Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the manual......
Read the manual....the biggest issue I have found with product reviews on Amazon and other sites is that they seem to have been posted by people who simply haven't read the manual. This alarm is NOT meant to allow you to hear every breath your baby takes. It is designed to alert you to when your baby is becoming disturbed. The manual makes this clear.....so nonesense...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. M. J. G.

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION - Only transmits loud sounds!!!
Bought this to replace a BT "digital baby monitor plus" that had begun to give up the ghost after several years, and on paper at least the Motorola seems to offer all of the features of the BT's latest equivalent (the BT250) but at a better price.

BUT - there is a significant design flaw in this monitor that everyone should be aware of before taking the...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the manual......, 11 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Read the manual....the biggest issue I have found with product reviews on Amazon and other sites is that they seem to have been posted by people who simply haven't read the manual. This alarm is NOT meant to allow you to hear every breath your baby takes. It is designed to alert you to when your baby is becoming disturbed. The manual makes this clear.....so nonesense reviews claiming you can't hear your baby breath via. it can be dismissed as this not what the product is designed for. Yes I know what it says on the box but that is not how it works.

The on/off buttons on both units require a press and hold (which guess what? It points out in the manual) so nonsense comments about fiddly on/off operation can clearly be dismissed too.

When I bought this for the stay overs of my grand daughter I deliberated over the numerous reviews, both positive and negative and found the reviews were clearly from people who just hadn't bothered to read a manual before using a product. My daughter confirmed she found exactly the same when she was researching products for her daughter, people were often less than objective about a product associated with baby care, so she now goes on her own gut feeling or on personal recomendation.

The simple fact is this thing just works. If I was to add two suggestions for improvement it would be that the buttons illuminated in the dark to assist with their operation and that the night light was a little brighter.

And for one last tip if you want one of these then try other sites too. I got mine for £29.96 at Baby's R us while the next cheapest was Amazon at £37.99 at the time of purchase. Kiddicare who are normally very competitive on baby and nursery stuff had it priced even higher at £39.99, the same as Argos.

Update 12th Jan 2015 - I see Amazon have dropped the price to match the exact same price I got mine for yesterday from Babies R us. Somebody at Amazon must have read my review!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CAUTION - Only transmits loud sounds!!!, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Bought this to replace a BT "digital baby monitor plus" that had begun to give up the ghost after several years, and on paper at least the Motorola seems to offer all of the features of the BT's latest equivalent (the BT250) but at a better price.

BUT - there is a significant design flaw in this monitor that everyone should be aware of before taking the plunge and buying one.

Despite stating in the description that you can "hear every sound and movement your baby makes with the high-sensitivity microphone", this is simply not the case.

We had been used to how the BT worked, where the speaker on the parent unit is always on - that is to say you can hear exactly what's going on in your child's room even if they're not crying or talking - e.g. the sound of them breathing, snuffles, movements and even the sound of the ticking clock on the other side of the room. In my opinion, this is a reassuring feature.

By contrast, the Motorola MBP16 only transmits sound to the parent unit if a louder sound (like crying or normal speech) is detected on the microphone on the baby unit. At all other times the speaker on the parent unit is off. I tested the operation whilst my daughter was asleep and was able to open the bedroom door, creep across the room (with its creaky floorboards!) and whisper a few words in the vicinity of the monitor, then exit the room and close the door behind me. My wife, who had the parent unit downstairs, heard nothing.

So - if you're not a "paranoid parent" and you only want to hear your child when all hell's broken loose and they're screaming the place down - go right ahead and buy this monitor.

But, if like me you'd rather have some advance warning that things are staring to kick off (or the reassurance that they're not about to), I'd suggest buying something else.

We're returning our monitor for a refund and are going to spend the extra £15 or so getting a BT250.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for older kids, not babies, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
The devices feel well made and of high quality.
Setup is a breeze, just plug in to the wall and switch on. The units pair quickly and the settings menu on the parent unit only has a small number of settings, none of which you really need to touch.

I read other reviews saying that the units are hard to switch on/off. They are not, you just have to hold the power button for slightly longer than would normally be expected. This is obviously to stop children turning them on and off.

However... There is one BIG point to bear in mind.
This is not an "always on" listener. It is triggered by sound. Normal breathing, snoring, gurgling etc are NOT heard with this system.
We are very happy with this purchase as our daughter is 4yrs old. We only need to hear her if she calls out or cry's, so the muting of the audio during normal sleep is fine for our needs.
The poor sensitivity of the unit would not be suitable for a newborn baby where you would want to hear every breath.
This system mutes the transmission for all but fairly loud noises before it triggers and lets you listen in.

So good for older children, not for babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless baby monitor, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
I read the reviews before purchasing the monitor about the cut offs and yet went ahead to purchase it because seriously... How bad can it be?! Alas... Not even a week, product has been returned. The cut offs were so serious, that I was wondering why call it a baby monitor?! The only place it worked as it should was when the parent and baby units were in the same room. Otherwise, despite not moving any units or changing any turned on appliances etc they would suddenly lose their connections and the parent unit would beep annoyingly until one brings it to the same room as the baby unit and restart it. The units were only separated by one wall with no blocking appliances eg fridge.

If they can really sort out this serious problem or not call it a baby monitor - this is actually a very sleek product. The belt clip stand is a very good idea. The lullabies were a little dull. And the size were fabulous especially when travelling.

I also found it comical that when I opened the product to read the instructions there was a note from the manufacturer with a big STOP sign asking the purchaser not to return the product but to call their helpful customer service instead. But as a busy parent, I do not have time to even bother with this product. They obviously have had a lot of returns. And instead of fixing the problem and making sure it comes out of the box ready to use, they added a silly leaflet telling the customer not to return it!!!!

I would not recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality., 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Good build quality and wifi reception top rate. Doesn't have as many functions as some others but very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works well, 24 May 2013
By 
Mrs. E fox "foxy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
this works well , very good to plug in and does pick up noise over and above usual snuffles etc. monitors generally are all very expensive so price is fair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motorola Digital Monitors, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Recommended but check you place it quite near baby/toddler and put on high volume high as on low couldn't really hear much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not reliable, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
We have 2 main gripes with this monitor. The first and main one is that the monitor keeps cutting out. Yes, we use the parent unit well within range (e.g. next to our baby's room), and we do not allow the battery to run flat. This, I find very disconcerting since, unless your baby regularly makes sounds, it wouldn't be obvious that this is happening. So, you can't be sure that you'll be alerted to each sound. We know this because we sometimes leave our daughter's projector on when we put her down, which plays music. We can only hear the music intermittently through the parent unit. Secondly, the on/off switch is just too unresponsive. Sometimes, I press and hold and it switches on/off straight away, but other times, I hold it down and wait....and wait....and wait, very frustrating and annoying. As an aside, when you switch off the monitor itself, while I understand why this deisgn feature is there, the parent unit makes a needlessly and oppressively loud beeping noise (notably significantly louder than any of the sounds made by our daughter through the monitor, and she has a pair of lungs on her!). Of course, you can't silence the beeping easily because the on/off switch doesn't respond as it should !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great performing baby monitor for the money., 18 Jan. 2015
By 
A. Whiteford "donka154" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Excellent baby monitor with great features for the price. Range is excellent and connection remains rock solid. Turning on requires holding down the left navigation button for 5 seconds but turning off only needs a couple of seconds which seems a little backwards to me and that may explain why some people have had issues turning it on as they may not have been precisely holding the correct button for long enough. Night light and melodies work great on the baby unit, it would have been perfect if you could control the melodies from the parent unit but at least they are there. Battery seems good for around 3 days use but if you keep it plugged in when you retire to bed then you will always have great battery life. Temperature display on parent unit is accurate and features an alarm feature if the temperature is too low or high. Speaker remains off until a sound above the background level is detected in the baby room and all subsequent sounds are heard until things settle back down. If the baby is coughing or crying you will definitely know. The LED indicators are a reassuring visual alert as well if you have a TV or other source of noise near the parent unit. I would recommend this unit to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great at first but has started dropping signal in the ..., 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola MBP16 Digital Audio Monitor with LCD Display (Baby Product)
Great at first but has started dropping signal in the middle of the night so the alarm sounds on it. This has woken me up more than the baby and resulted in returning the first lot of monitors and binning the second lot. Amazon were very helpful but better avoiding or going for a different make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews