Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm 9 years old and think this game is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm not a fan of the Olympics but playing this is tons of fun. My fave things to play are swimming, fencing, and dream rafting. I can pick up and play without any help from my parents, everything is self explanatory, and it's simply great!
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by The Uptons

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch out left handers!!!!!
Brilliant as you would expect from Mario. However, daughter is getting very frustrated by how many of the games are designed for right-handed players only. She & I have tried playing these games left-handed but given up & resorted to holding the controller in our right hands. A great game absolutely ruined by a stupid oversight in my opinion! Watch out left-handers...
Published 21 months ago by pugs


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 29 Dec 2011
By 
The Uptons "jag" (london england) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
I'm 9 years old and think this game is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm not a fan of the Olympics but playing this is tons of fun. My fave things to play are swimming, fencing, and dream rafting. I can pick up and play without any help from my parents, everything is self explanatory, and it's simply great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love playing this, 16 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Not disappointed at all by this game, it is lots of fun. My favourite is the swimming because you can actually "swim" and you feel like you are getting a bit of exercise. Something for all the family with this, top marks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic fun, 19 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
I wanted to treat my children to a new game, my problem is that one is 8 years old and has high expectations, the other is 4 years old and has additional difficulties. I read lots of reviews and looked at lots of games. This one is perfect. There is no frustration caused by having to earn the games, it was all available straight away. A couple of the games are harder for my 4 year old but it won't take too long for the controls to be mastered. Generally if you aren't sure what to do just wave the controller about press a couple of random buttons and see what happens. Hours of fun on a rainy day :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Duper Fun, 29 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Got this game 1 day early and it was soo worth it!!!! Extreme fun in all original and new events! There are 31 events, 55 party missions and a unbeliveable 266 costumes!!!!! Much more of a challange than previous games in events and the London Party Mode is spectacular!!!!!!!!!! Favourite M&S game of all time!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Fun, 24 Nov 2011
By 
N. Furmston "Limafox" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
My kids love this game. And I must admit I love it too. It's these type of games that make me hang on to my Wii! Even my 2.5 year old plays it!! A great stocking filler for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same family fun with some new additions, 23 Nov 2011
By 
possessed.by.a.lemon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Bright blue skies are a staple of Sega games and now they can be seen above the sun-drenched city of London. At last! Yes, glorious weather, immaculate streets without a burning car, looted shop or persistent beggar in sight, venues packed with spectators delighted with the service on offer - this is probably a vision only Sega and Seb Coe could have of the London 2012 Olympic Games at the time of writing.

The first Mario & Sonic Olympics release had it easy, realising the once impossible dream of bringing together Nintendo and Sega's world-famous mascots and former arch rivals for the first time. It was always going to be a hit (even though it made sense to nobody that Sonic could be beaten by Mario in a sprint). Then the second game added snow, and, as everyone knows, adding snow to a videogame makes it approximately 461 times better. Along with a host of new winter events (curling was so awesome), it helped make Mario & Sonic at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games feel like an entirely new experience. The third title is a tougher sell and I'd wrongly assumed this review would write itself in one sentence: 'As good as ever, but don't bother if you have the original game.' That statement is half-true. The first half.

Right from the attract sequence that depicts the gang on a red bus passing famous London landmarks, you're in a happy place and this game is already on its way to earning a bonus star from most Brits. Then there's London Party Mode, which is where you and your family will be spending a lot of time. If you like Mario Party, you'll love this. Up to four participants run around the streets of a mini London in topdown mode, featuring the likes of the London Eye and Buckingham Palace. The first objective is Free Mode where you seek various Mario and Sonic characters who'll put everyone in an event to compete for stickers. There are exclusive bonus minigames here, including one called 'Go Away Boo!' which is basically a variant of Pac-man with Mario and Sonic characters being chased around London by Boos. And that, in a nutshell, is how you automatically earn five stars from me. Soon Big Ben will chime and it's time for a major event. The party goes on until someone has collected enough stickers to fill their book. Party games get plenty of flack, and I'm quite the gaming snob myself, but if you're looking for a game to get the family together around the Wii on Christmas Day and get everyone in a good mood, this is up there with the best recommendations.

Familiar disciplines have had an upgrade. Throwing events, for instance, are now more intuitive than before. On top of that there's a selection of newcomers. Football is the headliner. Whisper it, but in some ways it's more fun than recent FIFA and PES titles in a stripped down kind-of-way. Hold the remote horizontally (nunchuck control is optional) and you've got direction, tackle, pass and shoot buttons. No strategy menus to deal with, just five-a-side fun. It really does work well, not a million miles away from a cutdown version of Mario Strikers Charged. Something else that should please everyone is that all events are unlocked from the start.

Dream events are back. Among them is the Dream Long Jump, which has a backdrop straight out of Yoshi's Story and reminds me a little of multiplayer New Super Mario Bros Wii. Elsewhere there's a bit of Super Monkey Ball-esque racing. You won't be left wanting for fanservice or diversity. As with the regular events, when you're not trying to beat your family, you're co-operating, as in the Dream Rafting where you all have to keep balance of the raft together.

Perhaps noticing the popularity of Dream Events in previous games, power moves now play a big part in the regular disciplines. Olympic purists may disapprove, and with good reason because events such as table tennis and badminton are regularly settled by power shots. It's moments like this where you also regret that Sega hasn't moved on to Motionplus controls. These racquet sports in particular feel a bit 2006. As for fencing, well, I didn't even get what was going on, only that a lot of random waggling and button presses should see you through to victory as well as any tactic. With so much on offer, though, it's greedy to expect all of it to be perfect.

Three Games in and the dream team franchise is still going strong as a multiplayer get-together and a contemporary Track & Field revival with button bashing replaced by Remote swinging. And when it comes to other Olympics tie-ins and cash-ins released next year, expect Mario & Sonic to take the gold medal on gameplay alone. Best isn't always simple, but simple's always best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch out left handers!!!!!, 17 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Brilliant as you would expect from Mario. However, daughter is getting very frustrated by how many of the games are designed for right-handed players only. She & I have tried playing these games left-handed but given up & resorted to holding the controller in our right hands. A great game absolutely ruined by a stupid oversight in my opinion! Watch out left-handers out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for a while but my son loves it!!, 15 Nov 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
Its fun for a while but loses interest in a few days. But my son loved de gift. It has a good multi player potential tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hours of family fun, 3 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
My 8 year old daughter bought this with her own money (which made the purchase even more delightful);). She has a lot of fun playing but also the whole family including her 3 year old brother.
Delivery was very quick think we ordered Tues/Wed. and it arrived Saturday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas present for our teenage daughters, 16 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games (Nintendo Wii) (Video Game)
I ordered this game as our daughters kept seeing it advertised and I thought it would make a good joint Christmas present for them all, as it is something they can play together or with friends. It was one of the best things they got for Christmas and kept them occupied on Boxing day afternoon when they played it with friends. I have not been on it myself, but they seem to enjoy a large range of games on it and it looks like good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb62103f0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews