Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, accessible and thought-provoking
This book is written in a beautifully accessible and entertaining style; it is also moving, funny and tragic in equal measures.
Consisting mainly of short stories relating patient 'oddities' that the author has treated in his long career as a neurologist it manages to come across as anything but a list of dry case histories. The inclusion of the emotions of the...
Published on 1 Aug 2003 by samanthas-bookshelf

versus
45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic with some reservations...
I can understand some of the critical reviews about this book but there is no doubt that it justifiably remains a classic and well worth reading - it was the first book of its kind and is for anyone interested in strange neurological case histories. Maybe the language is a bit dated but it was written a good few years ago. A more recent book that I've just read in a...
Published on 11 April 2006 by John B


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, accessible and thought-provoking, 1 Aug 2003
This book is written in a beautifully accessible and entertaining style; it is also moving, funny and tragic in equal measures.
Consisting mainly of short stories relating patient 'oddities' that the author has treated in his long career as a neurologist it manages to come across as anything but a list of dry case histories. The inclusion of the emotions of the patient as they deal with their difficulties and the reactions of the author keep this book human rather than academic.
Although this is a recommended book for undergraduate students of various disciplines, it should not be discounted as a mere informative reader because of that. Anyone interested in stories of the human condition or those with a fascination/awe of the human brain will find this intriguing, engaging and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 3 Feb 2008
I first came across Oliver Sacks in a doctor's waiting room. There, lying on the table, was a copy of his first book, "Migraine". Since I suffer from bad headaches, I picked it up and started reading. Thoroughly intrigued by the elegantly written case studies it contained, I asked the doctor if I could borrow it, took it home, and finished it that evening. I then began to notice that Mr. Sacks periodically wrote articles for the New Yorker on strange neurological cases, and every time one came out I read it with delectation. So when I saw Mr. Sack's book "The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat" at my local bookstore I bought it immediately.

I was not let down. The book is a fascinating compendium of neurological case studies, classified into four parts: Losses, Excesses, Transports, The World of the Simple. Mr. Sacks takes us on a journey through a series of neurological disturbances with extreme effects. Initially, one reads them with appalled fascination, with a feeling of being at the Circus staring at the Bearded Lady or the Elephant Man; I was forcefully reminded of Sylvia Plath's lines in "Lady Lazarus":
The Peanut-crunching crowd
Shoves in to see

Them unwrap me hand in foot --
The big strip tease.

But Oliver Sacks writes soberly and with great compassion about his cases, and drags us away from mere peanut-crunching voyeurism to finally contemplate what the cases tell us about what it means to be us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shocking, surprising and mind-blowing, 2 Dec 2009
By 
It is guaranteed that the reader will be utterly blown away with this extraordinary collection of medical insights into the symptoms that can occur when there are brain malfunctions with their consequenct bizarre changes in mental perceptions.This essentially is a collection of case histories that are quite out of the scope of the average persons understanding. Oliver Sacks' accessible style of writing gives us glimpses into the 'unreal' lives of patients who have to negotiate their everyday lives lacking some essential and basic abilities to relate to the world in a 'normal' way either in the business of memory, sensory perception or mobility.Each case reads like a whacky novel and leaves the reader with a feeling of walking on thin ice because the very foundations upon which we as 'normal'human beings base our lives come into question too.Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wondrous look at some broken people, 24 Mar 2009
By 
Vexen Crabtree (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fascinating review of a few extreme cases of neurological dysfunction. These are people whose brains are dysfunctioning in a way that has profound effects on their conscious (and subconscious), making them see things (and do things) very differently to other people. The cases are described well and in an easy to read manner, and are explained equally well, introducing a gentle minimum of technical terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars short stories on mental anomalies, 17 April 2001
the man who mistook his wife for a hat is a collection of short stories, of patients of the physician Oliver Sachs. he tells many stories and the title is one. there are others such as the woman who kept falling asleep, the woman who had a coma and came out speaking perfect french. all very odd yet believable stories. and all true very good for the reader who needs to be able to put the book down occasionally. but likes to be challenged intellectually. there is enough medical detail there to keep the knowledgable interested, but not enough to make you fall asleep. and it won't give you nightmares....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic with some reservations..., 11 April 2006
By 
John B (Nuneaton, UK) - See all my reviews
I can understand some of the critical reviews about this book but there is no doubt that it justifiably remains a classic and well worth reading - it was the first book of its kind and is for anyone interested in strange neurological case histories. Maybe the language is a bit dated but it was written a good few years ago. A more recent book that I've just read in a similar genre is 'Classic case studies in psychology' by Dr. Geoff Rolls - it contains different chapters on some of the best known cases in psychology (Genie, Phineas Gage, HM, David Reimer, and so on). It's a very easy and enjoyable read and most of the cases are perhaps better known than the ones in 'The Man who mistook his wife...' I notice that Amazon have paired it with Sach's book as a perfect partner so they must agree that the two are complementary. Both are well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant introduction to the brain, 15 Sep 2005
By A Customer
I am an A level student who wants to study neuroscience at university. I read this book last year and found it to be an excellent introduction to the brain and what happens when it 'goes wrong'. Oliver Sacks has a way of making each case study a human story rather than an analysis of his patients. His science is accessible and I would recommend anyone to read this book whether studying the brain or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those who wish to understand about brain malfunction., 7 Feb 2001
Sacks delivers a powerful portrayal of what can happen in the case of brain malfunction. Where most books dealing with this subject area concentrate on the nuts and bolts of brain function Sack's text brings it to life by focusing on the real experiances of patients known to him. By doing this Sack's creates real understanding of how brain malfunction can impact on ordinary lives. The reading of the book itself is an experience. The cases themselves are both terrifying and intriguing and at the same time inspiring. This book is recommended to anyone as an experience alone and will be of particular use and importance to anyone interested in the fragility of the human mind/brain. Highly recommended to students of psychology and psychiatry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing..., 10 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. N. Ireson "neilireson" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well maybe not all that simple, but truly amazing. This is one of the first (and to my mind best) of the popular science books. The author, Sacks, uses terminology which cause the text to be somewhat hard-going at times. However, the glimpse into the lives of people whose brain misfunctioning causes them to live and see the world in extraordinary ways is stranger and more wonderful than any fiction.
The over-arching question Sachs poses to the reader is "What is it to be human", and the case histories of his patients cause us to reassess our thinking about the human-mind. These patient's possess minds just like our own but with either an excess or deficit of some function which leads to extremes which I did not imagine possible before reading the book.
Perhaps with the popularisation of some of the cases, in films like Rain-man and Memento, the book will have less of an impact on modern audiences. I would hope that it does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Great for the uninitiated neurologist, 20 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was everything I had hoped it would be. Interesting, entertaining, even funny in parts. It basically follows several case study's into unusual neurological disorders. Each chapter covers a different patient, and each one is as interesting as the last.
The book brought to light the amazing fact that we are controlled by a series of electrical impulses, in different locations of the brain, fired off by various external stimuli and at the same time effecting our every action and reaction to our environment, and that at any time that control system can go wrong causing incredible and sometimes amusing results.
To read this book is to be enlightened and introduced to the fringes of the amazing world of neurology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews