Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chicago 36
Cracking value this. 36 tracks from a band that has been around for decades, complete with nice packaging showing most of the album sleeves (with the Coca Cola like Chicago logo incorporated into different scenes) and some adequate sleeve notes. The compilers have sympathetically arranged the songs such that disc one contains more of the well known radio friendly stuff...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by S. C. Trump

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chicago are a strange band!
I have been listening to music for over 45 years and Chicago have certainly had some big hits in that time. This compilation contains them - but they have bizarrely had only around 6 or 7 big hits in their entire history. There are 56 songs on this double CD and to be honest, once you get past the 6 or so hits, their music is stodgy and dated. It basically plods. For 5,...
Published 2 months ago by John K. Gateley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chicago 36, 4 Dec 2011
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Cracking value this. 36 tracks from a band that has been around for decades, complete with nice packaging showing most of the album sleeves (with the Coca Cola like Chicago logo incorporated into different scenes) and some adequate sleeve notes. The compilers have sympathetically arranged the songs such that disc one contains more of the well known radio friendly stuff compared to disc two that contains a number of slightly heavier and obscure numbers. Me, I like both, but for 'in car' listening with the wife, disc one fits the bill much better. There are too many highlights to comment on here - just read the track listing and you'll see what I mean. If I had been choosing the selections then I would have liked to have seen 'Loser with a broken heart' from '13' and 'Love me tomorrow' from '16'. Otherwise the quality is high throughout. One word of warning though (and this alone warrants knocking off one star), the version of '25 or 6 to 4' is the EDITED single version running at under three minutes instead of the full four minute version. We lose a verse plus much of Terry Kath's superb guitar solo - a real shame as the disc runs at 73 mins 24 secs, so there is easily enough room to have included the full length version. Conversely, 'Get away' the short song that 'Hard to say I'm sorry' merges into IS included despite not being billed on the track listing, and 'Song for you' billed as 'Single version' sounds identical to the version on the album 'Chicago XIV'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the real thing, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Other reviewers are disappointed by the occasional edits not being the versions they would have preferred, but even they seem happy with this collection, which is a comprehensive as you'll find unless a boxed set has been issued.

The compilation is not in chronological order, but the first CD mainly focuses on the later period, while the second CD mainly focuses on the earlier period. That said, there is plenty of overlap, as the compilers opted to keep the softer tracks apart from the rockier tracks. This idea has been many tried before and will no doubt be tried many times in the future. It doesn't always make for a better compilation (because there is a danger of each side sounding too samey), but it works quite well here.

A closer look at the track listing and the chart history shows (for those who care about these things) that every American top 20 hit is included except If she would have been faithful, which made 17 in 1987. Along with most of Chicago's American hits, it didn't chart in Britain. Considering their popularity in their homeland, it is perhaps surprising that the only had three number one singles, but their albums sold extremely well. Of the three, two (If you leave me now, Hard to say I'm sorry) were huge British hits, but the third (Look away) was only a minor UK hit. Does anybody in Britain even remember Look away, if they didn't actually buy an album containing it? Well, it's here and you can make up your mind whether it deserved a better fate in the British singles chart.

It's difficult to imagine there ever being a better compilation of Chicago's music - one that will appeal to both dedicated fans and casual fans. Some might have preferred to have the tracks in chronological order, while others prefer the contrasting styles of each CD. Some may even quibble about omitted tracks that they would have included in preference to some that were included, but every track that most people (British or American) are likely to regard as essential is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Value for 36 Classic tracks, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I agree with what the other reviewers said. Such terrific value at 4.99 for what is literally the ultimate collection of Chicago's work. OK so there are a few tracks which are not as good as their chart hits but they are OK. I cannot imagine getting a better value collection anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Value For 2 CDs Of The Finest From Chicago., 14 Jan 2012
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
At the present cost of under 5 this has to be top class value for money, especially if you want a good overview of this important jazz rock band.
Of the 36 tracks, all which are of the best reproduction standards, my best choices are If You Leave Me Now, Baby, What A Big Suprise, Song For You, 25 Or 6 To 4, I/m A Man and Wishing You Were Here.
If 2 hours of Chicago is what you are looking for, I think you've found it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This album covers all the hits from this amazing rock band from the late 60s to the mid 80s. Recommended :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chicago are a strange band!, 18 Jun 2014
By 
John K. Gateley "johngateley" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I have been listening to music for over 45 years and Chicago have certainly had some big hits in that time. This compilation contains them - but they have bizarrely had only around 6 or 7 big hits in their entire history. There are 56 songs on this double CD and to be honest, once you get past the 6 or so hits, their music is stodgy and dated. It basically plods. For 5, it's good value, but if I was a die-hard Chicago fan, I would be wondering why they have only had one big hit per decade of their existence.

If you just want their hits, I would go for a single CD compilation because 56 songs is around 45+ too many - the non-hits sound dated and strained. Pete Cetera has a distinctive voice but others sometimes take the lead vocals and they don't sound great to be honest. A compilation for fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago - Ultimate Collection, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Peter Hawthorne "Tropidoc" (Marbella) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Good value collection containing almost all of their hits and ideal for those wanting an introduction to their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... have not heard of and they are not too great but the recognizable stuff is great, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Some tracks I have not heard of and they are not too great but the recognizable stuff is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music and value, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I chose to buy this CD as I already have it in cassette tape format and realised I couldn't really enjoy the music anymore as I don't have any old technology left! It is great value music of the highest quality - really worth the money. For any Chicago fans this is a must - every song you associate with Chicago is on these discs and it is high value listening. I wouldn't expect anything less of Chicago! First Class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Quick delivery. No probs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Chicago (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews