it's baseball and basketball rivals, but you'll still find lots to love in this year's instalment. And if there's one thing it can't be accussed of, it's playing it safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madden NFL 12 (PS3), 16 Nov 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
this is the second madden game i've purchased in the last 12 months having previously picked up an old copy of madden 09. the game has improved in some aspects since then although, to be honest, it won't make you leap out of your seat. the gameplay remains solid (the receiver catching has improved somewhat plus more tackle animations etc). the franchise mode has been revamped with offseason FA bidding & college draft being completely overhauled. there are still some annoying problems such as the awful commentary from the TV announcers and the ordinary build up scenes before each game. never-the-less, madden continues to be the go-to NFL game for american football fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 Oct 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
I had a second hand Madden NFL 11 for a couple of months and then I bought this one. I give the other one to a friend. I feel Madden 12 is an upgrade for the previous Madden. Better collision animations, better feeling of the physics (of the ball, etc.). It also has new in field cameras (for animations between plays and such). Of course, it has updated rosters.

The game is good, but it doesn't bring new stuff apart from mentioned. I like it very much, though it does not deserve buying it if you payed the full prize for Madden 11 (not my case). Recommended for non Madden NFL 11 owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a little frustrating...., 27 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
Yes, it is a huge step up from an extremly poor madden 11. It is not just a £40 roster update like it was from Madden 10 to 11 but it still needs some improvments. The Dynamic Player Performance aspect is very good as the game looks more realistic and the general presentation is excellant but the game is to difficult. On rookie difficulty you win 50-0, on pro you win 35-7, on all-pro you win 21-14 but on all-madden you just get done. I have tried messing around with the slider settings but that does not work either. I have played madden for 5 consecutive years and this is
still the best so far but there are still too many problems:
1. Kick returns are too hard.
2. Ultimate team is rubbish unless you put REAL money into it.
3. Online is WAY to laggy.

I would recomend this game to people but if you are not a hardcore madden player DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves a lot to be desired, 15 Sep 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
Madden 11 was the first Madden game I had played on the PS3, and I loved it. There were minor issues, but the gameplay, presentation, and overall quality was excellent. I expected Madden 12 to have some improvements, more depth and more options. In some ways it has this, but in others, it has created more problems than it solves.

Firstly the plus points - graphics are a little more polished, the presentation has improved with the stadiums and intro's now adding a nice touch. Also there have been a few nice additions to the Franchise mode, and Madden Moments is better because it contains the teams that actually played in those games, rather than in Madden 11 when you had the current team playing last years game.

The negative points - commentary is unbelieveably bad. Last year it was OK, with a few slight glitches. This year it is way off, and glitches appear almost on every drive. I'd rather it not be there at all. Also crowd noise and stadium atmosphere seems poorer this year as well - stadiums are always half empty. I also dislike the fact that the accelerated clock is a default setting which can't be changed in Franchise mode.

AI has been changed, some for the good, some for the bad. Blocking is better, but is still very inconsistent. Play action plays are still dreadful - if just one guy blitzes, he will go straight to your QB and won't even flinch with the play action - instant sack. Recievers and DB's will make seemingly impossible catches, but will drop really easy one's. The improved collision is a nice addition, but I've had players slip to the ground, having not been touched, and the play is whistled dead. I have also found the difficulty of the computer frustrating - with Madden 11 I played at level 12, just above All-Pro, and it was pitched just right - won some, lost some, but if I lost I didn't feel cheated. First game this year on All-Pro I lost 4 interceptions and 3 fumbles - only 2 of the interceptions were to my mind fair. Passing is much harder than last year, at times it seems unfairly so - recievers drop easy balls, QB's miss wide open recievers, opposing DB's have Inspector Gadget arms at times.

Overall Madden 12 has missed the mark. It's improvements have been spoiled by some of the mistakes that have appeared this year, that weren't there last year. It's going down the same route that spoiled Fifa last year - nice presentation, frustrating gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME, 24 Jan 2014
By 
G. D. Bell (East yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madden NFL 12 (PS3) (Video Game)
MY MOST FAVOURITE VERSION OF JOHN MADDEN YET 100% PERFECT PLAYABILITY AND HAS BEEN HONED TO PERFECTION.
PASS AND RUN PLAY CONTROLS ARE A LOT MORE RESPONSIVE THAN PAST VERSIONS MAKING THE GAME MORE ENJOYABLE TO PLAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madden NFL 12 (PS3)
Madden NFL 12 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews