Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars living the dream
this film/documentary is about two surfers straight out of california living every surfers dream - the endless summer. Travelling to places that have never been surfed before and ripping it up they meet many strange and interesting locals on their travels. Combined with some hilarious commentary this really is worth of all five stars. A must for any surfer or surfer to...
Published on 5 Sep 2003 by MR C OWEN

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Item and no refund
I had purchased The Endless Summer, but instead I received Halloween III and when I contact the seller "all your music" they told me that they cannot replace it with the correct item. Unacceptable!
Published on 2 May 2011 by Helan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re united to this great film, 11 Aug 2002
I first saw this film way back whilst off school one day, It so impressed me that I can still remember the great surf scenes cool dudes and hot chicks (60's speak not mine) years later it inspired a very hot and enjoyable stay in the heart of surf in the UK where the surf was good and the life easy. More recently I have returned to this Holy place to find non of the magic has gone, in fact with the Body boarders its even moor surf city. So if you have any surf in you see this film when/if you can it will inspire you to be and become. Oh and visit Uk surf city and drink at "Walkabout" and the "Sailor" the list goes on, just try you will enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surf Movie, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. G. P. Barnett (Cambs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Endless Summer Collectors Edition (2 Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
The original surfers in search of great wave movie. Although slightly more like a documentary much of the time. The commentary is funny and the surfing footage great, especially given this was filmed in the early 60's. Finally although not directly connected with these comments. There is or at least was an endless summer beach bar in Santa Barbara near the marina and worth a visit if your in that area. It has some memorabilia from the film. I used the upstairs bar rather than the proper restaurant which seemed more fitting with the theme of the place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surfer Kitsch Goes Safari in Africa, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Endless Summer [DVD] (DVD)
Five stars for surfers, no doubt. I watched this first on TV in the late 60s as a youngster fascinated by the whole thing and I'd not seen it again till today. Time plays some funny tricks and in my mind it was a kind of Beach Boys surfs up and we can't go on forever nostalgia thing. Of course I was wrong, Bruce Brown's commentary has no sense that it was all going to end with middle age or that this was a moment of golden youth never to be seen again etc. In fact it's a travelogue with some beautiful and repetitive shots most interesting early on and in Africa. There is a problem with the rather patronizing and perhaps slightly more than faintly racial references, however. He does make one comment about integration in South Africa which given the context isn't really enough. The commentary is occasionally amusing. The music is not surf music apart from the slightly better theme tune which has an end-of-the-day mood to it. Couldn't really have been made at any other time in this way - has 1964 all over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative surfer film, 30 Aug 2011
By 
N. G. Hull (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fabulous film from 1965 that tracks the journey of 2 surfers around the globe. Background shots of early 60s cars in California, Africa, Australia. Beautifully shot by hand-held camera, great music and a witty commentary make it very watchable. My 2 boys love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 5 Jun 2010
This review is from: Endless Summer [DVD] (DVD)
This groundbreaking and classic must see film was the first to capture the search for the perfect wave and, in complete contrast to the 1959 Hollywood movie Gidget, The Endless Summer is a true surfers' film - in fact, the first to be produced by a surfer that reached national audiences. If you don't have this title then your collection is incomplete.

The adventures of Mike Hynson and Robert August are captured in a 90 minute colour film that follows the intrepid explorers in their 35,000 mile adventure around the world. Following an interesting introduction to the early sport of surfing in the 1960's, California is soon left behind for the simpler culture of Dakar in Senegal where magic waves and warm waters are soon discovered. The quest continues to Accra in Ghana and the (then) relatively undiscovered bejewelled coastline of South Africa, from Cape Town to Durban, where spectacular and unspoiled natural treasures are revealed and surfed.

Continuing to Australia the surfers visit Perth and Melbourne always, it appears, one step behind the perfect surf conditions. Their luck doesn't improve much when they reach Auckland in New Zealand, but compared to the crowded surf breaks of modern times they were surfing in paradise.

Tahiti was the next stop, (a place where there are no waves apparently!), and includes incredible footage of surfing waves out to sea - the result of a strong backwash form a steep beach.

The penultimate destination is the surfing Mecca of Hawaii and features some of the early big wave riders in their prime.

This must-see surf classic includes intelligent and witty commentary from Bruce Brown who, overall, does an excellent job in capturing the essence of the surfing spirit and the joy of riding awesome waves in the pristine surf-spots of the early 1960's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality for a classic old masterpiece, 2 Dec 2009
This review is from: Endless Summer [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is very good. Considering that the movie was released in 1966, the quality of the images is high. It is a pity that there are no subtitles, since this is clearly a bit inconvenient for those people like me who are not mother tongue. It would be desiderable to have the version in Italian: I know it exists, but it is basically impossible to find it. In any case, I can definitely recommend this product to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Vid, 21 May 2009
This review is from: The Endless Summer [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this cult film after reading a surfer's book called riding the magic carpet (which was great too). The docu/film does not disappoint, it makes you feel like you are on the journey with the guys, and the commentary was really sharp and funny throughout. Retro feel in a way but not, it's quite special. Watching it gives you a real calming and feel good buzz like you don't get often, like being on a long holiday in the sun with a nice breeze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 60's surf film, 5 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Endless Summer [DVD] (DVD)
The classic that spawned a surf revival. This film follows two riders surf for the perfect wave. Great scenery, great action. (if a little thin on plot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Item and no refund, 2 May 2011
I had purchased The Endless Summer, but instead I received Halloween III and when I contact the seller "all your music" they told me that they cannot replace it with the correct item. Unacceptable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Endless Summer, 21 July 2006
By 
M. Struthmann "waternut" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Endless Summer [DVD] (DVD)
Bruce Brown's first Endless Summer is now mainly of historical interest. The age of the film makes no easy viewing at first. The sound is somewhat muffled, the music somewhat outdated and the camera work is that of the 1960s. However, I have seen the movie several times and each time it grew on me more, and I now like it. The story has no plot, the action is on the sport of surfing and the search of surf in the various countries visited. Bruce Brown's The Endless Summer is a good movie to have in your surf movie collection.

Interestingly, Bruce Brown comments on the arrival of porpoises at a Durban beach that sharks and porpoises have yet to integrate in South Africa [stress placed on 'in South Africa']. Porpoises and sharks will not be found together in the water. To the finer tuned ear a clear comment on the racial policies in South Africa during those years.

Bruce Brown's humour has improved in wit in his second Endless Summer which shows that his mind has definitely become younger over the years! The minds of surfers usually do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Endless Summer Collectors Edition (2 Disc) [DVD]
22.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews