Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solder
I used this solder on my guitar modifications and it worked very well,quality stuff and better than the old brand I was using
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by Ape09090

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!!
Can't fault the delevery. Very prompt.

I purchased this solder assuming it to 60:40 tin/lead cored solder. When I started using it I found it to behave more like a lead free solder. It didn't seem to wet as a 60:40 solder should and the flux action seemed to be rather in-active compared to other solders I have used. It did make acceptable joints but at a...
Published 21 months ago by half the man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!!, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
Can't fault the delevery. Very prompt.

I purchased this solder assuming it to 60:40 tin/lead cored solder. When I started using it I found it to behave more like a lead free solder. It didn't seem to wet as a 60:40 solder should and the flux action seemed to be rather in-active compared to other solders I have used. It did make acceptable joints but at a higher temperature than I would have liked and the joint did look somewhat grainy. Its OK but not the best solder I have used and I have been actively involved in electronics for over 30 years hence 3 stars. Disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as specified, 29 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
This is not tin/lead solder, as its melting point is much higher, and it produces a dull joint, both just like lead-free solder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Muck!!!, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
I've been using 60/40 solder for many, many years... this IS NOT 60/40 solder! It acts like lead-free solder and is of absolutely no use to me.

It's most likely made in China from recycled fake iPhones... but it most certainly IS NOT 60/40 solder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the worst solder ever., 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
The flux core is almost none existant & the quality of what is there is so poor as to be a waist of time. Even using a separate flux the solder does not flow & looks like it has formed a dry joint every time with out fail. Do not use this you will only end up disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
Not great just smokes a lot doesn't melt correctly and awkward to work with. Bought and used once then had to buy some better stuff from RS components :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish don't buy it, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
I wouldn't have given this one star but it's minimum
The solder wasn't resin cored didn't flow not fit for purpose read all the revies
I returned it and bought from RS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 21 Dec 2013
By 
D. Clifton "- Hydra" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
This solder is the worst solder i have ever tried to use. Not as described by the seller. Melting point is very high and produces a dull joint.

Doesn't compare to the Silverline solder I had before which was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solder, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
I used this solder on my guitar modifications and it worked very well,quality stuff and better than the old brand I was using
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solder wire, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
i was very pleased with the item would recomend to my freinds johnboy drayton i will watch your site with interest in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class product, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 0.8mm Diameter Tin Lead Rosin Cored Solder Wire Spool (Misc.)
I needed this fine 0.8mm solder for some circuit board work, works very well, no problems at all, delivered quickly, packaged well and performs as it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews