Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for older kids, not babies
The devices feel well made and of high quality.
Setup is a breeze, just plug in to the wall and switch on. The units pair quickly and the settings menu on the parent unit only has a small number of settings, none of which you really need to touch.

I read other reviews saying that the units are hard to switch on/off. They are not, you just have to hold the...
Published 10 months ago by ciderman

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION - Only transmits loud sounds!!!
Bought this to replace a BT "digital baby monitor plus" that had begun to give up the ghost after several years, and on paper at least the Motorola seems to offer all of the features of the BT's latest equivalent (the BT250) but at a better price.

BUT - there is a significant design flaw in this monitor that everyone should be aware of before taking the...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for older kids, not babies, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
The devices feel well made and of high quality.
Setup is a breeze, just plug in to the wall and switch on. The units pair quickly and the settings menu on the parent unit only has a small number of settings, none of which you really need to touch.

I read other reviews saying that the units are hard to switch on/off. They are not, you just have to hold the power button for slightly longer than would normally be expected. This is obviously to stop children turning them on and off.

However... There is one BIG point to bear in mind.
This is not an "always on" listener. It is triggered by sound. Normal breathing, snoring, gurgling etc are NOT heard with this system.
We are very happy with this purchase as our daughter is 4yrs old. We only need to hear her if she calls out or cry's, so the muting of the audio during normal sleep is fine for our needs.
The poor sensitivity of the unit would not be suitable for a newborn baby where you would want to hear every breath.
This system mutes the transmission for all but fairly loud noises before it triggers and lets you listen in.

So good for older children, not for babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION - Only transmits loud sounds!!!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Bought this to replace a BT "digital baby monitor plus" that had begun to give up the ghost after several years, and on paper at least the Motorola seems to offer all of the features of the BT's latest equivalent (the BT250) but at a better price.

BUT - there is a significant design flaw in this monitor that everyone should be aware of before taking the plunge and buying one.

Despite stating in the description that you can "hear every sound and movement your baby makes with the high-sensitivity microphone", this is simply not the case.

We had been used to how the BT worked, where the speaker on the parent unit is always on - that is to say you can hear exactly what's going on in your child's room even if they're not crying or talking - e.g. the sound of them breathing, snuffles, movements and even the sound of the ticking clock on the other side of the room. In my opinion, this is a reassuring feature.

By contrast, the Motorola MBP16 only transmits sound to the parent unit if a louder sound (like crying or normal speech) is detected on the microphone on the baby unit. At all other times the speaker on the parent unit is off. I tested the operation whilst my daughter was asleep and was able to open the bedroom door, creep across the room (with its creaky floorboards!) and whisper a few words in the vicinity of the monitor, then exit the room and close the door behind me. My wife, who had the parent unit downstairs, heard nothing.

So - if you're not a "paranoid parent" and you only want to hear your child when all hell's broken loose and they're screaming the place down - go right ahead and buy this monitor.

But, if like me you'd rather have some advance warning that things are staring to kick off (or the reassurance that they're not about to), I'd suggest buying something else.

We're returning our monitor for a refund and are going to spend the extra £15 or so getting a BT250.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Good build quality and wifi reception top rate. Doesn't have as many functions as some others but very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works well, 24 May 2013
By 
Mrs. E fox "foxy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
this works well , very good to plug in and does pick up noise over and above usual snuffles etc. monitors generally are all very expensive so price is fair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jun 2013
By 
L. Southall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
I ordered these monitors as a replacement for my BT monitor and I have to say im really pleased with them. The sound quality on these unlike other monitors I have owned (im on monitor no. 4 now!)is fantastic. We have no problems with interference and the monitor doesn't have an annoying glow to it that lights your bedroom up on an evening. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motorola Digital Monitors, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Recommended but check you place it quite near baby/toddler and put on high volume high as on low couldn't really hear much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing for the price you pay, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
I got this and am so surprised and happy with the way they work considering how little I paid for it. they look great and I love the way it only turns on when there is a sound in the room. Unlike many other monitors this one does not interfere with other signals at home and is very quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great......., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
I can hear the children playing two floors away, and tell them its meal time without climbing two flights of stairs or shouting! Oh and they are not babies.... they are 9 & 10..... it works as a great intercom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product!, 29 July 2013
By 
Lampros "MD" (Athens, GREECE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
So light, so easy, very good reception! The only problem is that you can not adjust the microphone sensitivity at the base!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great at first but has started dropping signal in the ..., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Great at first but has started dropping signal in the middle of the night so the alarm sounds on it. This has woken me up more than the baby and resulted in returning the first lot of monitors and binning the second lot. Amazon were very helpful but better avoiding or going for a different make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews