Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad and the...
From the great, through the indifferent, to the downright awful. That sums up The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar.

The technical quality of this set of CDs is very good and, being original recordings, it's much what I expected. Every era has it's own music, and the late fifties/early sixties was an time of perhaps the greatest changes in popular music. First...
Published 16 months ago by Geoffrey Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
my wife liked it better than me.
Published 4 months ago by norman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The good, the bad and the..., 1 Aug 2013
By 
Geoffrey Roberts "Eclectic sponge" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
From the great, through the indifferent, to the downright awful. That sums up The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar.

The technical quality of this set of CDs is very good and, being original recordings, it's much what I expected. Every era has it's own music, and the late fifties/early sixties was an time of perhaps the greatest changes in popular music. First came rock'n'roll which changed everything then, much later, the Beatles et al re-wrote the history of popular music again. This album covers the whole period; pre rock'n'roll to post Beatles. Just.

As with all things, in every music genre there's good and bad. In any compilation one will not like every single song, and this one is no exception. There are some gems, for example Shane Fenton (later reincarnated as Alvin Stardust) and the Fentones, Five Foot Two being the “B” side of I'm A Moody Guy (I have it in my collection). There are some great cover versions of original songs rarely heard these days, and some really terrible ones as well. One particularly atrocious one is Larry Page's “That'll Be The Day”, sung without any feeling for the Crickets' song at all. Truly awful.

For those who weren't around at the time, almost everyone covered everyone else's songs, and there are so many versions of certain songs of the time it's almost mind blowing. This is even more true when you include UK versions of US songs. At the time single records were priced differently, there being extra tax on imported records. That gave many UK acts a head start over the American originals. In fact, almost every song The Drifters released was covered by at least one British act, to the point that their singles, while being very popular, rarely featured high in the top ten chart, being outsold by UK versions. That's why here, cheek by jowl, there are originals and covers; some good, some bad, some...

As I said, in any compilation one has to take the good with the bad, and one song I have loathed since it was first released (yes, I'm old enough to remember them all) is the sick “Tell Laura I Love Her”. However, the few real awful songs (or versions) are in the minority and the compilation is very good and snap shot of the time. If anyone who wasn't around at that time wants somewhere to start learning about the music of this period, then this is a good place. Classic artists like Eddie Cochran, Jerry Lee Lewis, The Everlys, Chuck Berry and so on, have to be the best introduction to the genre and a yardstick by which one can measure others.

All in all an excellent compilation, well produced and packaged. Nostalgia, as it was, warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great music that I love, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
This CD brought me right back to when I was a teenager and all those feelings I had listening to this great music was just mind blowing. It is a super CD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best music, 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. Fred Higgs (Reading in Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
Its not that these are new tracks but just that its a new collection on three discs...great for an evenings scrabble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars olden days here i come, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
excellent cd from start to finish, would highly recommend to any one.
song great for sing- along trips to stop boredom and feel great 5 star clastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trust Me............, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
All 78 songs on this triple CD are One million percent better than EVERYTHING that has been in the hit parade for the past ten years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
A1 service some quality issue but for the money still worth while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CD, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
IF YOU LIKE THE OLDIES THIS CD IS A MUST HAVE GREAT SONGS FROM THE GOLDEN ERA WITH PLENTY OF MUSIC TO SING ALONG WITH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lipstick on your collar, 18 April 2012
By 
D. Weaver (Wales. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
quick deliverly, great CD, of all Rock'N'Roll, artist's, from 1950's to 1960's, like cliff richard, helen shaprio,the chiffons,chris montez, jerry lee lewis,the shadows,the list is endless, great music from a great era. Would recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really nice listen, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
as a fan of this era music, a nice selection of songs. some real toe tappers. some classics and some songs new to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar (Audio CD)
Some repeats if you have others in series but cracking collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar
The Best Of Lipstick On Your Collar by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews