Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quality humour
Sirens has a great combination of black humour counterbalanced - but never spoiled - by occasional sentiment. Worth checking out for Game of Thrones fans interested in seeing 'Rob Stark' in a very different role (he's just as good in this). A shame it didn't get a second season.
Published on 6 May 2012 by Damo

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars audio issues on Disc 2
I just started watching Disc 2 of this show and the audio seems wrong. there is a phasing effect on most of the music and incidental sounds. I'm quite sure it wasn't like that when I watched it on TV.
Published on 8 April 2012 by siren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good show, a shame it ended too soon., 14 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this show. It is a dramedy which works very well, with just the right balance of laughs and drama. The acting was first class, in particular the three main characters who work very well together. I have read the books that the series was based on and know that the series would have had some serious legs if it had been given the green light for a second season.

To criticise, I would say that the characters are billed as paramedics when in fact they are emergency medical technicians. I work as an EMT and feel I can give a good rounded opinion. Some of the things these guys get up to just wouldnt happen BUT it is a comedy/drama series and events have to be exaggerated for dramatic purposes, which is what happens.

What the show does very well is portray with some degree of realism the world weary emergency medic. This is well worth watching. I believe Dennis Leary is looking at making a US version which may be of interest to fans. I hope his version gets moe than one season if it's as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sirens dvd series one, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. Peter B. York (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this series on the tv and couldn't wait for the dvd to come out. It had me hooked from the very first episode and I couldn't wait for the next episode. I have now watched the dvd twice more. It is a great series. I highly recommend this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black comedy, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Laugh out loud one liners...very good characters who are both engaging and full of life
The series got better and better. Plenty of stand out moments and a thoroughly good tv series
which is highly under rated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood, Sweat and Richard Madden, 24 Jan. 2015
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Sirens is a very funny and sometimes poignant snoop into the busy lives
of three Emergency Medical Technicians, and stars Kayvan Novak as Rachid,
a naturally funny character. Rhys Thomas plays the part of Stuart who is
a likeable know-it-all with intimacy issues, and Richard Madden the
swashbuckling star of Game of Thrones, playing a quiet sensitive gay
character, Ashley.
Anne Beth Hayes plays a rather sexy Police Sergeant, who is looking for
love.

Set in the city centre and suburbs of Leeds, we follow these three young
men working for the West Riding Ambulance Service in their daily duties and
several scrapes, as they pick up and deal with the injured, the drunk and
bloodied detritus of urban life, whilst trying to find personal fulfillment
not to mention sex, in their otherwise hectic lives.
Funny, irreverent and smutty, this is a fun to watch series.

Having seen Richard Madden in Klondike, Game of Thrones, and other more
serious films, it was great to see him take on this comedic role and be
heard using his native Scots accent in this. Richard Madden is a quality
actor whose star is rising.

Broadcast in 2011 on Channel 4, in six episodes, and released in 2012 on
two discs. There is over 4 hours and 40 minutes viewing, with quite a
few bloopers and extra features on disc two.
I bought my copy from a third party seller Gemmavision, here on Amazon
at a very reasonable price.
Very funny, well worth viewing it you missed it on TV. Sad that Series
Two did not materialise.
No Subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny as ...., 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Its so good that you wonder why did they never do a series two ?? lol .. get it and watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars audio issues on Disc 2, 8 April 2012
This review is from: Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I just started watching Disc 2 of this show and the audio seems wrong. there is a phasing effect on most of the music and incidental sounds. I'm quite sure it wasn't like that when I watched it on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sirens - Series 1 [DVD]
Sirens - Series 1 [DVD] by Kayvan Novak (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: £32.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews