Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definative Jim Croce collection
There have been many compilations of Jim Croce's work over the years, many from the Castle/Sanctuary labels, and if you have any of them you will already have many of the tracks included here. What makes this release from Edsel stand out from the crowd is the quality of its presentation - you get Jim's three studio albums, as released by the ABC label, in chronological...
Published on 3 Nov 2011 by James B. Spink

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr Croce did have wonderful voice.
I bought this on the strength of one song. Silly really as it's a bit dated. Mr Croce did have wonderful voice.
Published 1 month ago by catherine stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definative Jim Croce collection, 3 Nov 2011
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
There have been many compilations of Jim Croce's work over the years, many from the Castle/Sanctuary labels, and if you have any of them you will already have many of the tracks included here. What makes this release from Edsel stand out from the crowd is the quality of its presentation - you get Jim's three studio albums, as released by the ABC label, in chronological order with their tracks in the correct order, followed by a selection of bonus tracks.

CD one contains the two albums You Don't Mess Around With Jim and Life And Times, and CD two features the album I Got A Name along with sixteen bonus tracks which have been previously released on various compilations issued after Jim's death. All 50 tracks have been re-mastered for this release and sound pretty good. Also included is a 32 page booklet containing lyrics to all the songs and a 2000 word essay by Alan Robinson.

Edsel have produced what must now be considered to be the definitive release of Jim's most popular and well-known work in a lovingly created package selling for a very reasonable price. If you have no Jim Croce in your collection do not hesitate to buy this one - and if you are a fan with many tracks already then this CD offers enough for the price to make it worth adding to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare and original talent, 24 Feb 2012
By 
Mr Bee (County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
For years I have been scouring music outlets for a copy of Jim Croce's material without sucess until I tried Amazon. This collection contains everything he produced in his tragically short career and listening to it again I can testify that it definately stands the test of time. Marvellous lyrics and outstanding musical arrangements. Purchase and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Jim Croce, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Jim Croce didn't make many albums in his time and this is great having all 3 together, I love his singing and if you listen to the words he is singing about things that you could feel taking place today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Ordering this on a whim after realising I hadn't ever replaced much earlier cassette...what a joy. The voice, great lyrics and melodies, especially the slower classics. I suppose your view of Jim Croce will depend on where you were at the time, who with etc.... they are really evocative as well as being memorable in themselves. The bonus tracks didn't particularly impress but the sleeve booklet is a good read. The only trouble with ordering this sort of music from the past is driving through the tears when you stick the CD in on the way to work!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Collection, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Must be the best collection available at the price. All the expected numbers plus some I had not previously heard. I had wanted to update an elderly vinyl version - this was the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Oct 2012
By 
TheDoc "Billious" (Sidcup, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
This has to be the greatest value in music on this or any other planet, although the thooHoubs of Arcturus V are supposed to be pretty good!

This is not a best of, it's three original albums plus a bunch of bonus tracks of about an album's length. When I say album I am talking vinyl, so there are 2 CDs in this package. I much prefer this sort of format to 'Best Of' type compilations. Don't mistake me though, this package certainly contains his very best.

Jim Croce was very much an ordinary (but musically brilliant) guy who died in 1973 at the age of 30 in an aircraft crash. The world lost a truly great artist on that sad day. This collection allows you to hear how great a genius this guy was.

Jim Croce struggled to make it in the music business for a number of years and at the time of his untimely death was just emerging as a super-star and that makes the whole story that much more poignant. That and the fact his songwriting was absolutely unique. He wrote ballads that would bring tears to your eyes and quirky little pop songs that would make you grin all over. One of my favourite pop-lines is in 'Bad, bad Leroy Brown', a song recorded by Sinatra (no less) and that little cracker is "meaner than a Junk-Yard dog". If you have ever bought parts for a car in a junk-yard (breakers-yard here in the UK) then you know how mean a 'junk-yard dog' is.

I could go on all day and discuss some of these songs: 'Operator', 'Time in a Bottle', etc but I have a much better idea. Go and pay the measly few sheckels they are asking for these masterpieces, get settled in front of a warm hi-fi and let it wash over you. You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THe Original Albums Jim Croce, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Without any doubt Jim Croce was a great singer guitarist,his death a very early age was so sad.
Had he lived he would be rated along with James Taylor,Joni Mitchell and Paul Simon as one of the best .
Its great to have all three of his album in one CD set,together with some early recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I got a name for Jim - 'Genius', 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
Some people say that Jim's songs and style are a little old hat now but I feel confident that post 1973 he would have worked with the top producers and musicians thereafter had he lived. His legacy is here for all to see on this two CD best of that covers his three album releases and a plethora of bonus tracks.

Jim had an easy vocal style and his arrangements were relatively simple (but tastefully done) . His lyrics and observations made for entertaining and thought provoking listening. Has any song writer written a better song than 'Time in a bottle'. Harry Chapin was with us until 1981 and for me his music 1973-80 gives a glimpse into how Jim may have evolved musically. We will never know what Jim and Harry would have taught us had they graced our lives in the last 30-40 years but it is time to say thanks guys - you were the ones who spoke to us and still do long after you left us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original albums, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
This is too good for words. My wife never likes any of my music, but she loves this. Jim Croce was taken too soon. I would have loved the opportunity to see him in concert had he been around today. Great albums! If you like good music I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one song, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks (Audio CD)
I bought this album for the song Time in a bottle, which I fell in love with many years ago, this guy knew how to write lyrics and his life was cut short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks
The Original Albums Plus Bonus Tracks by Jim Croce (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews