Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandy in your living room!
This is a wonderfully intimate album of Sandy Denny relaxing with friends, there is something so real and soothing about these recordings and although(understandable) the sound quality is not perfect it's a lot better than I was expecting and even adds to the intimacy. "Balulalow", "Milk and Honey" and "Fairy Tale Lullaby" are stand-out's for me with the last believed to...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by Gary Hanna

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best quality
You may or may not like this recording - very basic, done in someone's front room in the late 60s, so not surprising that I wasn't very impressed. Sandy's voice is still as beautiful as ever, though.
Published 20 months ago by J. M. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandy in your living room!, 20 Sep 2011
By 
Gary Hanna (Newry, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
This is a wonderfully intimate album of Sandy Denny relaxing with friends, there is something so real and soothing about these recordings and although(understandable) the sound quality is not perfect it's a lot better than I was expecting and even adds to the intimacy. "Balulalow", "Milk and Honey" and "Fairy Tale Lullaby" are stand-out's for me with the last believed to be the only recording of Sandy performing this delicate song.
For Sandy fans these recordings have to be an absolute must-have as her warmth and humour really come across beautifully. Even on first listening you know this CD is going to grow on you with every play - a wonderful discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historic Sandy Denny, 13 Jan 2012
By 
H. W. English "audiophile" (Loughborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
A trip down memory lane with the issue of this cd from twelve tape tracks recorded while visiting glasgow in 1967 .
Sandy Denny was staying at the house of Alex Campbell when these informal recordings took place .
Considering the quality of the original recording equipment the final cd sound is surprisingly good .
The song material is of its era and reflects the songs being sung by Sandy and other singers in the folk clubs at that time .
If you wish to hear what a cheerful Sandy Denny sounded like out of the studio this recording is one of your few chances .
In all a natural snapshot of a singer/songwriter in her early professional years ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight into Sandy's early steps, 6 Dec 2011
By 
A. Thomson (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
Do not buy this product for the audio quality, buy it to hear a young, raw talent playing with her friends.

The voice remains sublime, the material is variable but, despite this being a home recording from more than 40 years ago made with no intention of release, the listening experience is great. If you don't know Sandy Denny, start elsewhere - but if you have heard her studio solo output (and with Fairport and Fotheringay) you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brings back memories, 27 Oct 2011
By 
J. Robertson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
While obviously not recorded under ideal conditions this reminds me of the 'let's get together and sing' days of my past. Sandy's lovely voice was something I'd forgotten. Well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best quality, 29 Dec 2012
By 
J. M. Johnson (Hove, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
You may or may not like this recording - very basic, done in someone's front room in the late 60s, so not surprising that I wasn't very impressed. Sandy's voice is still as beautiful as ever, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For hardcore fans only, 22 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
I agree with everything the previous five-star reviewer says, but would just like to add that this intimate, homespun tape recording is really one for dedicated Denny fans only. There are some charming performances here but the sound quality is not that great [one mic in a room, not surprising; Denny's guitar is a bit out of tune on Who Knows Where the Time Goes, much better heard on her album with the Strawbs] and the song selection is not that thrilling [why Sandy, Alex and Polly opt to sing a couple of carols in August is a bit surprising; I suppose that was the fashionable folk club repertoire of the time. There's also a rather clunky busker's attempt by Alex at the blues song Trouble in Mind]

For die-hard fans it's worth four to five stars; for fans who maybe prefer her work with Fairport to her solo work, two to three stars. For anyone [probably under 30!] coming fresh to Sandy Denny's amazing music, it's best avoided, for the time being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 19 Rupert St review, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
I've given it 5 stars because, although, the technical quality is that of a home recording in the 1960s, an 'otherness' quality beams, or is that seeps, through. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JUST FOR FUN, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
Imagine if Sandy Denny came round to your house, had a few drinks, picked up a guitar and started singing. This CD gives you a chance to experience something a bit like that. OK, the sound quality is not great, but not unlistenable (it works best for me with headphones) and the choice of material is perhaps a little...eccentric, but this is a wonderful opportunity to hear people at the very top of their game doing what they loved to do, and doing it just for fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
A must have for Sandy devotees. They've done wonders with the sound to make it fairly OK. Nice to hear the laugh. Obviously having fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You must be super-hard core, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: 19 Rupert Street (Audio CD)
fan to like this. The sound quality is so bad that you will probably not listen to the CD again if you own more than 50 CDs and are not only a fan of Sendy Denny's. It was not much better than I remember from historical recordings of R. Strauss directing Mahler symphonies recorded at the beginning of the last century.

Further, Sandy Denny with A. Campbell and acoustic guitar do not even come close to the diversity and intensity of musical expression as with a full band as you can hear on North Star Grassman and the Ravens.

Finally, the whole CD is only 39 minutes with some of the time to be subtracted during which the two artists talk, joke, and laugh.

Some things are better left unpublished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

19 Rupert Street
19 Rupert Street by Sandy Denny (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews