Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best reads
As an armchair reader, found this book ideal. Having holidayed in the USA last year, some great memories were brought back. The American dream is not that great. Still remember stopping in Orlando as I thought I had a puncture, hardly got out of the car when people appeared out of alleyways. Never got back into the car so quick and drove off!
Published 7 months ago by HT

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ian wood
Very entertaining book.Well written and ridden. Great acheivement would recommend this book.Is Steve going to do another big ride? I hope so.
Published 18 months ago by Saddle sore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best reads, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
As an armchair reader, found this book ideal. Having holidayed in the USA last year, some great memories were brought back. The American dream is not that great. Still remember stopping in Orlando as I thought I had a puncture, hardly got out of the car when people appeared out of alleyways. Never got back into the car so quick and drove off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 25 Sep 2013
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
Good review by Andy Millen at [...]

"Part Travelogue, part wry look at America and American people, part historical and social comment, it is well worth picking up.

Steve Briggs left the Navy aged 39 and decided to spend a "Gap Year" cycling around the USA. This documents his journey, starting from Florida, passing through 30 states on his way up the east coast and down the the Midwest, ending exhausted and damn near broken in New Orleans. A picture of America as a land of contrasts socially is built up - from the affluent Floridians to Inner city Balitmore, from the thriving metropolis of Chicago to the industrial wasteland of Gary, Indiana. Bear in mind this was 1998, when the Clinton/Lewinski scandal broke, and the political background is never far from the book.

Also tackled is the problem with cycling in the country - from lack of tolerance of drivers, to astonishment that someone would actually undertake such a task, to the unreliable maps and meaningless road signs - and you wonder just how he completed this! What made his journey sufferable, and makes the book though is the people who he meets, who put him up for a day here and there, Characters all, from Bikers, to vegans to just Mr and Mrs Ordinary.

This is a book that will have you belly laughing one minute, arguing politics the next, and might just increase your knowledge of American History and geography too. A brilliantly written book, that could only be improved with maps on each chapter to make charting where he is easier. That aside, buy it, read it and enjoy it. Rating - 5 Beers"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am only half way through BUT, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to say what a fabulous read it is so far.

He sets off, eventually, arrives and tells it hilariously.

I loved the bit where the strange Americans pick him up from the side of the road, give him a lift and feed him, all the while warning him about the dangers of being picked up, getting lifts and being fed by strange Americans.

I will post a full review once I have got to the end.
So far it's one of those
'Can't put it down, but don't want it to end' books. The best kind, I think.

Buy it. I would. I did. I'm glad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kimber, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
Surprisingly read, much more to this book than meets the eye. Steve describes his journey and gives us an amusing view of American culture. Well written with interesting historical and geographical information, which makes the book a much more interesting read compared to many travel books. The writing style is both friendly and witty. The author depicts the diversity of people in the USA and does not miss chances to point out their shortcomings and foibles in a humorous way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saddle Ssore, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
It was not only a cycling related experience but the research to obtain information of the places visited made it an informative and interesting travel story as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I cant do this book justice.. read it, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
Where do I start ? what an epic journey undertaken alone , but never alone if you get my drift. I really felt as if I was riding along with the author.. what a skillful writer. I was exhausted by the time we were half way across the states and there was more to come! Ive read a lot of travel books but this one is right up there at the top of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All cyclists go to heaven, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
A very good read, I've found myself swinging between laughing out loud at tales of the ridiculous to nodding sagely and muttering "been there" at tales of riding into headwinds and wishing for respite for mind body and arse. Would recommend to anyone who's ever spent time in the saddle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30 different forms of insanity, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
A story of adventure, a history lesson, an insight into the often strange psyche of the American people, a battle against exhaustion in some terrible conditions, love lost and found and lost again, a comedy, a tragedy and a truly wonderful read. How did he make it out alive?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wit On Wheels, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
I recommended this book to two family members before Steve Briggs had even mounted Bert. What? No! Bert is his bike! Jump onto his crossbar and join him as he pedals across America.

The laughs came very early on and I was instantly hooked. I absolutely love Steve's style of observational humour and have to say I think Bill Bryson has stiff competition here.

What did this book teach me? That Hob Nob is not in fact the most risque name for a biscuit you'll ever come across. No. I'm not going to explain. You'll just have to read it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hamerica. !!!, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saddle Sore (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read. I must say that I learned so much about America, particularly it's geography & idiocyncracies.
Cycling is obviously very dangerous over there & probably will be over here in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saddle Sore
Saddle Sore by Steve Briggs
1.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews