Customer Reviews


535 Reviews
5 star:
 (386)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Jurassic
This was such a different film when it first came out, creating a dinosaur from the blood ingested by a Jurassic period mosquito. Imagine it, a theme park with live dinosaurs!

Most people are aware of the plot of this great film. Dino theme park, something goes wrong and all hell breaks loose. After that there are just different reasons to return to Dino...
Published 18 months ago by SBno1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice and cheap
The only thing wrong with this box, is that it's not the same one as Amazon shows pictures of.. That was bad...
Published on 8 Mar. 2013 by Lasse


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Jurassic, 22 Sept. 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was such a different film when it first came out, creating a dinosaur from the blood ingested by a Jurassic period mosquito. Imagine it, a theme park with live dinosaurs!

Most people are aware of the plot of this great film. Dino theme park, something goes wrong and all hell breaks loose. After that there are just different reasons to return to Dino Isle.

The first film is by far the best, with the other 2 stretching the theme a bit. A forth film is due in 2015, but I think they have milked it enough - we'll have to wait and see.

The blu-ray quality is second to none. I had a much better appreciation of the film than I did with the DVD version. The reptilian skins seem much more real.The audio has transferred well with the all important and infamous thump, thump when T-rex is homing in - that really does resonate well through the speakers.

I bought my set for 8GBP and for that I had a bargain and excellent VFM. At the time of writing the set is at 17GBP - I don't think it is worth that much. Put it on your wish list and watch for the price to drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawless sound with improved picture., 2 Nov. 2011
This review concerns the Jurassic Park Blu-Ray set. I have watched all three films and the transfer is satisfactory and while the picture is not flawless it is quite good. I am glad I bought this set, I have heard there is some grain but I didn't really spot any even in darker scenes. The scene in the first film with the T-Rex breaking out of the paddock had great picture. If anything it is the third film that has the worst quality. This is a good set and while not everyone will be satisfied with the picture the sound is incredible. The 7.1 Audio certainly makes itself known as I was able to tell even in the first scene that it is a vast improvement over TV broadcasts and DVD and arguably rivals the cinematic release in terms of quality. I again refer to the T-Rex paddock scene with the volume turned on loud it was amazing to hear. If you have a decent sound system I would highly recommend this set and I would consider getting better sound equipment for this purpose. The extras are decent but not fantastic, the new documentary 'Return to Jurassic Park' would have been better if only it had been a little longer just seemed too brisk and I would liked to have seen more. It features good archival features as well, but the only deleted scenes I have seen are for the second film with only two of them anyway. The one thing I would have liked are deleted scenes of the first film and yet they have failed to surface on this set.
To summarise though I would recommend this set as the sound quality makes up for any picture that isn't quite up to scratch but when it is up to scratch you'll see that it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you call a blind dinosaur?, 5 Aug. 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Do-you-think-he-saurus!
Without a doubt a collection of some of the finest movies ever put on film.
Firstly, with Jurassic Park, a film which redefined movie history. Realistic computer effects put in the ``Ooohhh!'' factor - and nothing ever beat seeing that on the big screen. The dinosaurs are just as impressive to us, as they are to Dr. Alan Grant (Sam Neill) when he sees them for the first time. The dinosaurs look living and breathing, and still look good today.
Even on the small screen, it doesn't take anything away from the film. This is mainly down to Spielberg's great direction, building the suspense by keeping most of the dinosaurs out of view for the entire first half of the film. And then exploding them out in a action packed ending.
Everything is authentic - the look, the roars, the interaction with the human cast - astounding. OK, everybody has seen it, but it's worth adding to your DVD collection.
Unfotunately The Lost World is not as good (3 stars). It is more of the same. Once again, a slow build up that is actually boring, but at least the dinosaurs appear earlier too. The plot line of rescuing someone stuck on dino island is pretty thin, but once the action kicks in you don't mind so much. The cliff top fight with the T-Rex and the trailer, and the Raptors in the long grass stand out, as does Jeff Goldblum's Ian Malcolm. However, the T-Rex in the city ending feels tacked on, and fairly pointless. Dissapointing.
Luckily Part 3 picks up again (4 stars). It's a cut to the chase movie. No introduction - let's just get the characters onto Dino isle, and have them run through the forest narrowly missing being chomped on by huge teeth. Taken as it is, it's a non-stop thrill ride for 90 minutes. The dinos are even more impressive, theres some great humour, and a big ruck between a Spinosaurus (The new bad dino on the block) and a T-Rex which looks stunning.
Spielberg passed directing duties over to Joe Johnston for this, and he proves a fair whack at the action. Impressive.
Overall, it's a must-have collection for anybody, not just movie fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to 1993 when Dinosaurs ruled the earth!!!, 1 Sept. 2005
Everybodies seen Jurassic Park but if you hav'nt...what are you waiting for? Even looking back, it's amazing that a 12 year old film can still have such brilliant special effects. These dinosaurs LOOK REAL!!! You don't think of them as special effects but as actual creatures and Spielberg never lets you forget that their not just a bunch of monsters but animals. Great cast-Sam Niel, Laura Dern, Jeff Goldblum and Richard Attenburgh are all excellent (a then little known Samuel L Jackson has a supporting role too!). The action is delivered with just the right amount of suspense. The end scene with the raptors is tops. 10/10
The Lost World is not bad but feels pretty uninspired. Jeff Goldblum as clown figure=great but his character as a leading man just dos'nt work and you can't help but want Sam Neil in his place. Julianne Moore and Pete Postlewait are much better but mainly the films just lukewarm as if Spielberg just wanted a film about people being chased by dinosaurs. The T-Rex and raptors are back and the really little ones have a scene stealing moment but on the whole it's not a patch on the original. 6/10
Jurassic Park 3 is much better. Joe Johnston dispenses with most the ethics subtext and concentrates on delivering a theme park ride of a movie. Short and sweet. The new dinosaurs are excellent Pterodons finally get an action scene after being introduced by Spielberg about 5 seconds before the end of the second film .Sam Neil is back reminding you just how great the first film was and the raptors are developed further and unlike the Lost World where they seened a bit foolish, come across as just as dangerous as in the original movie. The ending is a let down (I guess it was meant to be tense but it isn't coz we know the characters will survive) and theres a major cop out but overall a fun movie. 8/10
Great range of special features. Mainly on the effects. Theres a few things I would have liked to see-why does the Lost World disc contain the Dinosaur Encyclopedia for the creatures from the first film only? But overall this is near enough to be truly considered the Ultimate Edition of these films. Great. And the price dos'nt hurt for what you get too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When Dinosaurs Ruled The Earth, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Vez82 (Birkenhead, Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie that caught the imagination of the world and spanned generations. Back in the day when CG was in it's junior phase and people were still buzzing over the effects of the T1000 in Terminator 2: Judgement Day the year before, Jurassic Park bowled all others out of the water and still holds up to todays standards, which is impressive for a 20 year old movie.

Watching it now it is easy to pick holes in plot and it generally follows the template for a creature feature family horror movie, also the science related to cloning is flawed, but the grandure of the venture and the effects of the dinosaurs coupled with the railroad of exciting chase scenes and danger element allows for a thrill ride all the family will enjoy and any negatives the film throws up, you are willing to forgive.

The two sequels are admittedly retracing the same steps of the original, without any real introduction of new concepts, but again it is forgivable to die hard fans who want to see their favourite characters fighting for survival, and another excuse to watch a film with dinosaurs in it.

This movie franchise has become staple diet to film fan families and is now inspiring the next generation with its ground breaking effects, much like the Ray Hausen did for 40 years. With Jarassic World due for release in 2015 and Walking with Dinosaurs 3D out this Christmas, Dino movies look like they may be here to stay and this box set is a great collectors item to have, to remember were it all began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life finds a way..., 1 Jun. 2010
By 
P. Wilson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A big fan of the Jurassic Park films and decided to get this cased edition... i have given this product 5 stars anyway but unfortunately the case came a bit bent through the post, which wasn't so pleasing but after all i did by it for the films.

Story originally written by the late Michael Crichton (Amazing Author) Finished the latest book of his Pirate Latitudes and it was awesome!

Jurassic Park: Best film out of the bunch (The original) everyone should like this film, Starring a great cast of actors, Sam Neil, Jeff Goldblum, Laura Dern and Richard Attenborough, The story is slightly different to the actual book i would actually recommend reading the book first if there's anyone out there who actually hasn't seen the film yet. The overall story leads off with 2 scientists (Sam Neil & Laura Dern) brought along for an adventure with a few other members including another scientist who brings his views on chaos theory (Jeff Goldblum) which suddenly with a few words takes over the whole 3 films which i like (Life finds a way) who then find themselves caught in the enriched world of dinosaurs created by a Bio Engineer John Hammond (Richard Attenborough) (Directed by Steven Spielberg)

The Lost World: Still as good as the first features Jeff Goldblum's character as the leading role caught up in a second island of dinosaurs just to save his adventurous girlfriend with a scientific team. The film itself is actually very different from the book, the only similar things between the film and book is that it features Jeff Goldblums character Ian Malcolm on the 2nd island with similar vehicles and equipment, to be honest i would of actually have liked to see a more similar version of the book that what the film came out to be as at the end it turned into a more Godzilla type of ending. (Directed by Steven Spielberg)

Jurassic Park 3: Directed by Joe Johnston with Steven Spielberg as executive Producer this time.. Jurassic Park 3 is shall we say a fun film starring Sam Neil from the first original film as his character (Alan Grant) and slight appearances of Laura Dern who returns as her character Ellie Sattler. This film has some of the good qualities that make it a Jurassic Park film but does not have the sense of adventure that filled the other 2 films neither the darkness which the other two shared, where this film is fun (which is still good) and more for a younger aged audience which either could be i've got older so to me the film seems to me a bit to soft or otherwise from what i've seen from other reviewers just not quite there gaining the particular audiences that were attracted to 1 and 2. Also in this film it starts to feel a little to far tried as to fit in a new original story where they've ended up with a similar reason (themes) for all films to escape the island. With Alan Grant (Sam Neils character) being led once again by the value of money to be taken along on this fun story to a memorable lost world....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great trilogy packed with exciting adventures for the whole family, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jurassic Park

Two archaeologists are whisked away to a private island where they discover their tour guide has managed to find a scientific solution to bring dinosaurs back to life.
1993 and Spielberg continued to knock out blockbusters and this dinosaur caper is a revolutionary mark on cinematic scale which paved the way for two sequels that never matched the uniqueness, the anticipation and the awe of this action adventure. Jurassic park contains those moments of brilliance, the ripples of water, the dinosaur in the rear view mirror and the raptors. This is a great family adventure, showcased at an actioner not too scary for young ones and not too shallow for the older viewer, a masterpiece that is endlessly watchable with a brilliant score and performances.

The Lost World

The sequel to the phenomenal 1993 released broke box office records once more and with all the excitement and eagerness surrounding its release its no wonder it disappointed many, we all expect too much. However this has a validation to its failure. For one the charisma of Jeff Goldblum's Malcolm from the first film is lost in a sea of ordinary scripting and there is no humour to match the bored expressions. Using Vince Vaughn, and many other middle aged men fail to generate any form of excitement, even using two T-Rex's lost out with many in a 100% unrealistic trailer shakeup. Whilst there is mild consolation in the raptor field chase and a T-Rex in the real world there is no redemption to be salvaged as this constant usage of dinosaurs meant they were no longer exciting and fierce but more a mere formulaic style that adds little excitement and freshness to a series that needed it.

Jurassic Park III

The final instalment is a redemption of the atrocious second outing, using a tense script and a knowledgeable selection of dinosaur attacks to generate that same feeling as the first, a blend of anticipation that wasn't scary but had you on the edge of your seat. Here we have many new dinosaurs a story of rescue and a tantalizing prospect of pterodactyls that justifies their reputation, in a big bird cage! The score is fixed, the lighting is edgier and the action scenes are fully revised thanks to Joe Johnston's clever weight of necessities. This is a fine way to end and although there are talks of a fourth we should all be grateful for a series that has been full of action and dinosaurs.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea - Extras disc could have been handled much better..., 17 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. Pe Nixey "Dream Theater Fan" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For starters, I absolutely LOVED Jurassic Park (5/5), and quite enjoyed Jurassic Park: The Lost World (3/5) and Jurassic Park 3 (3/5). I'd never owned any of these on dvd before I bought this set, so to have the option to buy them all together like this was quite handy - and I got it for £7 in a sale, bargain.

That having been said, I found the extras disc to be a bit useless. For the most part, I found it to be very similar to the extras already included with each film. There were slight differences - and 1 or 2 new documentaries added, but certainly not enough to justify an entire extra disc.

Perhaps I'm holding my expectations a little high, but having owned the Special Editions of the Lord of the Rings films (those who own these sets will understand what I mean) - the level of the extras within this "Ultimate" edition of the JP Trilogy just dont stand up.

However, for the price - to be able to get all these films together in one set isn't that bad. Just be warned, if you already have these films seperately on DVD - DONT GET THIS SET FOR THE EXTRAS. It just isn't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good content, packaging lacklustre., 28 Feb. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The collection comes in a regular 4-DVD box, rather than the nice fold-out sleeve pictured, which seems a bit of a cop-out on the presentation front.

Content extrmely good, as we know, the films are great entertainment, and the extras aren't half-bad either. The film quality is better than mentioned by one of the other reviews, looking particularly good on a sharp LCD screen. Don't expect it to perform on HD, but that's the beauty of those new TVs, they make your old films look worse so you buy them again...a lovely bit of self-marketing. In short, if you have a regular telly, don't worry about the picture quality, it looks just as you'd expect it to.

Well worth a purchase if you don't have these films.

Two thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great; works in the US, 7 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Santa Barbara, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The price for this was great and far better than anything I had found in the US. Checking other reviews settled my concerns about whether these were region free (they were), but the main concern was whether the digital copies would work outside the UK. They worked perfectly. Great set for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Steven Spielberg (Blu-ray - 2011)
£77.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews