Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Sonic game in years!
AMAZING GAME!

If you grew up playing the Sonic series you will immediately feel right at home, as this takes our favourite blue hedgehog right back to his roots with a high-speed side-scrolling platform adventure that's been given a 21st century makeover thanks to the power of the 3DS.

Each level is split into three stages: Classic, Modern and...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Mr. L. Curry

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but console version is superior
The 3ds version of Sonic Generations was never going to be as warmly received as the console version, but considering it was developed by Dimps, the team behind the love it or hate it sonic 4, it actually turned out pretty good. First of all, forget about poor physics. Dimps have pretty much nailed how classic sonic should feel which is a huge plus. I didn't even mind...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Ben Dunne


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Sonic game in years!, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. L. Curry (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
AMAZING GAME!

If you grew up playing the Sonic series you will immediately feel right at home, as this takes our favourite blue hedgehog right back to his roots with a high-speed side-scrolling platform adventure that's been given a 21st century makeover thanks to the power of the 3DS.

Each level is split into three stages: Classic, Modern and Special. Unlike the PS3 and 360 versions of the game which give you both side-scrolling and free-roaming versions of the same areas to explore, the 3DS version sticks to the retro side-scrolling gameplay we all know and love. Rest assured though, that the Modern levels do feel very different to the Classic ones, thanks to Sonic's arsenal of extra moves and some very nifty camera angles which really make this game stand out from the crowd. After these have been cleared you are given the option of a Special stage, and Megadrive fans will feel right at home with this as it's a race to collect a Chaos emerald. Completing the main stages also opens up Boss levels, with a variety of returning foes including Dr Robotnik and Metal Sonic, to name but two.

Unlike some titles on Nintendo's latest handheld console the 3D effect actually adds to this game. There is a great sense of depth and speed when the 3D is cranked up to the max. I think I've given myself a headache now though, been playing it a bit too much!

The only things I dislike about this game is that it is so short, and the cutscenes are badly done. I have only had it a day and am already 2/3 of the way through the main mode, but there are missions and side quests to unlock so replay value seems to be pretty high. And it's so much fun to play anyway. As for the cutscenes I was expecting something Dreamcast quality, with voice acting, but instead they are boring and mostly text based apart from the odd laugh or "hey". Thankfully they are skippable anyway.

Another thing to point out is that apart from one or two boss battles, and the inclusion of the iconic Green Hill Zone, this game is completely different to the PC, PS3 and 360 version of the title. A whole different set of levels have been brought to life on the 3DS, including Emerald Coast from Sonic Adventure and Mushroom Hill from Sonic and Knuckles, so if you're a big Sonic fan you might want to check out the other version of this game on one of the home consoles too.

So, well done SEGA. A great game. Now how's about a 3D port of Sonic Adventure with enhanced graphics?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 3DS debut!, 26 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. D. S. Bassett "Danni" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I loved sonic from day 1, those 20 years ago and ever since I have played my fair share of Sonic games.
This is an excellent title for the 3DS and really shows that Sonic is still going strong.
The music, the graphics, the gameplay and the special Emerald stages all make for classic sonic! You have a 2D sonic level, and modern sonic level for each stage and these are true to the original remakes with eye popping 3D environments with remixes tracks of the original score which sound perfect.
True, the game is short but the replayability is more than enough with over 100 missions to unlock plus extras!
Another great game for the 3DS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Generations, 11 Jan 2012
By 
J. Hemmings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My grandson thought that this was marvellous, therefore it must be. I commend it to all who enjoy video games on the Nintendo 3DS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Generations 3DS game, 10 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought this for my daughter for Christmas and she loves it. The 3d works really well and the graphics are great. It was between this and Mario and she's glad we chose this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast & furious, 1 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
very fast but great fun for all ages, once you get used to it which doesn't take long.absolutely brilliant. loose yourself inside the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia mixed with modern, 2 Dec 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Personally, I have found most of the recent Sonic the Hedgehog games extremely poor overall to the point that I decided to stop playing them completely. However, when I saw that Sonic Generations contained "Classic Sonic" as well as levels from the older Sonic games of the 1990s, I decided to give this one a go for the nostalgia factor. So far, I have played a few levels of the game and have been pleasantly surprised. The Classic Sonic levels are brilliant - they have stuck to the original layout of the levels such as the Green Hill Zone from Sonic 1 and remakes of the original music scores are also used. The controls for Classic Sonic are the usual run, spin and jump combination so they're nice and easy to use.

The part of the game that I dislike are the "Modern Sonic" levels - these pretty much involve holding the boost button as much as possible whilst using homing attacks to launch Sonic towards various enemies, springs and flippers scattered around levels.

The game begins by launching you straight into a level without any story to start you off and give you any clue as to what is going on. The story is shown beginning after you finish the first level as Classic Sonic and you are shown a little scene of the modern Sonic and Tails chatting away, with the usual cheesy dialogue that is to be expected in the most recent Sonic games.

It's pleasant to come across remade music tracks throughout the game - for example, the level select music is like the level select menu music from Sonic Heroes.

Overall, I would recommend this game mostly for the nostalgia factor and the gameplay of the Classic Sonic levels. If, like me, you are not a fan of the more recent Sonic games but you did enjoy the older ones, then it is possible to tolerate going through the modern levels just to get to and enjoy the classic levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grey game, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
6 year old loves it.Definitely Would recommend to anyone. It's fun for him and keeps him occupied for a good while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Oldie Brought Up To Date, 4 Oct 2013
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought this for my young grandson, after remembering the concept of the game from many years ago. Computer games come and go but Sonic has stood the test of time. No I am not an expert on computer games, far from it, but some things stick in the mind and I remember the original Sonic very well from my own children’s time.

I suppose a yardstick for any computer game is how long it can hold the attention of the player. In the case of Sonic, holding my grandson’s attention is not the problem, it is getting him to stop playing it, but with sensible parenting this is not too difficult.

Many people feel that playing computer games is a waste of time for children, but with this type of game it does encourage them to use their brains and also helps with them with their dexterity and perseverance. If only these skills could be transferred with the same enthusiasm to their schoolwork.

There may be more sophisticated games on the market now, but my grandson loves this one and that makes me happy, so I can recommend it for that reason alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic generation. Brilliant game, 17 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My grandson loves this game. He is only 5 but can beat me hands down! Brilliant in 3D and normal view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Sonics is better than 1, 27 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Got this game yesterday and its AWESOME!!!!!! Supersonic speed returns with not 1, but 2 Sonics! The stages are brilliant, Classic and Modern. The events are even better than Sonic colours with jokes about how there is 2 Sonics, 2 Tails and 2 Eggmans! The online multiplayer is spectacular! The boss battles, especilly the races! There is so much longetivity with 100 missions to complete! Colour powers are cool too! My favorite Sonic game to date!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS)
Sonic Generations (Nintendo 3DS) by Sega (Nintendo 3DS)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews